Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wacky and Entertaining, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Eye of Zoltar: Last Dragonslayer Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Jasper Fforde, I know, his series with Thursday, I am familiar. I did however, come into this third book, cold. Have not read the first two books of this series, so it took me awhile to figure the who's who of the business.

It seems, Jennifer Strange, the protagonist is wanted by many. At this time she is in charge of Kazam, a Mystical Arts Management company. The Mighty Shandar, not really a friend, tells Jennifer that if she finds a jewel named The Eye of Zoltar, he will not kill the rest of her dragons. At the same time, the Royal King and Queen of Snodd have a problem child. Princess Shazzine has had everything her little heart desired, and, she has become the pest and pestilence if their empire. They have heard Jennifer might be able to tame her.

Jennifer reluctantly agrees with Perkins and the princess, and off they go on their course to find the treasure. Many continents away, and with several dark deeds when hilarity ensues, they may or may not find their treasure.

This was not my favorite Jason Fforde books, but I did find it wacky and entertaining. I think the younger crowd will latch onto this series with a great deal of gratitude.

Recommended. prisrob 09-18-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I think you’ve still got some puffins inside your jacket, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ah, Jasper Fforde. When he isn't churning out tales of parallel worlds where you can literally fall into a book, he produces some somewhat more standard urban fantasy.

And in the third of his Last Dragonslayer books, "The Eye of Zoltar," Fforde provides yet another tale of a plucky nonmagical girl who is neck-deep in magical goings-on. Enjoying this book pretty much depends on whether you enjoyed the last two, because Fforde produces more of the same -- eccentric sorcerers, angel traps, weird wildlife and the occasional rubber dragon. Yes, you read that right.

In the course of twenty-four hours, Jennifer Strange has to deal with a lot of craziness:
1. She has to deal with a runaway Tralfamosaur with a licorice launcher.
2. She has to babysit a spoiled, bratty Princess who has been body-swapped with a lowly servant girl, since the Queen wants her taught some humility and compassion.
3. The Mighty Shazam blackmails her into finding a sorcerous ruby called the Eye of Zoltar, and threatens to kill the young dragons if she doesn't find it for him.

Her best bet for finding the Eye is the possibly-mythical Sky Pirate Wolff in the also-possibly-mythical Leviathan's Graveyard, which is in Cambria (imagine Wales crossbred with the whole Middle-East). Of course, things go horribly wrong in several different ways -- lifesuckers, a Australopithecine, flesh-eating snails, Perkins losing several decades -- before they encounter the sky pirates, and find a very strange tourism-based conspiracy.

The Last Dragonslayer books are fairly amusing fantasy fluff, relying on Fforde's somewhat warped imagination -- he comes up with some fairly majestic ideas (the Leviathans, aka sky whales) and some silly ones (rubber dragon bouncing for hours across Cambria). "The Eye of Zoltar" is not quite as clever as his Thursday Next books, but it is a pretty decent little fantasy story.

Fforde sprinkles the story with clever dialogue ("You must be mistaking me for someone who is shallow and indifferent") and humorous situations (thwarting barbarians with financial expertise), as well as some rather mundane magic (consider the clairvoyant who doesn't give the usual happy-future drivel).

But he keeps it from being too fluffy by inserting some more bittersweet moments, such as when Perkins reveals his true nature to Jennifer. It's very poignant to see a first love end up this way. And the story takes a very dark turn in the final chapters, leading in to the eventual fourth volume of the series -- without revealing too much, things are very nasty now in the kingdom of Snodd, and promise to get worse.

What's the problem? Well, the whole mentoring-the-Princess thing is a bit sitcomlike, especially since we know the Princess will see the error of her ways and become nicer blah de blah de blah.

As usual, Jennifer is the solidly sensible one of the group, which includes a clueless Princess in a royal dog-poop-cleaner's body, a savage guide, a scheming businessman, an Australopithecine, and the aforementioned Perkins. Most of the magical gang -- plus Tiger Prawns -- is mostly absent from this story, but it becomes increasingly clear that Shandar is targeting them for something shady.

"The Eye of Zoltar" is a solid fluff fantasy that transforms into something else about five-sixths of the way through -- and Jasper Fforde shows his talent for both humor and drama there. Hang on for the next story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need More!, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye of Zoltar: Last Dragonslayer Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Way too short. I read it in an evening. However it is a good book and is preparing for interesting times ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Strange the last dragon slayer is written with teens I feel but to be honest it is too good and too dark for them, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye of Zoltar: Last Dragonslayer Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
I am a big fan of Jasper Fforde. His writing is engaging and witty, even if it is a little bit of a rip off for the Discworld in some cases. Jennifer Strange the last dragon slayer is written with teens I feel but to be honest it is too good and too dark for them. Having saved dragons and saved magic now she has to save a Princess. Not from danger but from herself, A road book with dragons, giants, angels self discovery. Written in the first person always takes away a little of the tension, you are unlikely to read, I died, but this is not cuddly book. People do die, in strange and funny ways. I'm not going to say what the plot is, the book synopsis will do that for you, what I say however, is that if you like wit, danger, magic and fantasy, this is for you. Better than is better known Thursday Next series, not as good as his Nursery Crimes series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FForde Strike Again, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Robert T Booth (WEST WARWICK, RI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suffice it to say that I am enough of a Fforde fan to order from UK prior to release here in USA.

The Eye of Zoltar again brings us all the characters of Kazam in the long awaited third installment of his Last Dragon Slayer series. Previously titled (working title) The Return of Shander, one would expect a happy conclusion to the saga with The Mighty Shander restoring the under pinning of magic to its former glory. Not so!

No, once more Fforde leads us down the winding pathways of his mind to places dark and light we little expected to find. There is no disappointment here; The Eye of Zoltar is a romp through battle, fire, Hollow men, and modern economics which leads to a hanging cliff of anticipation.

Once more Ffrode has struck moola.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I think Jasper Fforde is a brilliant author and await the release of the latest in ..., 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye of Zoltar: Last Dragonslayer Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
I think Jasper Fforde is a brilliant author and await the release of the latest in any of his series of books with anticipation. Really enjoyed this one - up to the usual standard. If you like Fforde, your like this. If you have not read any of his before, start with the first in a series - while the stories can be read as self contained, they do build one upon another and i think ones pleasure at reading them grows as the series develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FForde perfect, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The latest volume of the DragonSlayer series continues the fun, mixing rubber dragons, adventures in the empty quarter of Wales, railway wars and wizardry in the usual excellent Fforde style.

Recommended for both teens and adults.

I can't wait to introduce my Grand Daughters to the series when they are old enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have been a fan of Jasper Fforde for a while now and he continues to produce some of the best ironic/surrealist stories out th, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye of Zoltar: Last Dragonslayer Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable piece of fantasy/adventure literature. I have been a fan of Jasper Fforde for a while now and he continues to produce some of the best ironic/surrealist stories out there. I tore through this book and I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Fforde, Robert Rankin, Tom Holt and their ilk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like to read inventive fantasy Mr. FForde is the man.
His books are unique. Full of funny side stories, unexpected twists and a lot to laugh about.
It reminds my a lot of the way Mr. Pratchett used to write his books. Full of wit and black humor.
Try shade of grey. Fantastic read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never fails to deliver!!, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye of Zoltar: Last Dragonslayer Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, smart,funny and all his books should be made into movies. This is story telling at its best. I know these books are for young adults and I was one of them over 30 years ago, but Jasper Fforde doesn't preach or patronize or treat teens like hormonal freaks, he just tells a really good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews