Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fascinating social and transport history
Pleased to see another volume in this series.

However I note that the writers of the accompanying notes regard some of these as less successful; hardly surprising given that previous volumes of BTF material have probably already given us the best out of their total output of 700 plus. I have to agree that some of the material is less interesting and I do...
Published 9 months ago by R T

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good films spoiled by poor technical quality.
I enjoyed these films very much but the technical quality was much poorer than any of the others in the series. Inter City 1250 had the sound lagging a long way behind the picture, The Future Works has a long blank bit at the end, The Driving Force has thin vertical lines down it all the way through plus the sound quality is quite poor (I have an old VHS copy of the film...
Published 7 months ago by Michael Bennett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fascinating social and transport history, 27 Feb 2014
By 
R T "RT of Keighley" (Keighley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
Pleased to see another volume in this series.

However I note that the writers of the accompanying notes regard some of these as less successful; hardly surprising given that previous volumes of BTF material have probably already given us the best out of their total output of 700 plus. I have to agree that some of the material is less interesting and I do suspect that we are beginning to have had the very best already. But as social commentary it is good and for that reason I recommend it. Also the reproduction of a Cuneo painting on the box lid is a nice extra.

I found the selection fascinating: only one from the 1950s, seven from the 1960s, two 1970s and three 1980s. Thus it covers a period I remember well and plenty of shots reflecting the values of those days – some one lighting a cigarette at work using the heat of red hot metal; Joe Brown wearing a tie under a crew neck jumper – reflecting the values of those days.

While BR were pushing their modernity, the shots of the buses showed plenty of rear entry open platform double deckers and Austin 1100s and similar. It seems that at seat meals served by attentive and smartly presented waiters were plentiful on train services, a sharp contrast to today.

One thing I had forgotten was how grim the colour known as Rail Blue on local rolling stock looked when it was not relieved with light grey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good films spoiled by poor technical quality., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
I enjoyed these films very much but the technical quality was much poorer than any of the others in the series. Inter City 1250 had the sound lagging a long way behind the picture, The Future Works has a long blank bit at the end, The Driving Force has thin vertical lines down it all the way through plus the sound quality is quite poor (I have an old VHS copy of the film with much better sound), and several films are out of focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BFI Train dvds, 4 April 2014
By 
B. Middleton "paintpot" (Arbroath,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
I have all the other eleven titles in the series so No 12 was a must.I also thought they may be running short of interesting" shorts" but no still they come.Trying to lay a bridge in London over a weekend and seeing the progress was one of the interesting ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British transport Flims Vol 12, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
A top job if you are interested in British railways films, cover form the 1960 -1980 approx. I found it quite inserting.
Please note If you live or Buying form outside the United Kingdom (Britain ) you mind DVD player problems.
If you this one to fancy Buy the Rest of British Transport Film Vol 1 to 9 are in Box Set but Vol 10,11 and 12 are not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Driving Force, 1 April 2014
By 
Noel Playfair "Playfair" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
This latest DVD,in the British Transport Films collection is a fascinating look at a different era when we still had a manufacturing industry. Excellent DVD, let's hope BFI bring out more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Transport films, Excellent., 5 July 2014
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
As always British Transport films are of very high quality. Some very interesting short films on this DVD. If you like railway nostalgia then this is one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb series of films, 4 April 2014
By 
Robin "Rob37n" (Hull, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
This series goes from strength to strength. These old films are always fascinating, they show a railway long gone and provide an insight into the operation of the railway and to times past. Wonderful stuff. My only complaint is why is this second series not using the same packaging as the first set of DVDs, it looks odd on the bookcase now as a result. These films are best enjoyed with a couple of other enthusiasts sat around over tea and cake enjoying classic railway footage. Even non railway people will enjoy these films, my ex-wife used to even sit and watch them with me and she found them fascinating to watch. There's something for everyone in these great films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Transport Films Volume 12......, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
Another brilliant set of railway dvds brought together by BFI.
Anyone interested in railways, this is a set you must own, well worth the wait, as each volume comes out about every 12 months. All the films were filmed when the railways of Great Britain were still mainly governed by steam. You also see the transition to when Diesels, and Electric traction started to come in on the railways too.
I found the series so far very enjoyable.Most of the films are actually filmed by the various railway companies, and also by British Railways own film unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh wow, what a superb glimpse at how it was done !, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
If you're interested in railway operation and the history behind how it used to be done, this is the DVD for you. You do not have to be a railway enthusiast to appreciate this. It's a glimpse at life in general, hairstyles, fashion, industrial practice and a nation that had a fast changinmg railway. A well worth investment to any DVD reference library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 18 Mar 2014
By 
T.O.G.1 (BEDFORD England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Vol 12: The Driving Force (2-Disc DVD) (DVD)
Interesting and entertaining look at Transport History very well remastered . Good value for money I have all 12 volumes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews