Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars47
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 February 2014
***This review is for the film only***

First off, if you haven't seen Hatchet 1 and 2, then there's no point in watching this until you have done so. Part 3 begins exactly where the 2nd film left off.

The plot evolves around the ghost of deformed killer Victor Crowley (Kane Hodder or Jason Voorhees as he is more affectionately known) who is still on a murdering rampage in his creepy swamp, where he kills and dismembers anyone unlucky enough to stumble onto his land, while he searches for his fathers remains. Marybeth (Danielle Harris of the Halloween franchise) who barely survived the carnage of the 2nd film, must return to the swamp with the police force to try and bring Crowley's rampage to an end once and for all.

If you have seen Hatchet 1 and 2 and enjoyed what you saw, then you will no doubt like this film as well. It ends the trilogy nicely and cranks up the blood, gore and carnage, to an extra level. I'd go as far as to say the gore is as heavy laden as the new Evil Dead remake but this is done with a dose of humour which only adds to the movies fun factor..

The acting for the most part is decent enough for a crazed slasher flick and if you don't know of Victor Crowley, he's basically a mash up of Jason Voorhees from the Friday the 13th movies and Michael Myers from Halloween. There are various appearances to enjoy from horror movie regulars (Zach Galligan - Gremlins 1 & 2, Waxwork 1 & 2) Sid Haig (House of 1000 corpses, The devils rejects) and Sean Whalen - The people under the stairs) among others.

The direction of the film is well handled and it never takes itself seriously and some of the gore effects are so over the top they're almost comical yet still realistic to watch.

The film isn't scary but then it's not meant to be, it's just a wild, outlandish, slasher flick, with bags of style and buckets of blood. It delivers exactly what it promises to deliver and should provide slasher/gore hounds like myself, a decent nights entertainment.

I personally thought this was the best film in the trilogy and highly recommend it to anyone who has a remote interest in the horror genre.

8/10
1111 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
After the events which occurred in Hatchet II, a clean up is needed around Honey Island Swamp. So the local police (led by cheesed off sheriff Zach 'Gremlins' Galligan) head out there with a state coronary and SWAT team in tow to sort out the mess; but unfortunately the ghost of the unstoppable, deformed, human spaz-tank, Victor Crowley, who's caused all the mayhem in the first place, still rampages through the undergrowth like Nellie the Elephant suffering from a bad case of PMT; crashing around and taking great grunting pleasure in splatting anyone who comes into his domain..

Meanwhile, sole survivor of earlier Hatchets: the cuss filled redneck skank.... and all round badass, Marybeth Dunstan, resides in a jail cell. But is busted out by an intrepid journalist and a useless cop, so that she might put her talents to good use by laying Crowley's ghost to rest.. with extreme prejudice, of course!...

Slasher comedy horror once again written by Green, whose sole interests appear to be in wowing his audience with excessive amounts of gore, loud opening rock music, bad language for comedic effect and vulgar none stop violence.
It's dumb but fun, with a cast of slasher veterans and very welcome guest appearances, including slasher attractions such as Sid Haig and Caroline Williams.. Not forgetting the underrated Danielle Harris, who started her career in slasher movies earlier than most (aged 11?).. in Halloween 4 and 5, respectively, and who is a welcome addition to every production I've ever seen her in, even if she does continue to be given some pretty ugly or trashy roles.

The film itself makes little sense, so you've just got to go with it and take all this nonsense with a big pinch (try a bucket full) of salt but if you can get in the spirit of things (I would definitely recommend a few beers on standby and put your stupid head on!) then Hatchet III is plenty of fun and at just short of 80m is unlikely to outstay it's welcome.
That is of course so long as you are happy with jokes involving severed testicles hanging in a tree, whilst at the same time watching people have their arms ripped off, heads pulped and spinal columns torn out, then you'll be fine..

Zero suspense or tension ensues (to be honest it doesn't need it and it's not that kind of slasher film anyway!), with a story so retarded that it would most probably have been thrown out by even those responsible for the worst of The Friday the 13th sequels.

As it stands though, I rather enjoyed it.

3.25/5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I should start by saying that I have love All of the Hatchet films with the first being my all time favourite. That said I was really surprised when watching this version that a lot of the over the top gore that is a trademark of these pictures seemed to be missing. I have only seen this version so could be completely wrong but for example:

SPOILER:

In one scene one of the cops has both his arms pulled off by Crowley but unlike in Hatchet 1 and 2 we don't actually see this happen there is screaming the camera pulls away and we see blood spurting from his shoulders. To be honest if you blink you will miss it and that is the problem I have. The other 2 films never suffered from such horrendous editing and/or cutting!

Don't get me wrong there is plenty of other scenes that are "in your face" the problem is though that I can think of at least 3 of Crowley's kills that if included in numbers 1 or 2 would have been far more graphic

Remember in Hatchet 2 when Rev Zombie has his spine pulled, well:

SPOILER

One of Crowley's kills involves pulling the head of his victim, but again we see him holding them by the neck CUT he's standing holding the head:

As I have said I love these films and hope that a uncut version of 3 (Region 2) is released soon as this version doesn't do Crowley Justice. If however I am wrong and this is the uncut full version of the film, then the editor need a serious lesson in the art of cutting and editing!
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love the Hatchet trilogy and I love Danielle Harris(Halloween 4) and for me she is becoming the new queen of horror.

Now Hatchet 3 continues straight after Hatchet 2 and when Marybeth(Harris) thinks she has destroyed Victor Crowley. She then heads to the police station covered head to toe in his blood plus she has a part of Crowley's face, and when she try's to tell them he is dead, no one believes her and the police think she is behind the mass murders with many body's found in the Louisiana Swamp. So when the paramedics and local police and Swat team turn up to investigate they soon realise that the local myth is true and Victor Crowley is now stalking them. Now they must fight to stay alive the best they can.

This is a great film and if you love blood guts galore plus loads of action, from a rocket launcher and machine guns galore, you do get your money's worth, and the special effects are just awesome, I mean when Victor Crowley falls on the Chainsaw and his head and torso gets cut into two was just quality. Hope there will be Hatchet 4.

***DVD FEATURES***
Audio 2.0
Aspect Ratio 16x9 2.35
No bonus features
No subtitle
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 April 2014
Finally the UK gets Hatchet 3 - and I enjoyed it more than the decent Hatchet 2.
If you know the first two, you know what you're getting.
I personally liked this one quite a bit - but its by far the dumbest of the three.
The deaths/gore are fun and messy but oddly not as visually striking as in the first two and as another reviewer said it felt cut.
Danielle Harris, a stunning woman and slasher queen was on strangely annoying form and every other word from her was an F bomb.
Now, I like a good F bomb in a film, it can be funny or shocking, but she just never stopped.
I loved seeing Zach Galligan get plenty of screen time, its been a long time since I've seen him in a film and I'm a huge Gremlins fan.
Sid Haig gets a hilarious cameo, a very funny scene.

Overall its dumb, fun, fast paced and at 78 minutes it flies by.

DVD has 'play movie' and 'scene selection' options only - no features, subtitles etc but DVD opens with three trailers that you can skip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This story picks up with Marybeth (Danielle Harris) "killing" Victor Crowley (Kane Hodder) again. It was nice of the producers to use the same person to play Marybeth this time. She is in jail while local police check Honey Island Swamp only to find a bloody mess. Like Jason, Victor never dies so you can figure out the rest.

Sid Haig has a bit part in this film having comedic "Paula Deen moments." I did not enjoy this as much as the one with Tony Todd. This film had its comic and dark comedy moments, but was pretty much an over the top slasher with blood spraying unrealistically all over the screen as if it was coming out of a pressure washer. The characters were decent in this one, but the film lacked a certain eye candy. Plenty of blood and gore, easy on plot.

Parental Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity. Danielle Harris being hosed in shower with discreet arm and leg placement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
The latest in the Hatchet series is a little more "polished" than the other two, but still provides enough gore by the bucket load. There is a touch of the Aliens movie theme, in that Victor faces off against more professional adversaries, namely the police and Swat members, but I think you will guess who comes out on top! The finale suggests that Victor is no more, but can you kill a ghost? A film worthy of a 4 star rating, but naturally that is from my viewpoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
If gore splatter is your thing then this movie delivers... but the plot leading to a resolution of sorts I found unsatisfying. Perhaps they were saving something for another part... the conclusion of the saga. It got a bit wearying at times as the reporter woman finally gets the cops into doing something... who would want their job? After that it becomes something of yet another run down memory lane with the tale of ten little indians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
A pretty good film, but not as good as 1 and 2 and there was no topless girls. Nice deaths tho.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
only gave 5 as for a trilogy it is not to bad but not fantastic depending on what you want from a film will depend on how you enjoy , i am a horror fanatic and i have seen some of the worse to some very good this is actually watchable but you do need to see parts 1 and 2 very much along the friday 13th and freddy culture of horror
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.52

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)