Customer Reviews


329 Reviews
5 star:
 (216)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Gaga ArtPop
Well it's different, it's strange and yet after many repeat plays I find it compelling listening.
Vocally i hear flashbacks to such vocals as far back as Lene Lovitch and Hazel O'Connor,(Applause).
Fashion is a pure Madonna 'Holiday' , Artpop is just the best track, Aura the second. The only track I avoid is 'Jewels and Drugs', just not my thing.
Genius or...
Published 11 months ago by james rowell

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointinglu Average
Formulaic pop lacking the originality and inspiration of previous CDs.
Lets hope Gaga returns to her previous quality for her next release, otherwise this fan will cease to be a fan.
Published 10 months ago by tam


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Gaga ArtPop, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Well it's different, it's strange and yet after many repeat plays I find it compelling listening.
Vocally i hear flashbacks to such vocals as far back as Lene Lovitch and Hazel O'Connor,(Applause).
Fashion is a pure Madonna 'Holiday' , Artpop is just the best track, Aura the second. The only track I avoid is 'Jewels and Drugs', just not my thing.
Genius or a complete loon I don't know! However it's better than most the squeaky dull pop that is around. Enjoy it, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Synth based pop music this is as good as it gets., 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
This is easily Lady Gaga's most complex and satisfying release to date, that came as a total surprise to me because like many others I considered that "Born this way" was dreadful.

Things do not start off well as the album has a messy feel that feels overtly familiar to Madonna's dreadful MDNA album. In fact, it was this belief that put me off buying this album until almost a year after release. Even then it took many listens to appreciate the hooks and the album as a whole creation.

The songs Aura and Venus are taken individually sound quirky but not particularly catchy or well written. GaGa herself claimed this was designed to be a more immature, lighter and more hedonistic album, so while this is true it does lack any meaningful substance in the song writing.

What makes this album a winner though is that is manages to take the fairly tired genre of synth driven pop music to some very interesting new places. G.U.Y has a similar synth beat to "Bad Romance" but has an oriental, exotic feel to it. Her vocals are on top form here, straddling the fine line between aggressive and bouncy without sounding harsh.

The most instantly appealing song remains the fantastic "Do what you want" with a song stealing performance from R Kelly, who is simply on superb form. Again, the synth baseline is infectious and really bounces the song along. Same goes for "Sexxx dreams" that uses a Prince style Korg synth to great effect.

I never liked lead single applause, that is simply GAGA at her self indulgent worst with droning vocals that never stimulate any interest. It is as bad as the album gets in my view, "Jewels n drugs" is perhaps the blandest song on the album but is tolerable as a welcome turn into hip hop.

Overall it is a fine album that may not have as many blockbuster singles as her earlier work, but as an album it is far more challenging and diverse in styles, if not themes, than anything she has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a grower, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
unlike the last album which i loved instantly then grew tired of, this album takes several plays to start the tracks worming their way into your head, certainly worth the time investment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make my art pop..., 9 Feb 2014
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
ARTPOP is the third studio album by American recording artist Lady Gaga, and was released in November 2013 by Streamline and Interscope Records. It debuted at number one in around ten countries, including the UK and America. It entered the top ten in some twenty other countries.

_

Gaga began planning the project way back in 2011 [shortly after the launch of her second studio album Born This Way]. The majority of the song writing and recording took place over 2012, and into 2013, after Gaga was forced to cancel her Born This Way Ball after breaking her hip. During her recovery from surgery Gaga became addicted to drugs, which helped her get relief from the pain of surgery and also to cope with her depression stemming from her forced sabbatical and other personal issues, so there is a bit of darkness in ARTPOP too.

Artpop has been described by Gaga as "a dance record that begs for soul + creativity during a passionless age. Finding passion in plastic. Putting Art into PopMusic". She has also called ARTPOP a "celebration and a poetic musical journey" and an exploration of the "reverse Warholian" phenomenon in pop culture. Apparently ARTPOP's calling card is that it displays an intentional "lack of maturity and responsibility" in comparison to her previous work.

Lady Gaga, and her long-time friend Paul "DJ White Shadow" Blair are the main writers and producers on the album. Other track producers and writers include Zedd Hugo, Leclercq, Nick Monson, Rick Rubin, Giorgio Tuinfort, Dino Zisis, Infected Mushroom, will.i.am, and David Guetta. The lyrical themes revolve around her personal views of fame, love, sex, feminism, self-empowerment, overcoming addiction, and reactions to media scrutiny.

_

I struggled to decide what rating to give ARTPOP; for me it isn't quite as strong as The Fame Monster (I class this as a separate album, rather then a expanded version of The Fame) or Born This Way, but is removing a star a bit too harsh for an album where I can say that I like 13 out of 15 tracks to verifying degrees? Plus this album does have more variation in music styles, so it does beat The Fame as far as I'm concerned, and the album sale figures show that the album is far from the flop that some like to call it.

In the end I felt as though a star had to go, for two reasons; Lady Gaga wrote and recorded ARTPOP during a period of stress and depression for her, so even the happier tracks have a heavy air hanging over them, which in turn can actually make me feel down too. The experimental button has been pressed a few too many times for my tastes. There's no major influence for me to put my finger on after the first two tracks, and nothing that outright spoils the later tracks, but there is a mysterious something that niggles me.

Oh well, I guess everyone has an off day. I still can't wait to the ARTRave in October - maybe hearing/watching the songs live will banish my niggles.

_

At the end of the day ARTPOP does have solid tracks, with both some new directions and a helping of classic 'Gaga' energy and beats. She has a good voice and is a strong song writer, so these creative extras are just unneeded all of the time as her work is very good and can stand up on it's own without all of the bells and whistles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars musical equivalent of a radox bath!, 29 Oct 2014
This review is from: ARTPOP [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Wow what a fantastic listen and experience this is! I really don't listen to this type of music much, I am more of a metal fan but I just kept hearing it out and about and now can't stop playing it. Aura kicks of the cd in an odd kind of way but crank up the volume and it takes you on a journey your not expecting what a great track the more you listen the more addictive it becomes. Other highlights are the rather odd title track art pop, best listened too with the headphones and the musical equivalent of a radox bath.... Leaves you all warm and relaxed. Lots of deep lyrics some a bit dark some just plain odd the whole thing if you take the time to get to know it really is a piece of art. I can't wait to see what crazy stuff on gaga makes next... Her best album to date it will take some beating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of art; a masterpiece of pop, 23 Aug 2014
By 
TechBajan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artpop [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
While I've always listened to Lady Gaga's tunes on the radio, I'd never felt compelled to buy any of her albums... until now.

I first heard Venus whilst listening to a streaming service and heard Applause a few times on the radio so I decided to check out some of the other songs on the album to see if they were any good. I instantly fell in love with Do What You Want, Aura and G.U.Y. The album was recently on special so I bought it. Since then, I've listened to the whole album multiples times, sometimes on repeat and love all, except Jewels N Drugs.

Overall, I can't fault this album. I think it really shows Lady Gaga is not just a musician who can make chart-topping hits but who can create art, whether it charts or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Out with the X-factor ... in with Lady Gaga, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
If you are sick and tired of listening to the same old sounds that the X-factor produces ... then this is the CD for you. It's a breath of fresh air as Lady Gaga pushes the boundaries once again to bring new music from the planet Venus. Ok some people might not get it but after seeing her live on the Born This Way tour in 2012- I certainly do. Listening to the tracks I can almost imagine her on stage for the Art Pop tour. Lady Gaga is a very visual artist, a true musician, singer and performer. Just on the second listen I'm already getting to know the songs in places - it goes from whacky to seriously good ballads. Buy it - you'll love it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for a friend, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
As this was a present for someone, we are not the ones to ask, however, deliver was good and we are informed it was very well received by the young lady we bought it for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GAGA is back to her best!, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
I feel that unfortunately after her first and second album lady gaga rushed 'born this way' with some very average songs apparent on the album but fortunately after some time out to write songs shes back to her best!

My favorite album since GAGA did The Fame, their are some great songs such as GUY, Sexxx dreams and Fashion that will have you listening to the album over and over again. An essential album to have in your collection especially for pop and gaga fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ARTPOP [Explicit], 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artpop [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
As usual a mix of the outrageous and genius good item
Like it on the whole but again some tracks let it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artpop [Explicit]
Artpop [Explicit] by Lady Gaga
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews