Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
This book tells you what happened to half- tail after the big cat diary finished the photos are great. It will make you want to see and read about the tv series.
Published 2 months ago by Susan Bailey

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Leopard's Tale
For anyone interested in the minutiae of day-to-day life for animals in the Serengeti this book will provide a good introduction. The author follows the life of a female leopard who gave birth to two cubs. He was able to follow the mother and cubs for over a year and monitor the growth of the cubs and the various escapades and adventures they had. The information in the...
Published on 18 May 2012 by Chris Furley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 Jun 2014
This book tells you what happened to half- tail after the big cat diary finished the photos are great. It will make you want to see and read about the tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. Photos fantastic and definitely one for anyone who loves reading about these beautiful creatures. Heartbreaking as well to know not all survive as we would love them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife says that it is ecellent and I am looking forward to catching up with half tail and Zawadi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great complement to the original edition, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This new edition of "The Leopard's Tale" provides an exciting update about the lives and adventures of the leopards of the Masai Mara in Kenya, originally told by Jonathan Scott in his 1985 volume. The new edition includes all the original text plus new introductory notes (and a preface by Simon King) and two wonderful epilogues that tie the original stories to the present day situation of the Mara's leopards. Most of the pictures that illustrated the original edition are not included. Instead, two colour inserts provide a collection of excellent photos summarising the history of Mara leopards from the early 1980s to this day. I strongly recommend to buy this book but also to look for a copy of the original edition. The new edition is in pocket book format which makes it so convenient for taking it with you on your next trip to Africa, but the old one is more of a coffee-table volume, and certainly worth treasuring. All in all, the passion of the Scotts for the bitg cats of Africa shines through the book and makes you see these felines as real-life characters with very individual lives, Never indulging in anthopomorphism but neither detracting from the intensity and depth of their lives. A true joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you would expect from Jonathan & Angie Scott, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. S. P. Daly "Steve" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love Big Cat Diary, African wildlife or just wildlife in general then you will love this book. Jonathan and Angie are well known through their photography and of course through the BBC's Big Cat Diary where Jonathan has been following the Leopards since the inception of the programme. This delightful book describes the life of the Mara Leopards and gives an insight into the filming of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I collect books by Jonathan Scott, 27 Dec 2012
By 
J. E. Hamilton-bird "BIRDSEYEVIEWPHOTOS" (Kimbolton Cambridgeshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book sits on my desk as a source of inspiration My first book by him and Brian Jackman " The Marsh Lions " is an amazing detailed study of a famous area in the Mara in Kenya probably the best reserve in Kenya don't leave without reading both books and taking the later with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Leopard's Tale, 18 May 2012
For anyone interested in the minutiae of day-to-day life for animals in the Serengeti this book will provide a good introduction. The author follows the life of a female leopard who gave birth to two cubs. He was able to follow the mother and cubs for over a year and monitor the growth of the cubs and the various escapades and adventures they had. The information in the book is delivered in a rather stilted style however and I found my attention wandering at times. The photographs are excellent and many of them illustrate some of the events described in the text. A good read and a useful immersion into the African wild but more informative entertainment for the reader than a scientific narration. I learned something about African leopards but not as much as I learned about Indian leopards from Billy Singh's book Prince of Cats. Having worked with leopards and other big cats for many years myself I found the book has a place on my bookshelf but not amongst the key literature of the African wild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews