Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MMLP2 Review from long time Eminem Fan
Firstly, ignore the one star reviews; they're more than likely written by people who became Eminem 'fans' after hearing his 'Recovery'. I personally hated 'Recovery', what good is a recovery if he fumbles it? (Eminem's words, not mine!)Kids these days don't know what rap is. They think because they grew up listen to pop 'rap' that that's what it is. Eminem unfortunately...
Published 9 months ago by Mike

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Marshall mathers LP 2!!
Awesome album really glad I have added it to the rest of my eminens albums, looking forward to his next album if there is one. :-)
Published 2 months ago by Roger Mckendry


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MMLP2 Review from long time Eminem Fan, 9 Nov 2013
Firstly, ignore the one star reviews; they're more than likely written by people who became Eminem 'fans' after hearing his 'Recovery'. I personally hated 'Recovery', what good is a recovery if he fumbles it? (Eminem's words, not mine!)Kids these days don't know what rap is. They think because they grew up listen to pop 'rap' that that's what it is. Eminem unfortunately made Recovery very pop like and so that just cemented their opinion on it. I feel like I can give a fair review from the point of view of someone whose been an Eminem fan for many years, heard all his albums and prefer his older ones. (In order I would say: Eminem Show, MMLP1, SSLP, Relapse, Encore, Recovery.) I haven't included Infinite as it wasn't officially released on CD and isn't part of my collection, although I have heard and do listen to it at times).

Onto this album... It's definitely a relief after what was a horrible album in 'Recovery'. It's also his best album since Eminem Show. I actually find it hard to criticize this album as even the 'worst' songs on the album in my opinion are still good and fun to listen to. It's certainly a more mature Eminem who wrote this album as you will hear from some of his songs and lyrics. Also in answer to the dumb people saying 'this isn't a sequel to MMLP2', Eminem emphasized in interviews how it wasn't a 'sequel' as such, more of a revisit and you can definitely hear it. There's nostalgia everywhere. (SPOILER ALERT****) For one, the opening song is sequel to 'Stan'. One of the tracks on this album uses a modified version of Criminal from MMLP1. Also There's almost a second song of 'Kim', but written from Kim's perspective. Finally, there are a few references through his lyrics that take you back to the old days. It is very much a revisit and I think it does a successful job.

After my first few listens of this album I rated it up there as one of his very best, having let the hype wear off I'm going to say it's his fourth best album. The Eminem Show, MMLP1 and Slim Shady LP all rank higher in my opinion, but this is a fantastic album and effort from Eminem. He doesn't get nearly as much credit for it as he deserves. He's not in his prime anymore, he's 41 years old, and people still expect him to reel off albums as good as his first 3? It's a completely unrealistic thing to expect and ask for. The fact that he made this album so good is amazing as I didn't expect him to!

My personal favorite songs are Bad Guy, Legacy, Stronger than I was and Headlights (the latter being a very emotional song where Eminem forgives his mom!! One of the many things that suggest he's matured significantly over the years). Also Brainless, The Monster and Survival are all very strong songs.

Of the bonus tracks, they just get better and better every time you listen to them and the only thing I can criticize is that 'Beautiful Pain' isn't on the full album. It's such a great track and would have been up there with the best on the album if it were on there. Eminem often seems to have an amazing track or two on the bonus tracks which leaves you wondering how it didn't make the full album!!! (Love you More and We as Americans on Encore/ Careful what you wish for and My Darling on Relapse). The final song on the bonus tracks Wicked Ways is very good too, along with the opening one 'Baby'. They're all good and on my Windows Media Player I didn't rate a single song under 3 stars over the 21 song album, including the 5 bonus songs!

Also to those who have listened through it just once and written a review on it... Listen to it more times as it's definitely the kind of album where it gets better every time. Also I hate it when people review an album after one listen, especially an Eminem one as they completely miss the meaning of some songs. A lot of people might not even have noticed first time round what Bad Guy was about.

4.5/5 from me and his 3rd or 4th best album! A relief to see Eminem back to what will probably be the best he gets to from now on!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EMINEM IS THE RAP GOD, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave it a 5 star album because is such a great album all the way through. I like the 5 other extra songs you get which is on the Deluxe edition of The Marshall Mathers LP 2 This is Eminem at his best again and it is much better than his last album Recovery. If your are a big Eminem fan in my eyes I recommend you get the Deluxe edition it's so worth getting trust me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING AS EXPECTED, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Huge Eminem fan, i was ecstatic about his new album. The quality and pagiging was great arrived the next day, haven't stopped listening it! Just brilliant! if you dont have it you MUST get it! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have long been a fan of Eminem/Slim Shady/Marshall Mathers. His rhymes are eloqant, his style exuberant and the combination of his personalities come at you in the most surprising and satisfying way.

I was not won over by The Recovery album as I am of the generation that listened to his early stuff - The Marshall Mathers L and The Slim Shady LP for example.

He has a poetic flow that with the extremely clever use of language which resonates with you. If you listen carefully the lyrics are about society and his life experiences. Titles such as Rap God, Evil Twin and Ryhme or Reason are simply outstanding - in fact, scrap that there isn't a single title on the slbum that isn't outstanding. And i'm a hard man to please.

I now found myself smiling at the sheer genius of his raps on the bus to work.

Don't listen with a 'gangster' attitude as that isn't what Eminem is about. Listen to the words he speaks and hear the story. That is Eminem's greatest talent, his ability to tell stories in the most fascinating way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Em has not been this fun since 'The Eminem Show', 11 Jan 2014
Although this is called 'Marshall Matthers 2' and some songs reference and build on the songs from that album - this shares far more with 'The Eminem Show' in it's sense of playfulness and fun.

Rick Rubin (aka The Beastie Boys) was a great choice of co-producer for lightening up proceedings and the retro wackiness of 'Bezerk', 'So Far'and 'Love Game' - all pay testament to that. The 100 words in 16 seconds in 'Rap God' still blows me away and 'Monster' is a deserved hit and offers a far less dark collaboration than we got with 'The Way You Lie'.

There are a couple of tracks that don't quite meet the bar - 'So Much Better', 'Brainless', 'Stronger than I was' - but they are nothing like the awful fodder tracks on 'Encore' (namely 'Rain Man' and 'Big Weenie' that sat incongruously alongside Em classics 'Like Toy Soldiers' and 'Mosh')and let's just forget the 'Relapse' album.

If you like his darker albums like 'Recovery' and the original 'Marshall Matters', you may be a little disappointed; if you like the cocky, throwing creative caution to the wind and sheer enjoyment of making music, without such dark clouds hovering directly above, of 'The Slim Shady LP' or 'The Eminem Show' - kick back and enjoy!

Personally, I've not enjoyed Eminem this much since the latter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU UNDERSTAND EMINEM YOU WILL LOVE THIS ALBUM, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS EMINEM HAS DONE, HE IS THE BEST WHITE RAPPER WHO HAS EVER HIT THE LIME LIGHT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rap God is Born, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. Hawley "Jay Hawley" (Wakefield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
True to his word Marshall Mathers has produced yet another masterpiece. The truth is in the title of Rap God. Let all who are worthy here his talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Eminem's best albums!, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is absolutely amazing!

I really love the flow, the Lyrics, and the old 80's hip hop beats :D

You should totally BUY THE HARD COPY OF THE MMLP2 (Buy the Deluxe Edition, ITS WORTH IT)

Bad Guy (10/10)
Parking Lot Skit
Rhyme or Reason (8/10)
So Much Better (8/10)
Survival (9/10)
Legacy (10/10)
***hole (9/10)
Berzerk (10/10)
RAP GOD (15/10)
Brainless (8/10)
Stronger Than I Was (8.5/10)
The Monster (9/10)
So Far (9/10)
Love Game (10/10)
Headlights (1,000,000,/10)
Evil Twin (10/10)

Baby (8/10)
Desperation (8.5/10)
Groundhog Day (10/10)
Beautiful Pain (9/10)
Wicked Ways/Ken Kaniff Skit (10/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Amazing Albumn by Eminem, 9 Dec 2013
I don't usually leave reviews for products, but this album is so good that I felt obligated to promote it. Definitely a must buy if you like high production values, fast beats and Eminem's insane lyrical skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to Form, 9 Nov 2013
As a long term fan of Eminem, I was excited to see what direction his latest album would take. The title and the cover artwork set up listeners for a reminiscence back to his best days. The opener Baby sees him back in his classic style of delivery, while Bad Guy has excellent production and is sprinkled with references to favourite lyrics.

Other tracks feature well-arranged collaborations with female vocalists such as on Beautiful Pain (Sia), Survival and The Monster (Rihanna) and would appeal to a more mainstream audience. There are comic touches in Rhyme or Reason and he is masterful in Rap God. Berzerk is also a stand out single.

The quality of the tracks is really high, his lyrics are inventive and the delivery is clear and powerful. Only occasionally did I feel a track failed to reach the heights promised - Stronger than I Was perhaps lost a bit of momentum. The themes are reflective and mature while he still impresses by injecting realistic bile and anger into his lyrics.

Fans of Eminem who enjoyed the Slim Shady LP and Marshall Mathers will be pleased with the familiar themes and style, while newer fans can enjoy perhaps one of the greatest rappers demonstrating what he does best. This is a record tied together with great production values and memorable beats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews