Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Beatle collectors!
****Please note that this review refers to the 32 track, 45th anniversary Japanese import edition CD from 2011****

This is an essential collection for Beatle fans to own because (as far as I know) it's the only CD that contains the unique U.S. mono mixes of 'I'm Only Sleeping', 'Doctor Robert' and 'And Your Bird Can Sing'.

Stereo versions of these...
Published on 16 Nov 2012 by tony1001

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars BEATLES AMERICAN ALBUMS now on available as single copies
This USA version of Revolver is very different from the UK and continental version. Well worth getting, by no means inferior to the European release just another experience. I would highly recommend any Beatles fan to get this and the other US albums. Because the Beatles public career started lasted only about 10 years, there is a limited amount of what is out there. If...
Published 6 months ago by REDSHIRT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Beatle collectors!, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
****Please note that this review refers to the 32 track, 45th anniversary Japanese import edition CD from 2011****

This is an essential collection for Beatle fans to own because (as far as I know) it's the only CD that contains the unique U.S. mono mixes of 'I'm Only Sleeping', 'Doctor Robert' and 'And Your Bird Can Sing'.

Stereo versions of these three tracks are also presented here but in fake stereo form, as they originally appeared on the stereo vinyl (later vinyl pressings contained true U.S. stereo mixes). If you want the true U.S. stereo mixes of these three songs on the CD format, I'm pretty sure that they're only available on 'unofficial' releases.

The U.S. stereo mix of 'We Can Work it Out' included here is also slightly different to the standard U.K. stereo CD mix.

In addition to the whole of the original album in both mono and stereo, this set also includes a few bonus tracks (some of which are taken from the 'Anthology' series) and a very informative booklet, containing numerous pics of the 'butcher cover' photo session plus some interesting facts.

The sound quality is excellent and, in my opinion, a more detailed and natural listen than the 2009 remasters.

It's nice to have, even if you own the original vinyl versions!

_____________________

****January 20th 2014 update****

Today marks the release of 'The US Albums' box set.

The edition of 'Yesterday and Today' included in this new set contains all the correct mono and stereo US versions that were featured in the original later vinyl releases with the exception of 'I'm Only Sleeping' in stereo.

Unfortunately the UK stereo mix has been incorrectly used. As far as I know, the US stereo mix is only available on the unofficial 'Alternate Revolver' CD and later vinyl editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great package for mono, 23 Jan 2014
By 
C. Rigby (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
For most of us imagining there would be a day when an album we bought in youth, airbrushed from the catalogue in 1987, would emerge new is a dream come true, especially when packaged in replica mini lp style with printed inner and colourband Capitol disc label.
Unfortunately due to Apples policy of using the controversial 1986 digital remixes by Sir George Martin for the stereo version of everything excluding Taxman, Dr.Robert, And Your Bird Can Sing, Day Tripper and We Can Work It Out (the latter are US mixes), the authenticity of the stereo portion of this disc is compromised.
However the mono is a treat having the US mono mixes of Dr Robert, Taxman and Dr. Robert which is the first time these have been made available so while I'd dock one star for the issues with the stereo, I feel it is a worthwhile release as is for Beatles collectors, especially those of us who had the Capitol lps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice trawl trough the unreleased tracks from the various messed ..., 6 Aug 2014
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
Last of the necessary USA albums ( if any of those are necessary). If you have the first 2 box set USA albums, then this completes the set. A nice trawl trough the unreleased tracks from the various messed around USA Beatles albums. Contains great tracks in good sound and some interesting " Americanisations" of the overall feel. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars BEATLES AMERICAN ALBUMS now on available as single copies, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
This USA version of Revolver is very different from the UK and continental version. Well worth getting, by no means inferior to the European release just another experience. I would highly recommend any Beatles fan to get this and the other US albums. Because the Beatles public career started lasted only about 10 years, there is a limited amount of what is out there. If you have the (old) two capitol box sets that end with Rubber Soul. Then you just need 'Revolver', 'Yesterday and Today' and 'Hey Jude' to complete your American collection. You can now get a complete box set of all the albums (but that is expensive). If you only like one Beatles Album get the American version as well. The US version of Revolver is the last one with different tracks. Sgt. Pepper was the same both sides of the Atlantic. Really recommend this album. Even though you have all the tracks if you have all the Beatles UK albums, it is still worth the experience of listening to how the Americans were introduced to the Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U.S. album, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
This 45th anniversary edition contains both all the mono as well as the stereo versions. Combined with some alternake takes that's over 30 tracks. The album is also very nicely packaged, with a picture of the the replacement (trunk) cover and a great booklet (with rare pictures) about why and how the butchercover came to be. Great value for money, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE SLEEVE AS ADVERTISED, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
Songs great but arrived in a different sleeve than 'The Butcher Sleeve ' as shown on the website as a big Beatles fan very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beatling About, 27 Nov 2014
By 
Mrs. L. M. Hobbs (Birmingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
This is a great disc and takes you back in time to when the Beatles injected new blood into world of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The British Edition of the Beatles rules, but this one deserves a "buy", 10 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
As a fan of the Beatles since I was 10 years, this record has a pleasant memory: it was one of the old vinyls I found at home and had belonged to my elder cousin. In Latin America the US edition of the Beatles' albums were the one who reached us. It should be said these editions are somekind of unproper and greedy marketing, because they just copied and pasted tracks of other albums and singles. This one is not an exception: it contains the John Lennon numbers from Revolver (with the exception of "Tomorrow Never Knows", a corner stone of Revolver), numbers from Rubber Soul (Drive my Car, If I needed someone), Help (Yesterday. It must be highlighted the Help edition in America only included the soundtrack numbers by the Beatles and left out the additional numbers they recorded, such as the essential Yesterday). In addition to that, the UK single "Day Tripper/ We can work it out" is added. So, it is bizarre and a disrespect to the original concept of The Beatles for their albums and fortunately when they renewed their contract with EMI they set these practices to and end, which saved the concept unity of "Sgt. Pepper" for better. So, the question is Why to buy this album? The first thing is that the Mono versions of the numbers are included. During Beatles early records and until 1967, Stereo was not the most common sound in music equipments and the remasters for Stereo were done in a fast way. The right thing would have been to reissue the British albums with their Mono counterparts in 2009, when the catalogue of the Beatles was relaunched. But EMI did not do it and decided to sell the Mono albums in an expensive box set. This is a shame, given most British and American bands have reissued their albums including Stereo and Mono mixes in just one CD / album download. I must admit the diferences of sound are not so evident to many, though they exist. It is said it is more acute in the case of Sgt. Pepper, for example in the vocals of "She is leaving home" (Lennon said Pepper has to be listened to in Mono). Appart from this detail of Stereo/Mono mixes, the reasons to buy the album may be the "butcher sleeve", a curious photo of the Beatles disguised as butchers which was the original sleeve and was replaced by the one portraited in Amazon (By the way, Paul inside this vault in the photo gave evidence to the theory of his death in 1966 and replacement by another person. It was said this photo gave clues he was inside a coffin. Again, marketing tricks). The butcher sleeve is included in the album art. The edition has a terrific and nice outlay, which recalls the album original work in vinyl and the style applied by labels like "Records Collector" to reissue other gems from the sixties. So, artwork may be an additional reason, especially for hard fans like me. In addition to this, nostalgia takes its place. I was trying to buy this album as a bootleg in 2008 in Spain and it was sold at around 30 EUR, which is considerably above the price of this album. It is funny how these US Edition reissued in 2014 try to resemble the esthetics of the Japanese albums and bootlegs, which is clearly superior to many editions and issues in Europe and the US. Therefore, considering all these elements I give 4 stars. Definitely the best thing to do is to go after the Mono Box Set issued in Britain and not taking much care about the US Edition, though I confess I bought this one, moved by lacking the Mono Box Set and nice memories of my earlier days. Not much more to say. It must be said that Capitol in US did some remastering of the Beatles albums and they may sound louder (for example the "Meet the Beatles" album) and may have advantages that experts in sound shall reveal us ( I do not catch all the subtle details of sound differences, even between Mono and Stereo mixes. Need to read the reviews by Mojo, Uncut or Classic Rock Magazine to form my opinion). Nevertheless, I guess the British Edition is the one the Beatles and George Martin conceived and shall be the reference. I just hope Capitol issue their American Pepper, to get the mono version I've long to hear for years and that only the expensive Mono Box set offers. And, last but not least, these US albums were previously released in two boxes around ten years ago and they shall be less expensive as used albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yesterday and today, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
Needed this one for my American collection and was really pleased when i got this cd with the butchers cover. Carn't get the real lp so to get on cd was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday And Today (Audio CD)
Good transaction. No problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yesterday And Today
Yesterday And Today by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews