Customer Reviews


11 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew that diplomacy could be so entertaining?, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Review of content.

Whoever came up with this gem of an idea for a comedy-drama should be congratulated. David Mitchell plays the new British Ambassador of a minor-league country somewhere beyond Afghanistan. Robert Webb plays his trusty (or perhaps not quite so trusty) deputy who has served there for some time and knows the ropes.

Perhaps more drama than comedy, the balance is reversed in the very funny second episode where the brilliant Tom Hollander plays a minor royal flown in to help secure a major contract (now who can he be impersonating, I wonder?). Plots have just the right amount of intrigue and Ambassadors has an interesting assortment of characters played by a hugely engaging ensemble cast.

This is light entertainment of the highest order. The three episodes that comprise the first series will leave viewers looking forward to more - which is just as it should be. Nice work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and enjoyable, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
Jay M "jay_mc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Living in a time when intelligent comedy-drama is at a true premium, this show is absolutely essential. It helps that it is also witty, well-written, cast excellently and very funny!

David Mitchell and Robert Webb excel in their roles as the Ambassador (Keith Davis) and his deputy-head (Neil Tilly), to the fictional Asian nation of Tazbekistan.

For those expecting, or fearing!, anything similar to their own comedy show on BBC, or 'Peep Show' on Channel 4, then this is entirely different, and all the better for it.

As the dvd box set is not released yet, I won't go too much into detail for those that may not have seen the show yet. Albeit to say that there are many funny and smart situations, including a blind political prisoner wandering into a busy dinner-hall in his underpants and the visit of Prince Mark, a minor Royal excellently played by Tom Hollander. Prince Mark displays all the usual charm expected of a royal, including asking Davis (Mitchell) in a car trip from the airport, what the 'local skirt' are like and would he ever be tempted. Given Davis is married to a character played by Keeley Hawes, then I think that quite sums up the stupidity of the man!

I also second the previously raised point regarding the length of time it is taking to release the box-set. In an ideal world, I would have no issue in waiting until October 2014 (currently), as generally I do think things are released too soon now. But given the times we are in and that brand new box office movies are released within a few months, or sooner, on dvd/blu-ray, then it seems a bit of marketing blooper to wait that long, allowing interest in the show to cool and anyone who wants to see it will probably catch the likely reruns within the next few months anyway.Maybe it will be brought forward!

Great show though and worth buying for those who are really taken with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We have to wait a year for the DVD!, 25 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having just discovered this series I concur heartily with the other reviewers. This is five-star, but my plan of sending the DVD to friends in Europe for Christmas has collapsed now I see that it's not coming out till next year. What a shame. Tom Hollander as Prince Mark was just the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I cannot recommend this highly enough, 4 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot recommend this highly enough. I note one of the other reviewers mentioned that their wife had been into an embassy and that there were a number of similarities. Well, as someone who has worked in a number of embassies (and still do) and have lived in and visited a number of former Soviet republics this is the closest depiction of life in the HM Diplomatic Service I have ever seen, right down to the Scottish Consul. No gun toting heroics like that programme with Jason Isaacs, just the trials and tribulations of dealing with senior officials in the UK and VIP visitors while taking account of local sensitivities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly written, acutely intelligent and insightful comedy, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly entertaining, brilliantly written, acutely intelligent and insightful comedy. Along with 'The Thick Of It' The best series since 'Yes Minister'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mitchell and Webb's Finest Hour, 11 May 2015
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love this series! Truly Mitchell and Webb at their best. An amazing cast, memorable characters and brilliant writing. Everything about it was expertly crafted, the humor blends perfectly with the drama. My favourite was the last episode : The Tazbek Spring. The first time I saw it I was literally on the edge of my seat then laughing a moment later. Easily the best thing I have seen on the BBC in years and I still hope for more...And for the release of this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mitchell and Webb at their best, 20 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this on the BBC last year, and it's a real 'grower'.
If there's a funnier character actor than David Mitchell at the moment I'd like to see them!

A Second series please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and something new, 19 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I found this series on iplayer and unfortunately only managed to watch one episode before viewing expired. So I am now buying the dvd: I really liked the characters, the plot and it was so nice to be able to watch something that wasn't about hospitals, detectives or a costume drama. The episode I watched was clever, entertaining, funny at times and refreshingly different to most things offered on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny (and pretty realistic)!, 20 Sept. 2014
By 
D.N.Wijewardane (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I *fortunately* saw these first 3 episodes in full on YouTube by fluke before they were pulled many months ago (thank you whoever put them up). Since the old days of good intelligent and witty British comedy, the three episodes were the best I have seen since say Yes PM, Blackadder and the like which I adore - I immediately pre-ordered (due Oct 2014) and have no reason to think the next unknown episodes could be inferior in any way. The plots are funny and unpredictable, the acting is excellent all round (-enjoyed DM and RW very much here and great interactions, as indeed the Man from "Rev" in a very different princely role though a touch overindulgent in expletives!), the backdrops are fun and suitably exotic...and it is pretty realistic!

As the first reviewer headlines, suggesting she did not think diplomacy could be so funny, being in such circles it IS often hilarious and dotty (-British Embassies no less culpable!); moreover having spent some time in the chaos of the -stans, I thoroughly enjoyed the caricatures which were about the same size as life itself. Excellent production BBC, and wonder why programmes like this are rarely produced or why they have to "test it out first"... I hope there are more episodes and that the quality is maintained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, shame it's the last, 1 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the British embassy in a fictional central Asian former Soviet republic, this is not just funny, it is horribly real. Not that I have ever visited an embassy, but my wife has and she says there are many remarkable similarities. Excellent acting, wonderful script, delightful recurring comic theme such as the surveillance men listening to the bugs in the embassy, the ambassador's attempts to learn the local language using the world's craziest phrase book.
One thing is odd though, when it was first broadcast, it was all very low key, no trailers that I remember, also the BBC aren't going to commission a new series. I can't think why not, perhaps it was a bit close to the truth. Also, one wonders why it is not available until September - 'Last Tango in Halifax' for example was available pretty well immediately after the last broadcast..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD]
Ambassadors - Series 1 [DVD] by David Mitchell (DVD - 2015)
£14.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews