Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD ORIGINAL HORROR.."
Yes this movie has few minor plot issues but nothing to really put you off sitting through it as most part its very enjoyable, I had a great time with it, the story does build up slowly so you have to be patient but it builds up in an interesting point of view of youngsters dealing with non believing adults about things that go bump in the night, as adults we tend to...
Published 16 months ago by S. Drury

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You certainly won’t be hiding there watching this
Two brothers, the older of which has returned home after setting his house on fire and inadvertently killing his mother, must do battle against a man in a rubber suit who lives under their bed. Okay, so it’s actually a monster, but, when you see it, you’ll probably think, ‘Oh, there’s a man in a rubber monster suit.’ Yes, that’s the...
Published 7 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD ORIGINAL HORROR..", 9 Aug 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes this movie has few minor plot issues but nothing to really put you off sitting through it as most part its very enjoyable, I had a great time with it, the story does build up slowly so you have to be patient but it builds up in an interesting point of view of youngsters dealing with non believing adults about things that go bump in the night, as adults we tend to believe in a logical explanation but as children the bogeyman has many real forms, this monster in particular appears to be preying on the kids that have lived in the house for years, the last 20 minutes of the film is what it all builds up to with cool looking retro bogeyman type creature effects and some sweet gore, for a low budget movie this is great fun and a breath of fresh air, certainly worth picking up, this import version is region free so will play in the UK no problems!! No features though unfortunately a behind the scenes would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You certainly won’t be hiding there watching this, 13 May 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Under the Bed (DVD)
Two brothers, the older of which has returned home after setting his house on fire and inadvertently killing his mother, must do battle against a man in a rubber suit who lives under their bed. Okay, so it’s actually a monster, but, when you see it, you’ll probably think, ‘Oh, there’s a man in a rubber monster suit.’ Yes, that’s the tone of the film.

Naturally, the boys’ parents think they’re crazy and their dad is a complete idiot at all times (whether they’re talking about monsters or asking for a drink of milk, he seems to find it in himself to start shouting and threatening to lock everyone in their rooms forever... or something like that – in short, he’s a douche). Then you have your clichéd bullies who think he’s crazy and they live next door (do you get the impression this film is lining up plenty of characters who are going to fall foul from the thing under the bed?). But it’s not all bad news for the older brother... no sooner has he returned to his home town then he’s met the one hot girl who finds surly, reclusive arsonists who ride BMXs really attractive. So there you have your ‘love interest.’ Yawn.

The film starts off slow. I’m guessing this is to ‘build tension.’ But it just involves things moving in the house. Personally, I’ve never found a washing machine’s door shutting by itself that horrific.

Yeah, there’s a climax and some funky coloured lights here and there. They even throw in a chainsaw by this time to try and spice things up, but, by now, do you care? I didn’t. It’s not terrible, just nothing remotely new enough to warrant me paying it any real attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THAT MUMBLING THING, 22 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Neal (Jonny Weston) a moody, mumbling high school student has been away living with Aunt Sarah for two years following the fire incident. He is coming home with his less than understanding father (Peter Holden) to reunite with his younger brother Paulie (Gattlin Griffith) and meet his new step mother Angela (Musetta Vander). As the progresses we find out more about the fire incident and the thing that lives under the bed.

I liked how they did the horror and creep factor in the film. It didn't come at you constantly so you didn't get numb to it. There were a number of things that made me scratch my head.

1) Neal was gone for 2 years. Paulie was 3 when he left. He is clearly well older than 5, more like 10 or 11.
2) Angela experiences an early encounter, then acts like nothing happened.
3) Paulie has been sleeping in the same room as this thing for years which seems absurd.
4) Dad forces them to sleep in the haunted room to prove a point.

I felt like there were some missing scenes. Makes for a good rental. Watch it for the scare and try not to think too much about the plot.

Parental Guide: 4 F-bombs (my count). No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its got me, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Bed [DVD] (DVD)
an elder brother comes home after spending 32 years at his aunts recovering to find his little brother seeing the same thing under the bed as he has,this thing comes everynight and will stop at nothing ,so the boys come up with a plan too kill it but mustn't fall asleep,i wontt tell you the end,yes I recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Under the bed..., 19 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Under The Bed [DVD] (DVD)
...is the best place for this film if you can't be bothered to put it in the bin!

Dear God,did I really waste money on this pile of drivel? Were the other reviewers watching another film? One that actually had a decent plot and credible acting?

I'm not hard to please with horror films,really, but I do kind of like them to make some sort if sense and this had me totally nonplussed within the first 15 mins with the first most ridiculous premiss ever....

Older kid has some trauma to do with a monster under the bed, goes away for a couple of years and comes back still all spooked and moody, glowering at his bedroom door all bug-eyed with fear. He then finds his little brother has been SLEEPING IN HIS ROOM since he left!
Whaaattt?? Does this kid have a persecution complex or something ?? Did he gather big bro went nuts due to a beastie under the bed and figure that far from nailing the door shut and barricading it with crosses and holy water he would leave his non-beastied room and go in there instead?! Sure he does,the little tyke!

Follow this up with some very,very stupid ideas about avoiding said monster: don't move or make any noise...yet they carry on yapping and little bro takes a running jump onto the bed as an example of staying still and making no noise. Both brothers then decide to spend a night sleeping on a chest of drawers and avoiding the bed with some weird idea that the creature is bound to the bed. Which it isn't,of course, as it ends up rampaging around next door,drawn by SKIN CELLS on the pillows they take round for a sleepover...yes indeed!!

I found myself wondering what exactly the monster had done to so upset big bro when he says at some point it never got closer than a couple of foot from him. Did it make grunting noises, shake the bed a bit? Did it bitch about it's day and keep him awake? It's certainly upped it's game for his return as it goes lollopping around ripping off heads by the end of the film, seeming to have abandoned any decent monster rules about keeping hidden from adults and only scaring kids.
Maybe it found the kids scary,certainly the neighbour kids are a couple of the oddest I've ever seen in a film.

So anyway...so far, so bad. Throw in a bullying 'I'll make a man of you!' father who likes to lock his kids in the bedroom and who overacts shamelessly,and a stepmother who tries to be sympathetic and has a weird, early on encounter with a set of claws and jumping washing machines that is never referred to again; a creepy neighbour(father of the creepy kids), and a love interest that never goes anywhere, and you have a whole ragbag of loose ends and pointless plotlines that go nowhere.

In an ending as amazingly dumb as I've ever seen, big bro attempts a Leatherface on the creature and is bitch-slapped for his pains, finally defeating it by throwing the ashes of his dead mum at it. I kid you not! Supermum from beyond the grave,her ashes oh so conveniently being kept in the garage where the final showdown takes place. As she is barely mentioned in the rest of the film,I've no idea why her ashes would save the day, but obviously the writer thinks they should,so they do. So there.
Everything ends with a hug in the garage.

If you like awfully stereotyped characters that do things even awfully stereotyped characters wouldn't do and plot holes so huge you could drive a bus through,then this could be the movie for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Super lame horror film., 29 April 2014
This review is from: Under The Bed [DVD] (DVD)
I was anxious to see Under the Bed, the plot to me sounded much better than the mediocre Boogey Man (2005) that also dealt with a childhood monster, returning to haunt the now grown up young man it terrorized when he was a child. Sadly Under the Bed not only turned out to be worst than Boogey Man but was totally forgettable. The film wastes its intriguing premise for a slow moving approach and attempts to much on it's obvious shoe string budget. Director Steven T. Miller's direction is sorely lacking. He comes up with some cool shots, but for the most part his direction is pretty flat and even he seems lost when it comes to trying to bring new and exciting ideas to the table, to help the film rise above it's horrible script. The acting was awful and none of the characters seemed that interesting. The film's about these two brothers who team up to battle a creature under the bed, in what is being described as a suburban nightmare tale.” Sounds awesome right? Wrong . The older brother has just gotten out of a hospital after suffering a mental breakdown following some sort of traumatic experience. He comes home to a house that always has the lights off, where his little brother, father and stepmother try to get on with life as if nothing happened. Good thing because for a long time pretty much nothing happens. The first supernatural event takes place in a washing machine, not under a bed. And then it takes about 30 minutes before we finally see the bed mentioned in the title. The two boys are sitting there talking about scary things when they stop and look at the bed. At this moment the camera pans ever-so-slowly-toward-the-bed. But that’s it. As viewers, we just look at it. Yep, that’s a bed alright. I bet there’s something under it. The next time we see the bed, we’re treated to growling noises. At this point I was fed up and almost gave up. In another scene, we see one of our heroes, I think it’s the younger kid – honestly I don’t even know anymore – he’s sitting in science class when he falls asleep. This gives the director a chance to make us think we’re watching A Nightmare on Elm Street. All of these disjointed scenes lead up to the big battle against the evil lurking under the bed. This comes complete with the montage of the heroes getting ready with their supplies and some music playing in the background (really corny sequence by the way). Overall this movie is boring, predictable and unimaginative. The script puts too much detail in the wrong places and then uses huge jumps in logic to get where it needs to go. I think a backstory at the beginning would have been a good idea. Which is somewhat ironic, since there are so many films that start off with a backstory that really shouldn’t. I can't really recommend this, Under the Bed takes itself way too seriously and seems to be a mishmash of so many other things. While it feels like an Elm Street movie mixed with a serious version of the Troma film Monster in the Closet, it really could have benefited from some silliness and probably should have been an animated kids film. Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful., 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Bed [DVD] (DVD)
Awful, rubbish film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire Drivel, 17 May 2014
This review is from: Under the Bed (DVD)
This is just about as bad as it gets. Good acting, but oh, what a stinker of a script. Bored, irritated and frustrated are how I would have described myself by halfway through this. There are thousands of films on Amazon. Your time would be better spent choosing something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously Bad !, 16 May 2014
This review is from: Under the Bed (DVD)
waited and waited for something scary to happen, apart from horrific acting and over dramatic lingering shots of, you guessed it, nothing happening. The stepmother's character made us scream with laughter, if you want a comedy get this - if you want a scare run a mile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a pile of......(insert your view here), 14 April 2014
This review is from: Under the Bed (DVD)
I felt like when I was watching this, I went back to my childhood and was watching Goosebumps and are you afraid of the dark. Ultimately, this was far fetched and rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under The Bed [DVD]
Under The Bed [DVD] by Steven C. Miller (DVD - 2014)
£3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews