Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Version to Own
I have been waiting for this film to receive a proper edition to own. Fortunately that edition has finally come. With the original soundtrack, the outstanding "More Brains! A Return to the Living Dead" documentary, and several other outstanding extras on top of a well designed Steelbook packaging, this purchase was a must for me and any fan of the series. I only...
Published 22 months ago by Mark Dohrmann

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Five star movie + One star release = Two star overall
Movie: This is a classic 80s horror gem, which has often been forgotten due to problems with the right to this movie. What makes ROTLD stand out from the rest of the mediocre horror films from its time (mid 80s) is the twinkle in the eye type attitude it brought to horror. This years before even Sam Raimi successfully did the same with Evil Dead 2. The movie is fast-paced...
Published on 14 Mar. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Version to Own, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been waiting for this film to receive a proper edition to own. Fortunately that edition has finally come. With the original soundtrack, the outstanding "More Brains! A Return to the Living Dead" documentary, and several other outstanding extras on top of a well designed Steelbook packaging, this purchase was a must for me and any fan of the series. I only hope more horror films of the era receive a similar respectful treatment in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 21 - Return of the Living Dead, 25 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD Blu-ray Review

Distributor: MGM Video (US)

"How do you kill something that's already dead?"

For some time now, The Return of the Living Dead has been on Obscura's most wanted Blu-ray list. On first hearing of this release some months ago, we were very keen to see if the wait would ultimately prove worth while. Thankfully and just for the print quality alone, it was.

Having seen the film across countless video releases and DVD releases over the years, finally seeing the HD print proved to be a real treat. The film is presented with a strong 1080p 1.85:1 widescreen transfer, which looks excellent considering the original low budgets of the movie itself. Colours are a real eye opener and look vibrant throughout, black levels appear strong and there is a definite increase on the available detail here. The transfer quality, really is a lot better than expected.

Audio is presented in DTS HD and dialogue is both clear and effective. Running through the whole film, the classic punk rock anthems are given a real boost. One point worth noting however is that the soundtrack on this Blu-ray is the same as the previous DVD release which has received some audio substitutions. These include a change to the pitch on Tarman's famous "brains" quotes and some lessening of the background music during certain scenes. Apparently these changes were director approved and although the Tarman of the 80's sounded funnier and yet more creepy than his new deeper voice suggests, this isn't enough to ruin an otherwise excellent presentation.

The extras offered on this release are ported over from the recent special edition DVD including a cast commentary track, a director commentary, a modern day making of documentary and a reasonably in depth feature about 1980's horror movies.

The only real negative in this release, is that yet again, the many deleted scenes and extensive workprint footage is nowhere to be seen. Any long term fan of the film will be aware that much alternate footage exists, including a very different ending. Instead of including a pretty much otherwise useless DVD disc with this package, it would have been preferable to have included a workprint version or at the very least, some deleted scenes on the second disc.

Still, all things considered, The Return of the Living Dead makes an impressive début on Blu-ray, the print quality here really makes a big difference over previous releases and it's safe to say that this is probably the best this film will ever look. For fans of classic 1980's zombie/horror movies, this is a must have title, and for everyone else, you could actually do a lot worse than adding this one to your collection. Be advised though, if the curse of region coding still affects your purchasing decisions, this release is locked to A.

The original fast running, brain munching, paramedic and cop calling living dead, have never appeared as intense.

Oh and "watch your tongue, boy, if you like this job!"

BLU REVIEW OBSCURA - for reviews of those less mainstream releases, find us on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can't kill something that's already dead!, 4 Nov. 2003
I enjoyed this film quite alot because of the fact that i am a b-movie
fan eg Troma movies etc.The living dead are brought back to life by 2 idiots that manage to break open a toxic barrel from the army and then havoc is caused all over the town by walking talking flesh eating zombies.This film certainly has its moments and i recommend this to any horror\b-movie fan out there.
Once you hav seen this you must see part 2 which has a silmalar
storyline but more silly.Have a watch of this film you might
like it......i did..........BRAINS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will laugh till you die!, 13 Feb. 2007
By 
My favourite Zombie movie (and I've seen a lot!!) Brilliant performances, great post-punk atmosphere and soundtrack. It has tragedy ("It hurts to be dead") comedy that will seriously have you falling on the floor laughing, and in a bizarre way it's scarier than most Zombie films. The fact that you actually care about the dumb humans gives it an edge.

Also the ultra cynical ending is perfect (who says it's not political)

Personally I can't stand CGI effects, they always look the same and nobody believes their eyes.
In this film you won't believe your eyes either but for different reasons; the sheer grotesque imagination of the film makers will stun you!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahem, more brains please!., 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Return of the Living Dead" is a terrific tongue-in-cheek 80's horror spoof that has developed a rabid and devoted cult following and with good reason. Realesed in 1985 and written directed by Dan O'Bannon who was responsible for other great flicks like Dead and Buried, Alien 1979 and Dark Star. This is the most fun you will ever have with a horror film. It refuses to take itself too seriously yet the blood flows freely and the effects, considering the cheap budget this film was on, are very well done. It brags a wonderful cast that consists of James Karen, Clu Gulager, Don Calfa, and the legendary scream queen Linnea Quigley and has a couple of hilarious quotes when one zombie uses a radio dispatch "Send more paramedics!!!". It seems that two bumbling workers at a medical supply warehouse inadvertently open up a tank that wound up at their warehouse years earlier through government error. This tank releases a toxic chemical that starts a chain reaction that is impossible to end.

Everything they do seems to make matters worse! The corpse inside the tank comes to life and when another corpse inside the warehouse comes to life panic begins to set in. It is soon discovered that these zombies, unlike those in the movies, cannot be killed with a mere blow to the brain. They also have an insatiable appetite themselves for human brains (apparently eating brains helps to stop the pain of being dead, who knew?). To make matters worse, they chop up the zombie into pieces and decide to take the pieces into a large furnace burning the reanimated remains, but end up releasing the reanimating gas into the atmosphere through the resulting smoke. A torrential thunderstorm carries the gas into the soil of the local cemetery releasing a horde of unstoppable, brain-craving zombies. We also have a group of punkish teenagers partying in a local cemetery nearby. These younger characters are most definitely a product of the times, sporting a mishmash of giant 80's hair, leather jackets with chains, and styling mohawks. Of special mention is 1980's scream queen Linnea Quigley who plays Trash, spends most of the majority of the film completely naked.

Return of the Living Dead departs from the standard Romero-Zombie mythos in several significant ways. Amongst the most noticeable to horror fans may be the ways that the zombies act and are dispatches. They run fast and seem to be much more intelligent and are much harder to kill. The Return of the Living Dead helped reset the standard for what a zombie movie could be. If it weren't for some of the miserable sequels that followed, the brand name might not have been tarnished forever, but this single film will always stand near the top of the list for cult horror fans.

First, the high definition transfer isn't exactly mind-blowing - but it's a noticeable improvement over previous DVD releases and the fuzzy VHS images that is burned into my memory. The image can be rather murky on occasion, with rare downward fluctuations in overall quality, but for the most part it's solid. Besides the movie, this thing comes with such an absurd amount of special features that it would be incongruously time consuming to go into each in minor detail but to start off the main feast we have the entire two-hour retrospective documentary More Brains: A Return to the Living Dead. The best reason to buy this Blu-ray in my opinion, packed with interviews, juicy behind the scenes info, on-set footage, storyboards, various conceptual stuff, the history of the film's entire trip to the screen and much, much more.

Not only do we have the main documentary, but we also have the special features of the documentary itself which delve into the next two sequels complete with interviews with filmmakers involved in those, deleted interviews that didn't make it into the final cut of the doc, a contemporary revisit to some of the shooting locations, and a montage of the principal actors reciting their lines in Return of the Living Dead in Three Minutes. A candid interview with director Dan O'Bannon, taken shortly before he passed away.

Other extras on the disc include a discussion of the soundtrack with music consultant Steve Pross and 45 Grave's Dinah Cancer. John Russo expands a little more on the origins of the title and story of the film, meanwhile production designer William Stout and the special effects guys involved go into further detail on the zombie designs and practical effects creation. There's easily around 5 hours of extras here, making it an essential package if you don't already have the More Brains documentary on your shelf. This is a fantastic cult classic 80's horror film that every horror fan should add to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars File Under Fun, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
Think back, if you were around, to 1985 when this movie was made. I hired it from one of those corner shop video stores a bit like Be Kind Rewind [DVD] [2007]. Proud as punch with my new video recorder, the status symbol of the day, we watched this after the pub closed. AND IT WAS GREAT. The movie seen in the clear light of day is OK but there is like a whole genre of movies that were made to be seen intoxicated with girlfriend and / or buddies. We used to giggle our way through these movies like The Breakfast Club, Mad Max and Steve Martin movies.
Although dated now these movies and the affordable technology were cutting edge. The ability to freeze frame was revolutionary! This movie, for me, cannot be seperated from those blurry weekend late nights with kissing, carry outs and curry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern zombie classic, 30 May 2006
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good twist on Romero's living dead. This time the dead are rising due to chemicals from chopped up living dead bodies being burned and their ashes combining with rain and falling onto a graveyard. Well, would you have made it that complicated?

The acting is not strong outside of Clu Gulager and James Karen, and Don Calfa plays a wonderful mortician with several clues as to a possible nazi past scattered around.

The punks are cannon fodder, only Linnea Quigley being memorable for obvious reasons. The sight of 2 of the male leads succumbing to rigor mortis is priceless.

The creatures themselves are a change from the hobbling zombies of yesteryear. Only the tar-man hobbles in his quest for "more Brains". The idea that they eat brains to take away the pain of decay is briliantly disturbing "it hurts to be dead". Add to that the classic line that has inspired at least one rock band "send more paramedics".

All in all this is a well crafted horror comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN '80's PUNK ZOMBIE MOVIE, 13 May 2011
By 
D. S. Peabody - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has always been a favorite of mine, but I hadn't bothered to get it on DVD until just recently - my tape finally wore out. Reading some of the reviews, I discovered that the soundtrack has been tinkered with over the years because of copyright restrictions and so forth, but that the Tartan 2001 release had the original. So, I clicked over to amazon.uk (I live in the U.S.) and bought a copy. Sure, it's 4x3 and doesn't have a lot of extras, but the idea of watching it with the music (and it's some great music) all messed up really irritated me. I'm glad to say everything is where it should be. A good, funny, disgusting little movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars . . .almost as good as the evil dead bunch, 13 Dec. 2002
Been missing my video copy of this for nearly a year now so I'm glad to find it being released on DVD.
This is classic over-the-top gore/ black comedy/ horror, very much in the vein of Evil Dead 2.
The story is about a group of friends which gets smaller and smaller as the film progresses as is traditional in the 'schoolies go off to the log cabin for the weekend' type of horror films. Here, the first character has just got a new job at a medical supply warehouse. His new boss is giving him the guided tour, trying to spook him with ghost stories etc - gas used by the government went bad, remains of a test subject in a barrel downstairs, that sort of thing. Anyway the barrel is accidently cracked open and the gas escapes- as do the remains of the unfortunate trapped within. This gas then starts making the dead rise from their grave and its all hell on earth from there.
This is all fairly preposterous stuff but its meant that way. Theres not so much suspension of disbelief (ahem. zombie film...) as setting the stage for whats to come. The 80's seemed to spew these type of films out but apart from the Evil Dead bunch, the Romero classics and this they all seem to have disappeared (thank god!). But the cast do well to realise their characters with what they're given and they ARE characters, not the typical 80's almost-jock with a checked shirt and body warmer, looking either terrified ,angry or confused all through the film.
Director Dan O'Bannon (Lifeforce amongst others) has learned from his earlier releases and has gone straight for the comedy jugular with this one. Although the humour is never too in your face, the almost slapstick duo of the boss and his employee is hilarious as they complain of sickness and extreme pain due to the gas they were directly exposed to takes hold of them (I guess they become unalive rather than undead, but the eventual effect is much the same!). Nor do they shrink for the horror aspect. These zombies don't just shuffle and mumble, they want to eat your brains! And once the ambulance crew have been polished off as an appetiser, one blood soaked zombie gets hold of the radio as it requests a report and says simply '...send more paramedics' as though ordering the next round of drinks (to mix my metaphors).
Great B movie fun, silly plot, this has energy and pace to it as well, unlike most 'zombie' flicks, and the nearest we get to romance is the last words of the boyfriend who calls to his hiding girlfriend ' if you really loved me you'd let me EAT YOUR BRAIN!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1 favourite in horror comedy, 5 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My No. 1 favourite in horror comedy, this is it. This is my most favourite of all time. The music score, the effects, the actors, the scene setting, the location. The use of a great directed cast. Tells the story of a zombie out break because of 2 buffoons let's a chemical loose in the basement, that keeps the corps from rotting, in a controlled sealed drum container. The 2 warehouse men break the seal and releases, a gas chemical contained in the drum. The chemical 2-4-5 Trioxin, the corps within is re-animated. This is just the beginning of the best movie Horror comedy, I've ever scene.

My mother bought this on vhs at the time of its release on vestron video international costing £13.99. When I became of age and watched it, I couldn't resist buying my own copy. As well as owning my mother's original in the dark brown vhs case. Which I still have to this day.

I was ecstatic when I herd it was coming on dvd. I bought it straight away, and loved it, a digital version. I was over joyed. I was practically wetting my self, when I herd of the 2 disc special edition. All it's extras in one disc just make this, the best buy of a dvd. Worth every damn penny. So i bought the 2 disc special edition as well.

I later saw that a blu-ray version was out so I bought that as well.

No mistake this movie must be in your collection, regardless of your taste of movie choice, even just for the extras.

Thankyou Dan O'bannon for a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Return of the Living Dead [Blu-ray]
The Return of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] by Dan O'Bannon (Blu-ray - 2013)
£16.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews