Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read but not sure it's the full story.
Hatching Twitter is a great read, telling the story of how Twitter rose, somewhat haphazardly from Blogger and then Odeo. The story focuses on the backgrounds, personalities and infighting between the four co-founders (Noah Glass, Jack Dorsey, Biz Stone, Evan Williams) and it's a fascinating read. You're left wondering how the company was ever successful given the...
Published 6 months ago by NeilC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The author pines for a world where business doesn't involve.. erm... businesss
There's a fantastic amount of detail and depth in this story of the birth of Twitter, however the character assassination of Jack Dorsey along with the casting of the money men of the tech world (ie. the ones who make it possible) reduces the credibility of the book as a whole.
Published 7 months ago by James Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars interesting insight, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
Amazing Twitter is only 6 years old. Fascinating book.
Not sure how much it comes across as talent or luck that brought such huge success. I guess both. Right time and place is the key to success. But a lot of the time it reads as though they didn't know what they were doing...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting read, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
unexpectedly, I found it to be a gripping and exciting read. A great book which I would recommend to anyone - even those, who like me, do not have a Twitter account!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Betrayal and Power, 22 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Reston (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Paperback)
A strong tale beautifully crafted telling the back story of twitter - the depth of betrayal and backstabbing that were the formation of this innovative company. Beautifully written and captures the reader with every single word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The author pines for a world where business doesn't involve.. erm... businesss, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
There's a fantastic amount of detail and depth in this story of the birth of Twitter, however the character assassination of Jack Dorsey along with the casting of the money men of the tech world (ie. the ones who make it possible) reduces the credibility of the book as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read about an increasingly complex organisation, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
Having been a user of Twitter since 2008, I was interested to read the background to the company and understand how someone was able to create such a disruptive technology out of a seemingly simple idea.

The book tells the surprisingly tumultuous story about the inception of Twitter and the internal power struggles between the various invent... err, co-founders of the company. It takes the reader through the key characters of the company in its humble beginnings and attempts to give insight into the minds of Ev, Jack, Biz, Noah and everyone else as they adapt to the increasing maturity of the Twitter.

The Good:
- It's a great story about egos, emotions, and the birth of a disruptive technology out of a side project. It genuinely inspires budding technology entrepreneurs who think they need the killer idea up front. My favourite quote of the book is the sign hanging in their office saying "Let's make better mistakes tomorrow".
- Cameos from Mark Zuckerberg, President Medvedev and Snoop Dogg are very entertaining and give an insight into the rollercoaster early days of the company
- Nick Bilton seems to have been given great access to current and former Twitter employees, founders, board of directors etc. to be able to give such an in-depth account of movements in an organisation.

The Other:
- It's entirely a matter of personal taste, but I personally found the language to, at times, start sounding like fiction which threw me off a couple of times. The scene is set with such description that I wonder whether this is artistic license or a description given by an interviewee.

Example "It was dark outside as the rain pelted Dick Costolo's car relentlessly. He gripped the steering wheel with both hands trying to concentrate on the dark road. He was exhausted after the long flight from Indianapolis, where he had been speaking at a conference about Twitter. A few more miles, he thought, and I'll be home, out of these wet clothes"

Personally, I like non-fiction books that are detailed, but very matter-of-fact. This book has a different perspective which some people may find enjoyable.

Overall - Very enjoyable book, which I am pleased is being turned into a movie so people who may not be reading it, can still enjoy the story of Twitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lessons...., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
Lots of lessons to be had here about loyalty, trust, friendship and business alongside a good old fashioned story !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story fantastically well written, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Paperback)
Any book that begins with the CEO of a billion dollar company throwing up into a bin has my attention. The story was so compelling I found it hard to put down. It's a great insight into startups and the people who build them.

Having said that, Bilton could have talked more about the technology behind twitter, be less judgemental, and not colourify mundane scenes like ordering food at restaurants.

All in all, a great book deserving of high praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For entrepreneurs working on big ideas, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
This book is great. I recommend it for entrepreneurs who are working on big ideas. I'm a non native english speaker and the book is so easy reading that you can really understand how Twitter born and accidentally became a world success. You can understand the different steps of the growth of the company from the nerds in the Valley to the mainstream and the various political impacts on the planet.
I am a co founder of a social app and I got a brillant idea reading it .
This book gives you a quiet good big picture of the Twitter story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Purchase, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Paperback)
Book bought for present but read the start ... Yes good start to book ... good value. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews