Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good small form factor USB Flash Drive.
Pros:
• The small form factor and color are very attractive
• It's extremely light.
• Data transfer is very fast thanks to the USB 3.0.

Cons:
• Could do with a dust cap.
• Doesn't go into ports smoothly. Feels like it's scraping.
• Doesn't really fit onto keyrings too great. Feels a bit tight.
Published 1 month ago by Seb Marsh

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worthy of USB 3 status
This key was a real disappointment, the build is great, its very light and slim but the transfer speeds are awful for USB3 and not really any different to USB 2. I was getting about 11mbs write speed compared to my 5 years old USB2 key which does about 9-10. You'd be much better off getting a different key that actually is worthy of being labelled USB3.
Published 7 months ago by W. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worthy of USB 3 status, 7 Mar 2014
By 
W. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This key was a real disappointment, the build is great, its very light and slim but the transfer speeds are awful for USB3 and not really any different to USB 2. I was getting about 11mbs write speed compared to my 5 years old USB2 key which does about 9-10. You'd be much better off getting a different key that actually is worthy of being labelled USB3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, good design but not as fast as my might expect, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston 32GB USB 3.0 DataTraveler Mini Flash Drive - Cyan (Personal Computers)
I was initially drawn in by the low price and design of this product. Upon receiving it in the post today, it appears to be fairly solid, very small outline and aluminium construction. The speeds however, were a little disappointing.

One of the first things I did was to benchmark it and the sequential read and write speeds are fairly decent, I got 110MB/s and 18MB/s respectively. However, when you get to the 4k random read and write, the speeds aren't so good. Read speeds are a passable 4MB/s but the write speeds are a disappointing 7KB/s. If you're transferring a lot of small data files then it's really going to slow you down. I tried some test data next and it took just over 13 minutes to transfer about 2.2GB of various documents, programs and text files, however, transferring a single 1GB video file on its own took less than a minute.

Compared to my USB2 memory sticks and it is actually faster on everything except the 4K write, but still not exactly USB3 fast. I did try various formatting options (FAT32, exFAT, and NTFS) but they didn't have much effect on the speeds tested. FAT32 performed the best out of any and as a software developer who will need to use it on more than just windows machines it's the only real option for me.

Bottom line is, if you're considering getting this memory stick for everyday data storage expecting higher speeds, give it a miss and get a slightly more expensive higher spec device. If you're going to mainly be using it for transferring large files (movies and photos etc) then it possibly will be faster than USB2, and you're considering getting it for the low price it's probably worth it as it's comparable to a fairly high-end USB2 device (and cheaper).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars USB3?, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You read USB3 and think, well that must be quick, without giving it much other thought. But this drive is slow, very slow.. I have a 32GB DT Ultimate that is about 8-9x faster at writing files.

If you don't want to wait well over an hour to write just half its capacity buy another drive. If you don't mind the wait and want something cheap then look no further.

I'm disappointed though, read the speeds, dont just assume USB3 = fast...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but SLOWER THAN USB 2.0!!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yest this flash drive is reasonably priced at £25, and it's read speeds are quite fast and an improvement on USB 2.0 devices.

However, it's write speeds are REALLY SLOW!!! It takes MUCH LONGER to write a file to this solid state "USB 3.0" stick than it does to write it to my 3 year old USB 2.0 Samsung HDD.

If you want to take advantage of the speeds USB 3.0 has to offer, pay twice as much and get a stick with closer to 100mb/s write speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead on arrival, 26 Feb 2014
By 
A. N. Lalwani (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Also, the build quality leaves much to be desired - very thin and feels more like plastic than metal. This series is to be avoided, even if it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small, stylish and surprisingly slow, 24 April 2014
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This drive is a candidate to replace the 8GB PNY Attache flash drive I've been using for about five years now. That has been reliable and, despite using USB 2.0, reasonably quick. However I now have a laptop that can do USB 3.0, so I thought I'd take a shot at this Kingston. Unfortunately it turns out that it's only about twice as fast as my old USB 2.0 drive, whether synchronising whole folders or dragging single, enormous files. An improvement, for sure, but far short of what USB 3.0 is supposed to be capable of. It's not really worth paying a price premium if you can get a USB 2.0 drive that's faster or cheaper. If you're after a budget flash drive and like the look of this for the price, you could do worse.

As far as details go, it's got a nice-looking anodised metal body, but the coating scratches quite easily. As the body of the drive is its own USB plug, the front half gets really badly scraped after being plugged in just a handful of times. The grey plastic rear part with the keyring loop is both too small to fit a reasonably-sized keyring and kind of bulky compared to the rest of the drive. That end isn't particularly durable either, and is wiggling a little after a few weeks.

A final point: if you have trouble with it showing up as a USB 3.0 drive, make sure it's plugged in all the way. Due to the design of USB 3.0 plugs and sockets, if they're not pushed home all the way they'll still work, but as a USB 2.0 device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the fastest of 3.0 USB flash drives, but for the price, you can't complain!, 5 Sep 2014
By 
S. Douglas (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not the fastest of USB 3.0 flash drives, but does the job. I just needed a USB stick that I could attach to my keys to back up all my work files from my laptop. It has two 3.0 ports, so thought it would be quite fast. I have two other 3.0 flash drives (32gb & 64gb) that are much faster.

Ultimately this is being used for backing up my work at the end of every week. I've had it for a couple of days so will update this in 3 months time.

For the price, it's worth it for using at a back-up source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kingston Mini flash drive, 21 July 2014
By 
chris0175 (Salerno (SA)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compact pendrive suitable for use with notebooks, but write speed is a very low for an usb 3.0 drive.
For best performance you have to spend a little more.
I recommend the Lexar s73 that always works on usb 3.0 but is much faster, on my computer with usb 2.0 port the writing speed are 18-20 mb / s.
Fast dispatch and good amazon service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good small form factor USB Flash Drive., 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pros:
• The small form factor and color are very attractive
• It's extremely light.
• Data transfer is very fast thanks to the USB 3.0.

Cons:
• Could do with a dust cap.
• Doesn't go into ports smoothly. Feels like it's scraping.
• Doesn't really fit onto keyrings too great. Feels a bit tight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast little drive., 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston 32GB USB 3.0 DataTraveler Mini Flash Drive - Cyan (Personal Computers)
Good 32GB memory stick. I can run Thunderbird Portable off of it without lag unlike when I run it on a USB 2.0 memory stick.
I had a reported read speed from crystalMark of 142MB/s.

This thing is small. You have to be careful not to lose it.

Case is very light aluminium by the looks of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews