Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More is more in this case!
I loved the original version of this book and recommended it to lots of people, this is the "ten years after" developed version. Equally good, with a giggle and a squirm of recognition on every page; Ms Fox artfully teases out the underlying essential truths of being English and lays them before us with wit and a devastating candour.
Published 8 months ago by BrianC

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Verbose and repeditive
Published 3 months ago by brodrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More is more in this case!, 18 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the original version of this book and recommended it to lots of people, this is the "ten years after" developed version. Equally good, with a giggle and a squirm of recognition on every page; Ms Fox artfully teases out the underlying essential truths of being English and lays them before us with wit and a devastating candour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph, 1 July 2014
By 
Careless Heart (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The quibbles first.
The book, at over 500 pages, is too long and runs out of steam in the final chapters.
The style, while engaging and accessible, can sometimes become indulgent and over folksy. Sentences like "it's my book, so I can write what I want" grate.
Her minute dissection of the intricacies of the English class system are extremely funny, precisely observed but become exhausting after a while.
However, as a voyage through the essentials of Englishness, this is a tour de force which I would challenge any English person to read without experiencing many moments of disarming self-awareness. Kate Fox does not sugar the pill in her presentation of the repressed and emotionally constipated race that we have become. Some of her set pieces (how we say goodbye at the end of dinner parties, pub etiquette, our obsession with gardens, etc) are wonderful and illuminating. How the book reads to foreigners would be difficult to judge - I imagine those closely familiar with England would find it chimes loudly, while those who are not would probably not believe how strange we are. To an English person, however, this is as close to a definitive guide to the emotional make-up of the English mentality in the 21st century as you are likely to find and, as such, despite a few reservations, a triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book which makes a great gift to any American ..., 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the English: The International Bestseller Revised and Updated (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful book which makes a great gift to any American friends you might have . Superbly researched and spot on observations of our middle class eccentricities . I have loaned this out to numerous friends who all loved it . A great read if you want to absolutely get under the skin of us Brits ! Arrived on time well packaged .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the English (Paperback)
An excellent read. Witty and intelligent. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the English: The International Bestseller Revised and Updated (Kindle Edition)
Entertaining and insightful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... someone - they took it on a cruise and loved it!, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the English (Paperback)
A present for someone - they took it on a cruise and loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, interesting and informative, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the English (Paperback)
Brilliant book, loved determining what class people fall into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching The English - Updated Edition on Kindle, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the English: The International Bestseller Revised and Updated (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating and entertaining book updated to take in to account England today.
If you are English then you and your lifestyle are in this book!
Highly recommended, especially for those with a few 'English' years behind them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the English (Paperback)
Brilliant and funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought the book as a gift for a friend ..., 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the English (Paperback)
I bought the book as a gift for a friend. I read a few pages and immediately I bought the kindle edition for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews