Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars466
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2014
Very nice unit but could do with 2 simple upgrades.

They could add 3 pin fan connector so you can add a fan to keep the hard drives nice and cool. The temps were getting a bit high for my liking 37c so I added a Corsair fan on the side of it and now both drives run cooler than the drives in my case 22c.

Another thing it could do with is a power button that sticks out a bit more because sometimes it's a bit hard to turn it on and off so I added a stick on black bit of rubber and now it's much easier to turn on and off.

See pictures :)
review image review image review image
99 comments|117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
This is an excellent device.
I have a Dell desktop PC nearly 5 years old, which is still running well but the hard drive was showing signs of wear when monitored.
I used the Inateck (offline clone) to clone the 500GB hard drive onto a new 640GB drive, which when inserted into the PC now works perfectly.
The old drive can also still be accessed if necessary using the Inatek Docking function to USB.

I think that the Instruction Manual could be improved with a little more advice about the indicator lights on start-up and with some information about approximate time required to clone discs; such as :-
- Load source in bay A, target in bay B, turn on power.
- Power light and both bay indicator lights should be on. If not, switch off and check the seating of the disks in the connector sockets, then try again.
- Press and hold the clone button for about 3 seconds until the indicator light comes on. Then release the clone button and re-press quickly before the indicator light goes off. The 25% light should then start flashing immediately showing that cloning has started OK.

The time taken to clone my 500GB disk was about 1 hour 50 minutes.
11 comment|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
It's not a toaster, even if it looks a bit like one. But seriously, this unit is a really useful bit of kit for anyone who regularly needs to swap data between internal drives, without having to bother fitting inside the PC case. It has worked very speedily, and so far reliably, exchanging data between a drive loaded into the cradle, and another inside my system. But it can also be used externally with x2 internal drives, from one to the other or both exchanging data with drives already fitted. Also, of course, it's ideal for when you want to clone a drive, either for back-up or for later use within a system you are upgrading. As it takes both SATA and SSD drives, it's usefulness is future proofed for the time being, at least.

It's a good idea to keep the plastic cover that is part of the packaging, as this can be used to keep out dust when the unit is not in use, but you prefer to leave it in place rather than in a draw. The plastic cover won't quite cover the whole of the unit when wired up, but works well enough for the makeshift purpose.

My only complaint it what feels like a rather cheap and flimsy on/off button. So far, it's been okay, but this would seem to be the unit's weak point. It should stand up to reasonable use, but may not last if used by someone who is turning it on and off dozens of times a day, every day. This potential problem can easily be negated by simply using a switchable plug, instead of the on/off button.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
With the SSD market booming, I was on the lookout for a unit which would facilitate hard disk cloning and data migration. The Inateck grabbed my attention due to the fact that it also doubles as a docking (hot swap) station.

• Pros: Does what it says on the tin

• Cons: Offline cloning mode needs to be monitored, as the drives keep spinning even after the cloning process is complete... futher information in review.

Summary: After reading some concerning reviews regarding HDD heating/overheating I decided to run and see the results for myself. I tested the worse case scenario, cloning a full 2 TB hard disc using sector by sector clone in offline mode (drives keep on spinning) for 2 hours. To the touch the drives were getting hotter, yet logging temperature results using a Fluke meter revealed that the max temp of 49 degrees C peaked after 45 mins and remained steady for the remaining 75 mins. Electronic components are designed to handle much higher temperatures, so IMHO this should not be much of a concern. What really concerns me is leaving the hard drives attached and powered in "Offline" mode, which could cause unnecessary wear due to continuous spinning of the drives.

When the unit is used as a docking station (connected to a computer) the drive enters sleep mode if it is not accessed for a matter of a couple of minutes. When in sleep mode the drive's temperature does not increase, in fact the temperature returns to normal room temperature. (Tested on Windows 7, yet I will be testing this on Vista too should I have any requests).

Conclusion: The unit itself looks quite plasticky, yet it gets the job done. Insertion of hard drives is easy and straight forward. Moving the base unit while hard drives are connected (not recommended) does not cause the hard drives to disconnect, even though these could tilt forward or backward. This is due to the sturdy SATA connectors. There is no need to install any software to read files from the inserted drives, and hot swapping of drives does not result in errors (unless of course files are being transfered).

This unit has exceeded my expectations. The Inateck performs flawlessly, and in the few days of ownership I have cloned drives offline and copied thousands of files in online mode. I highly recommend this product.

Update 6th March 2015: I have this unit permanently connected to my computer and still use it on a regular basis. The Inateck is a consistent solid performer, and I am very satisfied with this purchase.
review image review image
33 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I bought the dual hard drive external docking station which I have found to be very useful and easy to use. If you require to clone a hard drive to a new larger drive you can either put both hard drives in the docking bay without connecting to the PC and by pressing a button for 3 seconds then once again, it will clone to your new drive.

It is easy then to partition the additional unallocated area of the new hard drive by using the Disk Manager within WINDOWS.

You also have the other option of installing the Cloning software CD which comes with the package which enables you to easily clone the hard drive in your PC to the new hard drive placed in the docking station.

You also have the third benefit of placing an older SATA Hard Drive in the docking station and recover data. Do note that this docking is only useful for the SATA Hard Drive, no use to the older PCs which has different connections.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Over the past few years I have owned many HDD docks, ranging from poorly built, not working products to those also in a league of their own with brilliant finishes and top quality parts. When I received the Inateck docking station in the mail, I was impressed at first glance. It looked like a sturdy, well built product with the added bonus that it was USB3.0 and also had a clone feature that could be used offline.

Using the dock was an effortless process, you simply plug the dock into a USB port on your computer, hit the power button and the hard drives will instantly show up in My Computer. The clone function is similarly easy simple to use and full instructions on how to do so are included in the box that the product arrives in!

Now normally I do a positive and negative section at the end of my reviews, but on this rare occasion I really am finding it hard to find a negative point. As much as I try to find one there really doesn't seem to be any flaws with the design, or even the product itself, and for that reason I think this product is worth every penny of the £38.99 it costs over at Amazon.co.uk.

So if you are looking for a HDD docking station, but also the capability of cloning drives if one happens to blow on you, then look no further than the Inateck USB3.0 Dual SATA HDD Docking Station with Clone Functionality.

Features:

Supports offline duplicate function, all data or system files copy into your target hard disk by pressing one simple button.
Accept 2 x 3.5″ or 2.5″ SATA HDD plug-in one compact unit, data can be transferred between 2.5″ and 3.5″ SATA HDD.
Two hard drives can read & write at the same time
The dual bay docking station connects to the computer via USB3.0
SuperSpeed (5Gbps) / high-speed (480 Mbps) / full-speed (12 Mbps)
SATA III & SATA II & SATA I support
Supports 4TB Hard Drive
Power LED indicator
Supports Windows XP/Vista/7/8 (32 / 64-bit), MAC 10.8.0 or later.

Package Contents:

1 x SATA HDD Docking Station
1 x Power Adapter
1 x Power Cable
1 x USB3.0 Cable
1 x Driver
1 x User Manual

[...]
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Note - This appears to be an upgraded version of the box/flap type that has been previously very well reviewed on this product page. This 'open tray' design allows for better heat dissipation as far as I can see. I have uploaded a picture of the dock I received.

This is just what you need to easily access data (pics, video, documents) stored or should I say 'stuck' on hard drives in old bust computers/laptops. Or to make use of any old hard drives you may already have.

Hard drives are easily removed from the old pc's and there's plenty of how to videos online to show you how to do this.

This unit which is really well made of tough plastic enables you to link your now external hard drive to another computer/laptop in order to access/store data or. . .you can just use it as an extra external memory source! It works with operating systems - Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1

I used it with a Samsung notebook on Windows 8.1

In the box you get -

- The SATA usb 3.0 DOCK
- Power cable which is 5ft long
- USB 3.O data cable which is 4ft long

Note - There was no instruction manual in my box but it is a plug and play item, very easy to use.

The dock itself is just a sturdy tray with a hard drive docking port in it. That's it.

The dock can take either 2.5 or 3.5 inch drives. If you have USB 3.0 ports in your pc this will transfer data like lightening. Up to ten times faster than USB 2.0 but it does work with USB 2.0 too. At the back of the unit you have the power on/off switch, power cable socket and the USB 3.0 data cable port.

In use -

It's very easy to use. You certainly don't have to be some computer geek. There's no drivers needed and it's hot swappable. This is a plug and play item!

I took a 140gb drive from an old broken laptop which I knew had photos stored on it. Plugged the dock in and a blue LED light came on. Connected it to the USB 3.O port on my notebook and inserted the drive into the port and the notebook had found 'drive G' I clicked on it to see all it's files displayed and there were my 2000 plus old pics/videos. 12gb in total.

The blue LED light on the unit started flashing indicating transfer. They were transferred over to my notebook in about 8 mins by which time I'd had a brew and some toast! To think people do throw out old computers thinking they cannot save their photos when it's so simple to save them. So no need to encase your old computers in concrete and toss them into a river anymore! Get one of these and 'keep' your private data/files safely.

I now have an extra 140gb of external hard drive space to use too. This is a handy device which may save you from throwing away precious memories one day! I've transferred a few drives now onto my notebook using windows 8.

It couldn't be any easier if you need one of these SATA docking stations..

I was kindly provided this dock for review by the the manufacturer

Definitely recommended.
review image
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Note: this is a review of the single-bay Inateck USB 3.0 docking station.

I recently built a new Windows PC and needed a way to copy data from the old machine's 1TB HDD to the new machine's 2TB disk. As the new machine has USB 3.0 ports, the Inateck USB 3.0 docking station seemed to be the ideal solution.

The unit comes neatly packed in a smart black cardboard box with product information on it. In the box, you get the docking station itself, a cable with a male USB 3.0 A plug on one end and a male USB 3.0 B plug on the other and a 12V power supply integrated into a UK plug.

The docking station itself is a neat black plastic box approximately 75mm wide, 75mm high and 155mm deep. The predominant finish is a shiny piano black with contrasting textured matt black plastic around the hard drive slot and the panel at the back where the power and USB sockets live. There's a large round on/off switch at the front with the Inateck logo below in white and a vertically aligned blue power LED above. There's a hinged flap covering the 3.5" drive slot with a small cutout for 2.5" drives. When a hard drive is inserted, a button pops up at the rear which ejects the drive when pressed. The overall impression is of simple quality.

One slight criticism is that if you have a lower profile hard drive, its position in the slot is a bit less secure than that of a full-height drive - the smaller drives can wobble a little bit. It's hard to see how you would stop this happening, though, and I haven't seen a docking station which doesn't have this problem. This is something of a nit-pick, and in practice it's not an issue.

Using the docking station couldn't be much simpler - connect the power supply, plug the USB cable into the appropriate sockets on the docking station and computer, slide a hard disk into the slot, press the power switch and away you go. I had no problems getting Windows 7 to recognise the hard drive.

Performance is good. It took just over 3 minutes to copy 14.4GB (1,872 files) from the drive in the dock onto the PC - a rate of approximately 78MB/s (~626Mbits/s). The drives in question weren't particularly fast (source: 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3; destination: 2TB WD Caviar Green) and I'm sure you'd get much better performance from an SSD, for example.

In summary, the Inateck FD1003 USB 3.0 Docking Station is a neat, well-designed docking station which is very much more attractive than some other models I've seen. It offers simplicity of use coupled with decent performance and I don't hesitate to recommend it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Received the dock at work (IT and X-ray engineer) and straight away tried an offline clone of a windows 8 1Tb drive for one of our systems. Cloning took a while which was to be expected due to drive size, dock shows progress with LEDs. Once all LEDs lit and clone complete powered down and removed drive, placed cloned drive in system and booted up, worked absolutely fine. Now using this to clone all our customers systems so we have a master copy of their drives in case of failure.

Also tried on line clone using software, this is recommended by the manufacturer as it can correct bad sectors of the disc during cloning which offline clone cant do (this may be why people are reporting the dock freezing during offline clone, it does state in the manual this can happen if there is a bad sector on the master disc).

I have also tried this connected to a USB with two drives in a s a dock with absolutely no problems.

All in all, this takes a while to clone a larger drive (1Tb+) but it does do it and the drive works fine afterwards. For the price this is a handy thing to have for backing things up.

The only thing I would say is that you do have to be careful inserting the drives, if they are not straight there is the potential to damage the connectors.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
It does everything it promises, quickly and reliably.
Two hard drives into one USB port. Unobtrusive and it has its own power supply, easing the load on the computer
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 108 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)