Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flawless and exciting version of Anne's life
I'm so excited by this book, it's difficult to know where to start.
The Kiss of the Concubine is written in the first person, present tense - two things I normally consider a 'turn off' - and yet the author handles the narration so skillfully that it becomes natural voice of the novel. The reader is privy to Anne's innermost thoughts and feelings, and in so doing we...
Published 8 months ago by Book Addict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ann boldness again
A reasonable read but an awful lot of conjecture, a bit same old same old of the time, but it gave her a chance to get even, which I liked.
Published 2 months ago by Buster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flawless and exciting version of Anne's life, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
I'm so excited by this book, it's difficult to know where to start.
The Kiss of the Concubine is written in the first person, present tense - two things I normally consider a 'turn off' - and yet the author handles the narration so skillfully that it becomes natural voice of the novel. The reader is privy to Anne's innermost thoughts and feelings, and in so doing we gain a different insight into her motivation.
To start with Anne is insecure about her looks and only attracts Henry's attention in a case of mistaken identity - from that initial contact it is her intelligence and wit that attract him.
The version of Anne created by Ms Arnopp is believable, sympathetic and most importantly - totally plausible. We discover a woman who knows her own mind but is no harpie, a woman in love who desires a family of her own, who is pressured into producing princes. I loved the interpretation of Anne as being in love with Henry but also afraid of losing his love. Their famous spats and quarrels are wonderfully written, on Anne's part motivated by crippling jealousy that the man she loves has strayed. But Anne is no blind fool, she can reconcile the dissolution of the monasteries because of the corruption within them, and when Henry siphons the wealth into his own coffers his lack of humanitarianism triggers the fateful series of events leading to Anne's eventual downfall.
I am no history scholar, so I can't comment on the factual veracity within The Kiss of the Concubine, but I can heartily recommend the book as a thought-provoking and wonderfully engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and exciting, full of Tudor flavour!, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
I have both read and seen many interpretations of the Anne Boleyn story, and I didn't think there was much more to be said. How wrong I was! Judith Arnopp has found such a unique and fresh approach to this most famous of love/hate relationships that readers will be drawn into her atmospheric prose. She is so skilled at conjuring the sights and sounds of her chosen setting that you can almost hear the courtly music, smell the pomanders, and taste the suckling pig. Her insights into the nuances of Anne's relationship with King Henry Vlll will delight and amaze you, and maybe make you think of Anne, mother of that most powerful of monarchs, Queen Elizabeth l of England, in a new and intriguing light.
Highly recommended for lovers of historical drama and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing from page 1, 28 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
The best book I have read in 2013. An old story from a new perspective. Amazing from the start to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful narrative, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
This engaging personal narrative offers a fresh insights into the rise and fall of Anne Boleyn.
Her depiction of the power politics of the Tudor court provides a colourful backdrop to the drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ann boldness again, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
A reasonable read but an awful lot of conjecture, a bit same old same old of the time, but it gave her a chance to get even, which I liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
I'm fascinated by the Tudors and this book really brought the relationship between Henry and Anne to life. I loved it from start to finish and hope Judith has more in the pipeline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss of the concubine, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
We have all heard the stories of how terrible Anne Boleyn was but this gave a totally different view this was from Annes perspective . I felt by the last few pages that i cared about what happened to her and even though i knew what a sad and sorry end fate had in store for her i found myself hoping just as she was that Henry would arrive and save her . A must read book for lovers of tudor history .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so good to read I found it hard o put down, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
Reads well even though it is in the first person which usually puts me off. So well written and includes many well known facts and events. Loved the beginning and end as this was so unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Kiss of the Concubine, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
Interesting that this book is written from Ann's point of view. I was curious to know how the author would cover Ann's execution. Satisfactorily handled. Having read a lot of books of this genre, I found this an enjoyable and interesting addition to my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good read...., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kiss of the Concubine: A story of Anne Boleyn (Kindle Edition)
I was quite surprised how much I enjoyed this book ,as the story of Ann Boleyn has been told so many times ....would recommend this to anyone who enjoys the history of Tuder England and of Henry and his six wives....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews