Customer Reviews


500 Reviews
5 star:
 (271)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


231 of 257 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review - by Morrissey
Train, heave on to Euston. Awaiting the launch of my Autobiography, Penguin Books have incarcerated me in a tawdry penthouse flat at 6 Grosvenor Square. The harsh London light through the floor-to-ceiling windows peels my eyeballs, my feet wince at the coarse touch of the cashmere and angora carpet, and as I numb the pain with a third Grey Goose, my mind drifts back to...
Published 17 months ago by Rough Diamond

versus
115 of 133 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down. But for all the wrong reasons..
There is a moment in his autobiography where Morrissey complains about the disappointment of his lunches with surviving members of the New York Dolls. They aren't at all interested in him, don't want to talk about the things that fascinate him about the Dolls and are just not the people that existed in his mind; a perfect allegory for this hugely disappointing and...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 129 30 3150 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
R. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
Insightful and Typical Morrissey. Lots of grand comments and thoughts of his views and perceptions. Found it both amusing and at times a little OTT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After buying the autobiography for my husband I bought this as a 'keep sake' as it is hardbacked. Lovely edition would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I have normally been disappointed by music autobiographies (with the exception of Keith Richards) but I found this totally engrossing.
Some critics snipe that he moans/whines his way through this book but from my perspective he has a lot of reason to moan. He was treated badly by ex band members, record labels, sections of the press and most of all suffered a shocking miscarriage of justice.
If all this sounds biased then you only have to briefly research his immense popularity around the world but that still wont stop the over blown pompous music journalists in the UK with zero talent themselves from continuing to undermine his genius.
Read it and weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Moz ne quitto pas, 19 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
C'est si bon. C'est un grand sensation. Morrissey ete plus beau et faire des lyrics bon comme la confiture. Tres bien Monsieur est pas arrêt faire des pop songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the wait, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
A brilliant evocative auto biography, well written and genuinely interesting whether you're interested in Morrissey or not. A true classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab item, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
Brought this for my brothers birthday. Quick delivery item was as described good experience overall.would recommend this item to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey Is A Genius, 1 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
An absolutely beautiful book.I couldn't put it down.The Smiths court case left a sour taste in my mouth,I wont even write the Drummers name..Morrissey is a genius...God Bless Him...I wont write anymore as all the other positive reviews have said everything that I wanted to say...The people who gave it one star...I don't know what book you were reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self indulgent tripe, 26 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Moz's music and mind. But his autobiography is the most self-indulgent crap I have ever had to read. He also doesn't seem to have a lot of time for people in general, which does not help the reader. Hes done alright, what the hell is he moaning about?? I read half of the book and gave up because it was becoming so tedious. ME, ME, ME!!! 50 pages of a court case, please, I'm not interested, I want to know about the music. Easily the worse book I have ever had to read. It ruined a couple of my evenings!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
Anyone who loved the Smiths in the 80's & 90's will love this open and heart felt biography from Morrissey. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He lives for the written word, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
William D. Aitken "'Salsa' Bill" (Streatham, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A comparison of this with Keith Richards' warts-and-all autobiography I find irresistible. In both cases the narrator's total dedication to music leaps from the pages, but there the resemblance pretty much ends. Personal CV's of rock stars frequently have to do with a life abandoned to excess and teetering on ruin until, hopefully, the survival instinct kicks in. This is well illustrated by Richards' excellent 'My Life', but whereas the extent of his contribution to the actual writing of it is not known - it appears to have been at best semi-ghosted - Morrissey's lengthy confession is self-penned and his language throughout less fruity than the Stone's. Funny and caustic, it is a tale of eccentricity carried to extremes. His abstinence from drugs and pestilential ever-present groupies seems positively strange to some, and nor do erudite dissertations on poetry usually form part of a rock star's narrative.

In fact ever since the Keats/Yeats name-drop of 'Cemetery Gates' I have been intrigued as to Morrissey's literary interests . His Wildean obsession is well known, of course. Perhaps like Bowie he could provide a list of his top one hundred books. The handful of poets briefly discussed here include A.E. Houseman and John Betjeman, the former's deep pessimism contrasting with Betjeman's delight in cosy English parochialism. The rich phrase-turning of Morrissey's prose style does seem to take its cue from an immersion in poetry and there is the occasional patch of word cluster where sound rather beclouds meaning. However, this is a minor criticism and certain sections of his narrative have a genuine novelistic edge. I particularly enjoyed his gripping and disturbing account of a night drive into the heart of Saddleworth Moor and the ensuing close encounter with some unrecogniseable horror. As for his relationship with photographer Jake Walters, we get to observe it subtly through a fog of ambiguity and understatement and it remains something of a mystery.

His long opening paragraph gives an impressionistic evocation of squalid post-Victorian Manchester, a mephitic slough from which the road to fame will one day be his escape route. We catch affectionate fleeting glimpses of family and friends in a distant pre-internet age of just two TV channels when the consumption of trite pop ditties on the radio meant everything until there was a major breach in the cultural wall. Morrissey's incisive critique of the New York Dolls celebrates this sense of awakening, as does his appreciation of Patti Smith's seminal 'Horses' album. The youthful urge to play a part in it all would soon result in his initially amicable association with Johnny Marr. An honest picture is presented of two naive young freshers on the music scene in danger of signing away their careers in a world where rampant greed and dishonesty mean that security of entitlement is not guaranteed. For various reasons it was a partnership not built to last and it is ruefully noted that, far from being on the point of fading away, The Smiths broke up at the height of their powers.

Aspects of Morrissey's upbringing would find their context in song. His Irish family connections explain the Catholic curse for which, one day, he will find it in his heart of hearts to forgive Jesus. Schooldays are not fondly remembered when authority figures with an ingrained attitude of gratuitous contempt left their mark, sometimes physically. In this loveless ambiance was the contrarian nurtured, we understand. Maybe his mistrust of lonely high court judges bearing grudges dates from early days when he first learned how Oscar Wilde met his nemesis at the hands of one such be-wigged nonentity. Fast forward a century to the legal dispute with fellow band members over royalties and the resentment has a direct focus. We are, of course, not privy to any counter-argument but his persuasive delineation over 40 pages of the ins and outs of it all leads one to think he may have a point. What rings in the mind's ear is Judge John Week's oft-quoted insult beloved of a hostile media. It is the poisonous effusion of an obvious know-nothing - in his rewrite of history The Smiths never existed as a band until 1992! - and does not bear further repetition.

We are reminded of Morrissey the provocateur. His animal rights stance is too puritanical for some and he seems to regard the high-profile gangland figure as some kind of existentialist outsider. I am largely with him on the first of these but have always found the Krays with their phoney romantic aura entirely resistible. There is indeed 'so much destruction all over the world' in comparison with which their lives of crime seem petty, but it is a poor excuse. More palatable are his forthright views of Margaret Thatcher and George Bush fils; likewise his playful putdown of 'royal' Sarah Ferguson as an example of talentless pseudo-celebrity. Once his solo career got under way, though, really contentious issues arose. He was, in the exalted opinion of the New Musical Express, insufficiently PC to the point of criminality. Some years ago when on the cusp of middle age I gave up reading the rock press but well remember the NME's faux-lefty attitudinizing on the subject of Morrissey's alleged racism. While being pictured alongside the Union Jack was enough to provoke that august organ's accusations of 'flirting with fascism' no such sinister implication was ever read into the young Brit Pop faces' use of the flag in their photo-shoots. In 2007 the campaign would be tediously resumed with the publication of a doctored interview and the paper's subsequent forced apology.

The Smiths' signing to Rough Trade is the occasion of an extended gripe about that label's chief, one of the few targets of his untempered dislike. There is also a cast of characters with walk-on parts whose company he considers diverting, whether on the written page or in the life. He finds veteran actress Elaine Stritch endearingly abrasive and compares lifestyles with David Bowie. Somehow his fractious meeting with Siouxsie leads to the recording of their 'Interlude' duet and, on a more sombre note, tears are not held back for the too-soon-departed Kirsty McColl. Also there is Nancy Sinatra ('desperately generous and humble'), Elton John ('shockingly down to earth'), Julie Burchill ('not loveable') and the list goes on. There is much scope for tasty vignettes and quoteable quotes and one's attention is held throughout although the quality of the writing does flag occasionally.

His concluding pages offer snapshots of gigs in different countries where the presence of ever-younger fans is poignantly observed, and this seems to hint at the seductive facade of a business in which, as the years advance, he feels increasingly less at home. Exiled in L.A., indeed, he shows scant taste for nostalgia. With the publication of 'Autobiography' we now know a little better this morose, opinionated, cantankerous but eminently decent (and, yes, charming) man. Rumour has it that he has latterly found stability and contentment in his personal life, so who knows if his muse of melancholy will have more to say in the recording studio now that this is complete. He may be courting ridicule by insisting that his book be issued as a Penguin Classic but it would be a pity if that blinded anyone to its merits. It is a riveting read, packed with anecdote and calculated to delight and infuriate in equal measure. If there is more to come this is certainly an auspicious debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 3150 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews