Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 February 2014
Pleased to see another volume in this series.

However I note that the writers of the accompanying notes regard some of these as less successful; hardly surprising given that previous volumes of BTF material have probably already given us the best out of their total output of 700 plus. I have to agree that some of the material is less interesting and I do suspect that we are beginning to have had the very best already. But as social commentary it is good and for that reason I recommend it. Also the reproduction of a Cuneo painting on the box lid is a nice extra.

I found the selection fascinating: only one from the 1950s, seven from the 1960s, two 1970s and three 1980s. Thus it covers a period I remember well and plenty of shots reflecting the values of those days – some one lighting a cigarette at work using the heat of red hot metal; Joe Brown wearing a tie under a crew neck jumper – reflecting the values of those days.

While BR were pushing their modernity, the shots of the buses showed plenty of rear entry open platform double deckers and Austin 1100s and similar. It seems that at seat meals served by attentive and smartly presented waiters were plentiful on train services, a sharp contrast to today.

One thing I had forgotten was how grim the colour known as Rail Blue on local rolling stock looked when it was not relieved with light grey.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I enjoyed these films very much but the technical quality was much poorer than any of the others in the series. Inter City 1250 had the sound lagging a long way behind the picture, The Future Works has a long blank bit at the end, The Driving Force has thin vertical lines down it all the way through plus the sound quality is quite poor (I have an old VHS copy of the film with much better sound), and several films are out of focus.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This series goes from strength to strength. These old films are always fascinating, they show a railway long gone and provide an insight into the operation of the railway and to times past. Wonderful stuff. My only complaint is why is this second series not using the same packaging as the first set of DVDs, it looks odd on the bookcase now as a result. These films are best enjoyed with a couple of other enthusiasts sat around over tea and cake enjoying classic railway footage. Even non railway people will enjoy these films, my ex-wife used to even sit and watch them with me and she found them fascinating to watch. There's something for everyone in these great films.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I have all the other eleven titles in the series so No 12 was a must.I also thought they may be running short of interesting" shorts" but no still they come.Trying to lay a bridge in London over a weekend and seeing the progress was one of the interesting ones.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Unlike others in the series, this one, although watch-able, does have some gremlins.
On the "Driving Force" film, the picture has a sort of faint mosaic effect to it, that give the impression of lines all the way down it.
The sound quality on this one is quite poor with a flat sound with the high end missing.
Others have some sound issues too.
It is still worth the price, but a professional DVD maker should do better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Another brilliant set of railway dvds brought together by BFI.
Anyone interested in railways, this is a set you must own, well worth the wait, as each volume comes out about every 12 months. All the films were filmed when the railways of Great Britain were still mainly governed by steam. You also see the transition to when Diesels, and Electric traction started to come in on the railways too.
I found the series so far very enjoyable.Most of the films are actually filmed by the various railway companies, and also by British Railways own film unit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
A top job if you are interested in British railways films, cover form the 1960 -1980 approx. I found it quite inserting.
Please note If you live or Buying form outside the United Kingdom (Britain ) you mind DVD player problems.
If you this one to fancy Buy the Rest of British Transport Film Vol 1 to 9 are in Box Set but Vol 10,11 and 12 are not
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I only bought this to complete my collection of these BTF films. However, the films in this volume show how British Railways dealt with publicising the modernisation of a transport system. Though it does not comment on what later became known as expensive mistakes, it does show some of the thinking behind the decisions made at the time.
Davie Easton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
I have all the other in the series which are good, but this one was actually quite boring. The Driving Force film is the best and is a well known documentary. The Intercity 1250 film had the sound about 3 seconds behind the video which was very poor. Not sure if they are all like that or a badly pressed DVD? Never come across it before.

Shame.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
If you're interested in railway operation and the history behind how it used to be done, this is the DVD for you. You do not have to be a railway enthusiast to appreciate this. It's a glimpse at life in general, hairstyles, fashion, industrial practice and a nation that had a fast changinmg railway. A well worth investment to any DVD reference library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse