Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh So Sweet!, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book deserves 4.5 stars (Amazon, can you not allow us to give halves?).

After her father's death, Celestine, a gentle-born woman has to find a means of supporting herself. She refuses to accept help from her aunt Lady Emily. Celestine now works for the Langlow family as a governess. She is plain but has fine gray eyes.

St. Clair is the brother of the Marquess of Langlow. St. Clair is a rake, flirt and has no intention of marriage since he is only 3rd in line to his brother's title. He has a habit of seducing the Langlows' governesses (albeit not sexually).

The beauty of the story is the journey that St. Clair takes in realising what love means. From being a rather superficial character, he becomes aware of what love is and entails - and the best part is that he also realises that Celestine is the one who manages to bring this depth of feeling and character from him.

Celestine is not a timid person but is very concerned that she may lose this post because of St. Clair's flirtations. (As usual, the aristocrat or gentleman will never be at fault for any liaisons.) We are shown clearly that a person, though gentle-born, once takes the step towards a paid-position, becomes more of a servant. She cannot claim gentility, and yet, she cannot fit in with the household servants, since she is higher-born than them. And it is not accepted to raise her sights in marriage to an aristocrat. She has her internal battles to accept or disclaim this love.

The author takes us in this journey of love between St. Clair and Celestine. The supporting characters are also well developed. I would have liked the characters of Lady Emily, Elizabeth and Gwen to be better explained, though. It gives me hope for Lady Emily and Baxter and that could be another book!

I loved this book. I loved the characters. I love the journey it takes me on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the story of a plain governess and a handsome rake who is determined to flirt with her and steal a kiss in order to vex his rather shrewish and spiteful sister-in-law. She has decided that it is time that he should marry, and to that end has invited certain ladies and their daughters for Christmas, imagining that this will cure his rakehell ways. He suddenly realises that the plain exterior covers a jewel of an interior, and plain is not so plain after all. Little by little, he acknowledges that his life of dalliance and self gratification is actually rather empty and he has finally found what has been missing for so many years. Of course, nothing is ever simple and problems beset both of them but of course, these are ironed out in the end. The insight into the feelings of both of them is written with clarity and sensitivity, and his declaration of love was so incredibly beautiful that it had me in tears. This is Regency Romance at its best, and I shall certainly be looking for more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, loved it!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well written and gripping... you felt the inner pain of the heroine and the deepening appreciation, desire, passion and finally love of the hero for her.

Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Los St.Claire Angel ( classic Regency Romances) by Donna Lea Simpson.i, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I rely enjoyed. The Story here's hoping I will find more of the same to read as its my kind of story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hope to watch a film version made of it, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The author defienietly must have read Jane Eyre and love it, because the story in its core is an other alteration of Jane Eyre. However the hero here is a total womanizer ,absolutely thoughtless, selfish, self- centered, shallow scoundrel. There is nothing likeable about him. But then I belive it was the author's goal to lead us through the way: how this superficial , haughty aristocrat's personality alters a 360 degree change because of a plain, ,arthritic 28 years old governess. The author wanted to emphasize and aggravate his bad qualitis in order to suggest , really how significantly and deeply changed his view of world, values, people and character because he fell devastatingly and unexpectedly in love for Miss Celestine Simons. Yes, I would have left him suffer longer, and the end , after returning to Langlow, found a little cheesy, there were repetitions which sometimes annoyed me, thus the 4 star.
But on the whole, i did love this book. and the way how degree by degree, there love for each other was built up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars was up all night to get to the end!, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
good story good characters it was nice that the bit part people had actual personalities, some of them were a little bit contrived and 2d and the hero had so many changes of heart that I couldnt quite keep track of his motivation at any point. Its good to have some flaws in characters though and i loved it even if its a bit "Shes all That."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Read, 5 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book that I had read from this author. I was not disappointed, I could imagine the characters in my head and was wishing for a romantic finale. Could be a film in the making!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looked good, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Yes I enjoyed it, it was good, it's nice to read a book that someone falls in love with a person not for the way they look but as they get to know her they see her beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord St. Claire's Angel (Lords and Ladies Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews