Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last...
This boxset contains original EP and LP soundtrack albums released during Elvis' (scripted) movie career and, apart from the absence of the 'Love Me Tender' and 'Easy Come, Easy Go' EP's, I would say it's pretty definitive. The sound quality on each CD is excellent with the remasters taken from the lavish (and in some ways exclusive) 'Complete Elvis Presley Masters'...
Published 11 months ago by GARY HIBBS

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute error-prone re-release of some of out of print soundtracks on CD!
The absence of some songs that are on individual covers is still to get over , because these songs did not occur in the movies. Not to get over it , the lack of individual titles were actually presented in the films of Elvis and his partners is ! My review is to deal with all the errors that were made in this compilation to the smallest detail , with title and cover...
Published 8 months ago by Sven Förster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
This boxset contains original EP and LP soundtrack albums released during Elvis' (scripted) movie career and, apart from the absence of the 'Love Me Tender' and 'Easy Come, Easy Go' EP's, I would say it's pretty definitive. The sound quality on each CD is excellent with the remasters taken from the lavish (and in some ways exclusive) 'Complete Elvis Presley Masters' boxset released in 2010 and features the original album mixes and album sequencing (three albums of which have never been released in that manner since their original vinyl counterparts!) Only one track 'Blue River' on the 'Double Trouble' CD falls below par with a strange distortion on the left hand channel.
As for performance and quality of music, well I'm afraid that's really for the individual to decide, starting from disc 1 to disc 20 there is a noticeable decline in quality songs long before the halfway mark and many of these albums are not really what made Elvis great. However, there's still a few gems to be discovered for the uninitiated and as for an avid like myself, well, I've waited a long time to be able to play a handful of these albums in their original sequence and it's nice to finally listen to them that way again.
The box itself is sturdy and each disc is housed in a mini card facsimile of (mostly) the original artwork, it also comes complete with a booklet containing an essay on Elvis celluloid career, a synopsis of each movie included in the box and album tracklistings with accompanying credits for each disc. There are one or two errors on the tracklistings on the CD covers that in some cases depict a lot more tracks than are actually on the CD, so it's best to stick with the booklet, though even that has one track 'A Whistling Tune' from the 'Follow That Dream' soundtrack that doesn't appear on the CD. (It wasn't included in the movie anyway, so I'll give 'em that!)
Overall, despite a few small niggling errors, I'll give it 5 stars - for presentation, sound quality and the fact that 'Kissin Cousins', 'Double Trouble' and 'Speedway' finally have their CD debut as complete albums as originally intended.
Now where was I? Oh yes... 'Rock-a-hula, rock, rock -a-hula...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Fantastic box set for the money, great films Speedway, Girl Happy, Loving You,Jailhouse Rock, Clambake, Blue Hawaii, I would recommend to any Elvis Fan who wants movie collection at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - why no autorip or mp3 version for Amazon Cloud player, 1 Feb 2014
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Fantastic collection - all soundtracks in one place. But, and it's a big but why can't this be available via Autorip or mp3 download. This is a major disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 2 Feb 2014
By 
happy mama (north yorkshure) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
It was an excellent buy my son is a huge fan of Elvis and this didn't disappoint he has always wanted all film soundtracks with good sound quality and he is very pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Elvis Film Soundtrack, 31 Jan 2014
By 
B. A. Woolhouse (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Purchased for my better half's 50th birthday who loves it, never stops playing the CDS and is totally overwhelmed by the package. A perfect gift for an ELVIS fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS ...KING OF THE SOUNDTRACKS, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Wow This Is A Fantastic Box Set That Compliments THE 20 ORIGINAL ALBUMS Box Set Perfectly ,
Although Some Of The Movies Were Quite Poor, There Are Still Some Great Songs In The Films,
I Am Really Delighted With This Set , I Have Seen All Of The Movies Of Course Some Were Fantastic
And Some Really Are Awful , There Are Of Course Another Eight Movies That Are Not Included
In This Set That Has A Total Of 36 Tracks On Them, Could Have Easily Been Added To This Set
To Make It Up To The Complete Movie Soundtracks.
I Am Sure There Are Some New Elvis Fans Who Have Not Heard Some Of The Tracks Before
i.e; DOMINIC ( from stay away joe 1968) , ALMOST, VIOLET, SIGNS OF THE ZODIAC (from ,the trouble with girls 1969)
Which I Think That All Elvis New Fans Would Love To Hear And Could Have Made It Onto This Fantastic Set.
But Apart From That, This Is A Truly Brilliant Item To Have And I Very Pleased To Have Bought It....And You Will Be To.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant box set!, 20 Mar 2014
By 
D. P. Samuel "kempo" (wales,uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
As a huge Elvis Presley fan I just had to order this box set as I had the previous 20 CD box set(20 original albums box set)I received this new box set with excitement and opened it and wasn't disappointed one bit!!-their are albums here NOT released on CD previously making this box set fairly unique..all in all a must have for serious Elvis fans.(I have seen this box set sell for £50 in the elvis fan clubs,so I would advise you to order this box set only from amazon as amazon are the cheapest)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great addition.a real, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
when we were kids about 1962/63 these films were the only way we could see elvis,so to us they were great.they were normally slagged off,but elvis didn,t pretend to be a film star,he just sang on these mostly lighthearted film scores,which was at the time,fun,say.Critics might now pour scorn etc on these,but listen to these songs,and some of elvis,s great ballads are here. IF you are an elvis fan,you won,t go far wrong with this box set a real bargain,and all in one box,enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value set, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (SWINDON, WILTSHIRE, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
great box set good value and also great sound .the biggest mistake on this box set is the double trouble cd case on the flip side has got the back of the follow that dream release stating original album plus unreleased takes but still good set j.lansley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific set, 11 Feb 2014
By 
O. B. Tryggvason (Gardabaer Iceland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Really good box set. For years I've been collecting bits and pieces of Elvis's soundtrack recordings and so far this is the most comprehensive collection. I had quite a bit of this already but what I didn't have amounted to more than half of the 20 cd's included so this was a no-brainer.

As most Elvis fans know; his movies declined dramatically in quality as the years progressed but that didn't neccessarily mean that the songs were all poor. There are quite a few gems scattered about here and even some albums as a whole that aren't too shabby at all. Particularly enjoyable here is that "Clambake" (an all around very solid soundtrack), "Double Trouble", "Spinout" and "Speedway" are as originally released and I can't remember having ever seen them sold individually. Another great bonus here is that we get all the original artwork as well (well mostly; I doubt that "Loving You" and "Double Trouble" looked like that from the get go) and that's a treat for collectors.

There's always room for nitpicking if one wants to take that route; here it's mostly that I would have loved to have the rest compiled like the "Kid Galahad/Follow That Dream/Flaming Star cd here; there are quite a few soundtrack recordings not here but I think they were never released as an EP even to begin with. For instance; "Stay Away, Joe" had a few tracks but never got an EP release but one track ("Goin' Home") from that film pops up as a bonus song on "Speedway".

To sum up; what's here is great; it sounds great; it looks great and there's even an informative booklet included (and in fact quite neccessary as some tracklistings aren't as they appear on the vinyl replica sleeves).

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks
Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews