Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait
Read Chickenhawk about 30 ago and it leaves you wondering what happened next.

I first found out about this book about 10 years ago and it was only available on import the cost of which was crazy, i’ve been searching for a copy on and off since then, finally got the ebook version.

What i enjoyed was the book starting after the tour finished and...
Published 12 months ago by Ian Ericson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Pretty amazing if somewhat self-serving story. Narrative style is obviously akin to Chickenhawk though so he keeps you reading!
Published 5 months ago by The Com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
Read Chickenhawk about 30 ago and it leaves you wondering what happened next.

I first found out about this book about 10 years ago and it was only available on import the cost of which was crazy, i’ve been searching for a copy on and off since then, finally got the ebook version.

What i enjoyed was the book starting after the tour finished and not straight after the first, allowing you to follow the (few) ups and many downs along the way through to the incarceration and initial book deal.

How this marriage didn’t break? I guess i need to get Patience book to find out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Chicken hawk but a great read none the less, 8 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
I loved Chicken Hawk and reading this book was like watching a train crash about to happen. I had to buy this book from America originally but am now delighted to see it on kindle.If you only buy this book to complete the journey of Robert Mason, it is worth buying. I won't do a spoiler alert about what happens to Robert and will leave it to you to but the book in order to discover it for yourself but none the less, I highly recommend it. Great read and well drafted story, not quite chicken hawk, but well worth it anyway, you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who read Chickenhawk may have experienced the same sensation of disbelief as you read the last bits detailing the authors impending jail sentence. You wanted to know, there and then, how Bob was going to fare. Well now you can find out everything. Experience the full frustrations as Bob describes false starts and failures. Enjoy this book. It has a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mutual interests, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
After reading Chickenhawk, I was intrigued to learn how Mason would cope post conflict. It seems that conflict never went away and he fights it to this day. Now in Britain, steps are in place to aid & assist those effected by their experiences. I'm sure there are procedures in place in the States for Vets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like all of the other reviewers I loved Chickenhawk and ..., 25 Mar. 2015
By 
JW Anderson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
Like all of the other reviewers I loved Chickenhawk and tried for years to get hold of the second part. I was lucky enough to get a used (but still expensive) copy imported from the USA. It is completely different from Chickenhawk as one would expect but still an interesting story - the inevitable impending trainwreck as another reviewer so perfectly called it gives the reader mixed feelings with the realisation that it could happen to anyone. Not Chickenhawk but an excellent book in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving real account of a Vietnam veteran's return into society., 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
With the same passion and heartfelt honesty Bob Mason opens up about what his experiences were when he returned after his much publicised account Chickenhawk. You read that book and think 'wow, all-American hero gets big hoorah when he gets home!' Not the case. He hit rock bottom and his account was his saviour. This gives that account, and being written in the same vain as Chickenhawk I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brave story, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
Mr Mason's story is, I am sure, similar to many other Vietnam Veterans and it is brilliantly told and heartfelt.
Well done Sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An honest and un-stinting ride through chronic depression, PTSD ..., 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
An honest and un-stinting ride through chronic depression, PTSD and all that goes with it. NOT a heavy read by any means though, Mason's humour and talent for straight, understated comment make this another eminently readable tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerizing, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
Ive been looking forward to reading this book for a long time and it was well worth th wait!!!

The only complaint i have is the lack of sleep due to not being able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chickenhawk and its sequel are a companion pair of gripping page-turners, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenhawk: Back in the World - Life After Vietnam (Kindle Edition)
read the first book and was blown away by the incredible human drama and bravery. This is a similarly gripping read, and with a much deserved happy ending for Bob and his family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews