Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last...
This boxset contains original EP and LP soundtrack albums released during Elvis' (scripted) movie career and, apart from the absence of the 'Love Me Tender' and 'Easy Come, Easy Go' EP's, I would say it's pretty definitive. The sound quality on each CD is excellent with the remasters taken from the lavish (and in some ways exclusive) 'Complete Elvis Presley Masters'...
Published 3 months ago by GARY HIBBS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good value for money set
I lost interest in Elvis around 1970,so this set is fine for me as it coverds til about 1967 in his movie soundtracks.Each album is very short,so they could have reduced it to 10 discs putting 2 on 1,but this is a minor niggle.The crass cuteness of "Daddy Big Boots" from the G.I. blues album even manages to out-cringe the over the top sloppy sentimentality of 'Old...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. D. I. Longstaff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
This boxset contains original EP and LP soundtrack albums released during Elvis' (scripted) movie career and, apart from the absence of the 'Love Me Tender' and 'Easy Come, Easy Go' EP's, I would say it's pretty definitive. The sound quality on each CD is excellent with the remasters taken from the lavish (and in some ways exclusive) 'Complete Elvis Presley Masters' boxset released in 2010 and features the original album mixes and album sequencing (three albums of which have never been released in that manner since their original vinyl counterparts!) Only one track 'Blue River' on the 'Double Trouble' CD falls below par with a strange distortion on the left hand channel.
As for performance and quality of music, well I'm afraid that's really for the individual to decide, starting from disc 1 to disc 20 there is a noticeable decline in quality songs long before the halfway mark and many of these albums are not really what made Elvis great. However, there's still a few gems to be discovered for the uninitiated and as for an avid like myself, well, I've waited a long time to be able to play a handful of these albums in their original sequence and it's nice to finally listen to them that way again.
The box itself is sturdy and each disc is housed in a mini card facsimile of (mostly) the original artwork, it also comes complete with a booklet containing an essay on Elvis celluloid career, a synopsis of each movie included in the box and album tracklistings with accompanying credits for each disc. There are one or two errors on the tracklistings on the CD covers that in some cases depict a lot more tracks than are actually on the CD, so it's best to stick with the booklet, though even that has one track 'A Whistling Tune' from the 'Follow That Dream' soundtrack that doesn't appear on the CD. (It wasn't included in the movie anyway, so I'll give 'em that!)
Overall, despite a few small niggling errors, I'll give it 5 stars - for presentation, sound quality and the fact that 'Kissin Cousins', 'Double Trouble' and 'Speedway' finally have their CD debut as complete albums as originally intended.
Now where was I? Oh yes... 'Rock-a-hula, rock, rock -a-hula...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Fantastic box set for the money, great films Speedway, Girl Happy, Loving You,Jailhouse Rock, Clambake, Blue Hawaii, I would recommend to any Elvis Fan who wants movie collection at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - why no autorip or mp3 version for Amazon Cloud player, 1 Feb 2014
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Fantastic collection - all soundtracks in one place. But, and it's a big but why can't this be available via Autorip or mp3 download. This is a major disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good value for money set, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
I lost interest in Elvis around 1970,so this set is fine for me as it coverds til about 1967 in his movie soundtracks.Each album is very short,so they could have reduced it to 10 discs putting 2 on 1,but this is a minor niggle.The crass cuteness of "Daddy Big Boots" from the G.I. blues album even manages to out-cringe the over the top sloppy sentimentality of 'Old Shep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 2 Feb 2014
By 
happy mama (north yorkshure) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
It was an excellent buy my son is a huge fan of Elvis and this didn't disappoint he has always wanted all film soundtracks with good sound quality and he is very pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Elvis Film Soundtrack, 31 Jan 2014
By 
B. A. Woolhouse (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Purchased for my better half's 50th birthday who loves it, never stops playing the CDS and is totally overwhelmed by the package. A perfect gift for an ELVIS fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but pretty good, 29 Jan 2014
By 
A. J. Wallis "Adrian" (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
I don't think Elvis had any perfect soundtrack albums as there are a lot of filler tracks on some of them.
This box though is great value for money and I would recommend it to anyone with any interest in Elvis and his movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and pleasure., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
Brilliant and pleasure. The friend asked to buy me. I bought also to it. Pleasure and pleasure. Magnificent packing. Now costs and decorates a bookcase. Inside disks in very high-quality packings - packages.I if could. I gave to this edition of 10 stars. Twenty disks. Rich edition. Buy only on Amazon. They guarantee 100%-e quality and a guarantee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE SOUNDTRACK COLLECTION!!!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
one of the best cd collection ever releases by RCA-SONY...all ELVIS movie soundtracks presented in one nice box...great buy for any serious fan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellant box set!, 20 Mar 2014
By 
D. P. Samuel "kempo" (wales,uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks (Audio CD)
As a huge Elvis Presley fan I just had to order this box set as I had the previous 20 CD box set(20 original albums box set)I received this new box set with excitement and opened it and wasn't disappointed one bit!!-their are albums here NOT released on CD previously making this box set fairly unique..all in all a must have for serious Elvis fans.(I have seen this box set sell for 50 in the elvis fan clubs,so I would advise you to order this box set only from amazon as amazon are the cheapest)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks
Elvis Presley- The Perfect Elvis Soundtracks by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews