Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Kim Simmond's Savoy Brown does it again, absolute winner!, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' To The Delta (Audio CD)
I remember when I reviewed the last album, Voodoo Moon, I waxed lyrical that this was as good as it gets. Well I have to eat my words, things just got better! This is a brilliant album from a masterful blues rock trio. Kim's awesome guitar playing is wonderfully supported by really tight drums and bass. A big round of applause for the latest version of Savoy Brown, Kim, Garnet and Pat. These are all originals by Kim and every track is right on the button. A brilliant mix of powerhouse driving rock blues and intricate slow blues. i was going to say that Laura Lee, Nuthin' like the Blues, Cobra, Goin' to the Delta, Sleeping Rough were my favourites but cannot really as I have now played this album four times and every track is a gem and the mix of tracks on the album really works.
Kim talks about Shuffles, Boogies and Blues, well this is about the best Shuffles, Boogies and Blues I've heard in a long time.This is what I call perfect evolution.
Only played this four times in the car, just got it yesterday, now about to crank up the amp and blow the house windows out.
A magic gem from one of the UK's best blues guitarists, Mr Kim Simmonds - What a treat! Buy it now and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' to the Delta (MP3 Download)
I am always on the lookout for something new to wet the taste buds and stumbling across this album has done just that! I am a great fan of the delta/chicago blues scene and this album just reinforces that. From beginning to end this album delivers and in my opinion deserves a little extra volume as my family have discovered! Some great guitar playing and vocals. I would recommend this to anyone who likes the blues/rock scene. I am off to visit the rest of the Savoy Brown back catalogue...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proving there is still plenty of Blues out there., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' To The Delta (Audio CD)
I bought Kim Simmonds CD a couple of years ago & afraid to say was a little let down, as I did rate him as one of the best blues guitarists. The new one: " Goin' To The Delta" has made up for all previous shortfalls. If you get the chance to hear it, you will be amazed. I'm glad I ordered it from Amazon. It's now taking it's place in my extensive blues collection & will get played many times more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant old fashioned blues.rock, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' To The Delta (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant CD for all you blues lovers. It is back to the 60's blues style and is full of foot tapping, singing basic blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Blues from a distinguished Guitarist, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' To The Delta (Audio CD)
Deserves more acclaim than often given Kim Simmonds has produced and excellent album of Blues Good backing team supports some good guitar playing from the ever accomplished Kim If you like your electric blues in the traditional fashion you will not be disappointed with this offering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gopod old R & B ( the proper R & B as it was called !!), 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' To The Delta (Audio CD)
As a previous reviewer remarked good old fashioned rock, the sort of stuff you used to hear back in the 60's, proper R & B ( where did they get the idea to call disco c---p! R & B anyhow??) Just enjoyable to have on; excellant guitar playing very polished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good solid blues album, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' to the Delta (MP3 Download)
Really enjoy listening to this well crafted blues album - as the lyrics say 'Nuthin' like the Blues to get me feelin' alright" and this album has some good rockin' blues to cheer you up and dusting that old broom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT RELEASE., 25 Mar 2014
By 
P. Hill "Chips" (MIDLANDS,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' To The Delta (Audio CD)
Always liked Savoy Brown music and this is well above my expectations. Music content is varied and sound quality very good.The band hit the target on each track and recommend this cd to any rock blues lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin' To The Delta (Audio CD)
A great blues album for those who like a modern version of Chicago style blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goin' To The Delta
Goin' To The Delta by Kim Simmonds and Savoy Brown (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews