Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice on 70s southern and Philly soul songs, 4 Feb 2014
By 
M. A. Coyle "Mark Coyle" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (Audio CD)
Bettye Swann has a wonderful as heard first on her Money recordings (get the Kent CD of her recordings). This CD covers her less known 1970s releases at Atlantic, starting first with a gentle, lush southern soul sound and then proceeding to Philadelphia International style uptempo pre-disco soul. A few choice selections had made Modern Soul Philly Soul CDs in recent years and here at last is her entire output from that time. Everything here will be appreciated by soul fans, the sound is great, the songs sublime and the performances outstanding. I sound overly effusive but this is genuinely an album to treasure and return to. Life enhancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Listening Experience, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (Audio CD)
There have been so many positive, well written reviews that i doubt if I have anything useful to add other than to give my complete support to the project. I can' think of another woman singer of soul's golden age that moves me so much. Maybe Cissy Houston of Kim Tolliver would edge her for me. The unissued material is actually really good with her interpretation of the Isley's 'This Old Heart Of Mine' standing out. As for 'Either You Love Me Or You Leave Me' I keep hitting the playback button on the Ipod.You can't go wrong buying this release. It is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Magic, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (Audio CD)
Oooh that voice...........tender, touching, heartfelt, achingly soulful and absolutely timeless.

One of the great injustices, among dozens in the world of Soul music, was that Bettye never achieved the kind of acclaim and commercial success that she was due. The music could hardly have been bettered but inexplicably she never made the kind of breakthrough her unique talent deserved.

This superb compilation rounds off her recording career by pulling together music from her spell at Atlantic.

Needless to say it is quite wonderful. Waste no time in adding this to your collection. It's music of such depth, character and quality that anyone with even a passing interest in Soul music should own a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About time, 11 Jun 2014
By 
P. Budworth "mrptb1" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (Audio CD)
At long last the cd I've been hoping for. It's incredible that some of these wonderful recordings have never been released before. Maybe the Sam Dees duets were a slight disappointment but overall a stunning compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 30 May 2014
By 
Mr. Hf Earnshaw "soul up north" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (Audio CD)
Great compilation of songs from Bettye's post "Money" recording days..
Of course it includes the fabulous northern soul floor filler 'Kiss Your Love Goodbye' along with many other wonderful soul sides.
6 STARS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality soul must, 29 Aug 2014
By 
B. Anderson (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (Audio CD)
how this lady wasn't a household name is beyond me. so underrated and one of the most smoothest of voices in soul music. you don't hear a voice as good as this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (Audio CD)
Great singer, great album,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY SPECIAL LADY, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atlantic Recordings (Audio CD)
BETTYE HAS ALWAYS BEEN A FAVOURITE OF MINE AND TO HAVE HER COMPLETE ATLANTIC TRACKS AND UNRELEASED ITEMS IS VERY SPECIAL INDEED .I SUGGEST U BUY THIS CD B4 THEY SELL OUT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Atlantic Recordings
The Complete Atlantic Recordings by Bettye Swann (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews