Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2013
A very good record, lots of prog rock references, but that's a good thing. I am pleasantly surprised that they have managed to produce a great record with out Tim Smith. Well done guys!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
It is a bit disappointing. It seems they are trying to follow the pattern that has been successful for them but is missing the key ingredient - creativity. If you are a Midlake fan I would suggest you give this one a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Great album but quality of the vinyl was dreadful. Very warped. Returned it for a replacement but it was just as bad.
Not good enough.
But Amazon dealt with the matter very well. As ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I became despondent when I heard that Tim Smith (principal songwriter and lead singer) had left Midlake. I'd hadn't cared for "The Courage of Others" to the degree that I'd loved "Van Occupanther" but had written this off as a hiccup. "Courage of Others", despite having one or two excellent tracks, seemed like a pale repeat - like they didn't know whether to stay where they were or move on musically.
"Antiphon" features a new leading voice - nothing like Tim Smith's - and this is a jolt for the first two or three songs, but by song five or six I was loving it. Some plays later and I'm still loving it - I miss the wispy harmonies but they have been replaced by something stronger, still multiple harmonies, but they've moved on. The musicianship is as wonderful as ever and given greater space, being more prominent in the mix (how many times on "Van Occupanther" did I have to boost the volume to hear some lovely bit of flute or oboe wallowing down in the mix?)
I've given "Antiphon" five stars after due consideration, as I would have given "The Trials of Van Occupanther" (if I'd bought it via Amazon); by comparison "The Courage of Others" would have been 3 or 4. Hope that helps anyone thinking about buying this recording.
Some groups survive the departure of a founding songwriter/singer/player: Pink Floyd after Syd Barrett's exit, Fleetwood Mac after Peter Green's . . hmm. maybe not such a good example. On the evidence here, Midlake will survive and probably thrive. That's an exciting prospect!
I also really look forward to Tim Smith's re-emergence. These are all 'good guys' musically.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
not the best Midlake album, but without the singer they are trying a quite different direction. It's an interesting album, maybe with too many keyboards and not many strings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
This album confirms that they are just a great bunch of musicians , brimful of ideas....and are able to articulate those ideas with great sounds ! I love it !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
this is a must for any music lover,great feel good music, just flows from start to finish..looking forward to seeing them live in july
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
If you've never heard of Midlake - try it! Beautiful melodic folky proggy chillout music. Love their previous albums too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
By far not as good as previous records from them.

See their best album : The Trials of Van Occupanther
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
We simply dont get enough from this brilliant prog folk Americana group from the Pacific NW.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)