Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game
My 9 year old son bought this and he loves it. It also makes a nice change to see it on the tele instead of Minecraft! It makes him consider quite sophisticated concepts like what to do if visitor numbers fall, how to keep an animal healthy, so isn't just about plonking a giraffe in an enclosure and then leaving it. It's gone down well with his friends too as it's on...
Published 1 month ago by Shellie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ZOO LIMIT. AAAAAAAAAAAAAARGHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Just getting in to the game and the ZOO LIMIT has been reached. I've unlocked a whole variety of animals and exhibits, getting all excited about the fantastic zoo i'm going to build and I've slammed up against a brick wall. Frustrating!!!
You have to sell the animals you've already bought to make room for new, different ones. Not much opportunity for variety...
Published 5 months ago by mark mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ZOO LIMIT. AAAAAAAAAAAAAARGHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just getting in to the game and the ZOO LIMIT has been reached. I've unlocked a whole variety of animals and exhibits, getting all excited about the fantastic zoo i'm going to build and I've slammed up against a brick wall. Frustrating!!!
You have to sell the animals you've already bought to make room for new, different ones. Not much opportunity for variety.
ZOO LIMIT has killed this game.
Read the reviews before buying this game. ZOO LIMIT
Half a game. Should be half the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game, but the zoo limit is very frustrating, 27 Dec 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
"Money is no object in Freeform Mode", allowing you to create a zoo without limits."

That is the description of freeform mode on the game's main menu. The description would be accurate if it wasn't for the bar at the top of the screen called the "Zoo limit" which fills up as you build, quite literally limiting the zoo you create. Unfortunately this means that you can never fill more than a small fraction of the map area provided to build a zoo in.

Once you have built a handful of exhibits, concessions, facilities and decorations you can build no more and can only replace structures or animals you have already purchased.

It seems like a silly and misleading oversight. If you can get past this then the game is actually very enjoyable its a real shame. I loved the PC version and can't help but feel slightly shortchanged by this Zoo limit. Perhaps Microsoft plan to fix it with downloadable content in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is basically the Zoo Tycoon with all the fun stuff removed, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Very Disappointing!!
This is basically the Zoo Tycoon with all the fun stuff removed. There is very little customisation left in the game and while it might still be fun and somewhat educational for kids this is not one for experienced gamers. You can't even lay your own paths they all appear automatically whenever you place an attraction so you end up with everything have 5 or 6 paths leading off in every direction, it very frustrating. Plus I managed to finish the campaign in only a few days, especially when I realised that it didn't actually matter where you placed the attraction at all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zoo limit ruins the whole game, 27 Dec 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Positives:
- Lovely graphics, such an improvement from the PC games.
- Easy to understand how to play as tutorials are really good.
- The interactions are fun.
- I like how easy it is to make enclosures now, as paths etc are made for you. Maybe this could be a negative though... as it makes the game very easy, but personally I like it.

Negatives:
- The 'zoo limit' honestly ruins the whole game and there is absolutely no need for it. I played the freeplay mode for about 30mins before I was told I couldn't build anymore... I had only built a third of my zoo! Why give you so much space if you can't build anymore exhibits, attractions or add anymore animals? It makes no sense! I was gutted when I found this out and it put me off the whole game as you can hardly build anything and limits the whole experience. The PC game never had anything as stupid as this. I would love to know WHY there is a zoo limit, as I'm very puzzled by it.
- The variety of species is verging on poor. For the main exhibits, you can only get lions, tigers, rhinos, hippos, giraffes, bears, elephants and chimps. This seems pretty limited. They have way too many subspecies for each species (e.g. white rhino, black rhino, etc) there is 9 subspecies for giraffe... really? Where are the wolves, wild dogs, crocodiles, penguins, tapir, pandas, and all the other big cats? Why include a billion subspecies of lion and tiger but no other big cats such as cheetahs and leopards? I could go on with the missing animals. So many species from the PC game aren't there. The 'mini exhibits' do have more animals such as lemurs, meerkats, lizards, etc... but these are tiny enclosures and the interaction with these animals is poor. They seem more like decoration adds on than enclosures.

Overall, the graphics are beautiful and the whole game has the potential to be great. But the zoo limit completely ruins the game and the variety of animals you can make decent enclosures for is poor. I honestly hope Microsoft do something about this, as I am not the only one who finds this 'zoo limit' ridiculous.
Would not recommend unless you want to get bored of the game in about a day. Very disappointed as this was my favourite childhood game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like zoo tycoon for the computer a complete disappointment finished ..., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Nothing like zoo tycoon for the computer a complete disappointment finished the free form game in an hour and a half there's hardly any animals no space to build hardly anything. Unlimited funds to build what little you can due to the zoo limit so there's no challenge to it can hardly customise anything within the zoo need to release loads of dlc for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My 9 year old son bought this and he loves it. It also makes a nice change to see it on the tele instead of Minecraft! It makes him consider quite sophisticated concepts like what to do if visitor numbers fall, how to keep an animal healthy, so isn't just about plonking a giraffe in an enclosure and then leaving it. It's gone down well with his friends too as it's on their Christmas list now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A simple game to pick up and play immediately, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A simple game to pick up and play immediately.

My only negative point, and it is a small one, would be that when you get a global view of your zoo and ask if your guests are happy some more information on what they are unhappy about (without going through each individual status in turn) would be great. That is only a small groan though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointingly average, 12 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It's ok, this only gets an average rating from me. Unfortunately this was a little too late on content for me and you could tell it was completely stripped back because they were planning to release more animals as paid DLC. I felt a bit cheated to be honest. Another bit downside is also that every map plays exactly the same as the last since the map is always flat and the same layout.

Basics are good and autolinking paths makes things a bit easier. The actual zoos made just feel unnatural though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not very Creative, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a good game so I don’t feel I’ve been ripped off. Just a little disappointed with the zoo limit (which only lets u build a curtain amount including decoration and animal before stopping you from continuing without releasing your animals to the wild) this makes the game very frustrating as you have a vast amount of map to continue to build on) It’s not as creative as I remember the pc version being either. However, the graphic are amazing and feeding the animals is so cute. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WELL HELLO ZOO LIMIT!, 18 Dec 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
well that's anther zoo tycoon game gone down to the drain as iv just wasted all most £50 on a game and you hardly get very much space like and how iv found out is every time i build something at the top of the screen you see a bar called Zoo limit, this is the thing that you zoo fans have to watch our for as the limit can get very full in no time so in stead of having as much control you want over your zoo,
your zoo has an limit, so if you build large items that limit meter will be full in mater of seconds so please keep an eye on that as i was planing to make every small space i had lift with stalls and trees but i could not as iv max out my zoo limit and funny how the heck are they so post to let us build our dream zoo HELLO? You cant not with the annoying limit in the way like and if you want to make sure you don't max your zoo limit my best bet is to build an small zoo and put your stuff that you really would like in your zoo and here is a tip when you release animals in the Wild that always effects your zoo limit and when they said if we release an animal in the wild they will donate some money to help WWF to do the something but if you don't then they wont help even then i know its not true on what they said and why well tha you can find out your self
other than that i love how everything turned out for the gameplay so that will be a 10/10 from me the graphics are just stunning and what i mean is how well Detailed it is so that's an 10/10 for that.

The Free Mode is the best that your going to get our of the game as you have no Money limit but you will have an zoo limit.

The Tutorial is sort of okay but it really dose not give you much help on how to play zoo tycoon even then why should you need one when everyone knows how to play zoo tycoon as this game has been on the pc for god knows how many year's like .

The Challenge Mode is fun but it can be so hard that you want to just leave and play the free Mode and what you will find hard about this is that it will give you limit money and same again as free mode limited space and very hard challenge's to try and complete

The Campaign Mode is Extremely Hard and just insane as like i told you already your just limited to everything even then you might think its easy but my god it is so hard even i try to complete an M level the Goals they give me its just insane no one can even do it so that's why like most people just stick to the freeplay mode unless you really want to go for it like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360)
Zoo Tycoon (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£37.30
In stock on December 21, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews