Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear the original mix
I um'd and ah'd as to which Beatles box set to purchase when they were released a couple of years ago and finally went for the stereo version thinking that the mono versions would be released individually one day. My hunch was right to a degree with these US editions and now I can finally hear the mix that the Beatles signed off prior to the original release...
Published 12 months ago by Nick

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rubbery soul
Although it was great to have this album on CD, The actual reproduction was far too bright, and it seemed fast as well. I'll have to do a comparative between the original vinyl and the CD. Otherwise, Its Rubber Soul, early middle Beatles. A transition from rock and love songs to drug tinged melodies.
Published 10 months ago by Moose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear the original mix, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
I um'd and ah'd as to which Beatles box set to purchase when they were released a couple of years ago and finally went for the stereo version thinking that the mono versions would be released individually one day. My hunch was right to a degree with these US editions and now I can finally hear the mix that the Beatles signed off prior to the original release.

The mono version is fascinating to hear for the first time. Each song sounds punchier than the stereo mixes and brings to mind the sound of the classic Motown tunes from the same era. You can imagine hearing them blasting out of an AM radio or a jukebox in some 60's diner or cafe.

I have to say that I find it rather baffling that the A&R men at Capitol decided to put 'I've just seen a face' as the opening track of the US version of the album back in 1965. It's not a terrible song but it sounds a bit out of place as it was recorded quite a few months earlier than the rest of the album and the Beatles' musical progression at this point was so rapid that every month was like a year in today's terms. 'It's only love' also features, both tracks appear on the UK version of 'Help'.

Rubber Soul has always been one of my favourite albums and I am really happy to finally have the original mix. If you are a casual Beatles fan and already have the stereo version, I wouldn't really recommend shelling out again and buying this version but if like me you're a bit of a Beatles anorak,go for it!

PS can someone at Apple or wherever please release all the Beatles albums on mono individually so we can pick and choose the ones that we want rather than pay out for the whole mono box set?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles at their unique best., 25 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Pure nostalgia. The Beatles at their unique best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Very special album from the Beatles. Sure everyone would enjoy this as much as I do!! Sing along with The Fab Four! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rubber Soul, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
Anthony G. Brannan (Dartford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Still fresh, still brilliant after 50 years. As a life long Beatles fan it was good to meet up again with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to say !!!, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
Enrique Prosen "Quique" (Capital Federal, Buenos Aires Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
What can I say about Beatles that wasn't said ? Just you must have them all , they are "THE BEATLES" !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rubbery soul, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Although it was great to have this album on CD, The actual reproduction was far too bright, and it seemed fast as well. I'll have to do a comparative between the original vinyl and the CD. Otherwise, Its Rubber Soul, early middle Beatles. A transition from rock and love songs to drug tinged melodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Really really good,++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate these thin paper packing CD's and return them all ..., 10 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Beware, this turns up in packaging similar to these pirate cd's you can buy.. and not in the normal plastic cd case.. In addition, the track listing is different that that advertised.. It's going back.. I hate these thin paper packing CD's and return them all the time.. shame they don't indicate it when advertising..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Just what I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rubber Soul
Rubber Soul by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews