Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying
Another all night of reading due to Stephanie Laurens. I couldn't put it down! I didn't think she could redeem Malcolm Sinclair in my view, but she did it... unreservedly! The story sweeps you up in true Laurens style, bringing you in the middle of a man's life where he is trying to make himself a better person and to pay for past sins. Rose's character was a bit hazy,...
Published 10 months ago by silverilex

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An okay book but not a keeper
Malcolm Sinclair is dead and Thomas Glendower is alive. Arriving at home he finds a woman and her two children but Rose is not what she seem and like Thomas she hiding something. But with the help of some new friends they will make a stand for the future.
I have to say that like the beginning of "Loving Rose" by Stephanie Laurens but once the action moved to...
Published 9 months ago by M. E. Newell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying, 31 Aug. 2014
By 
silverilex "silverilex" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Another all night of reading due to Stephanie Laurens. I couldn't put it down! I didn't think she could redeem Malcolm Sinclair in my view, but she did it... unreservedly! The story sweeps you up in true Laurens style, bringing you in the middle of a man's life where he is trying to make himself a better person and to pay for past sins. Rose's character was a bit hazy, the reader never truly getting to know her too well, but the focus on Malcolm/Thomas more than made up for it. The ending was satisfying, tying all the storylines up neatly. Stephanie Laurens has just proved to me yet again, what a master storyteller she is. No wonder a vast amount of my bookshelf space is dedicated to her books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Detective story and romance in the "Barnaby Adair" series, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"Loving Rose" is a 19th century romance and detective story, mostly set in the second year of Queen Victoria's reign (e.g. 1838). It is the sixth of the author's books to feature the gentleman detective Barnaby Adair who initially appeared in three of the author's "Bar Cynster series and for whom she then created a sub-series of his own, of which this is the third.

Since his name is given in the sub-title, it is not really a spoiler to say that the central character of this book was born "Malcolm Sinclair" but if it hadn't been on the front cover of this book the reader might well not have realised this until very near the end of the novel.

Malcolm Sinclair was a character in the story "The Taste of Innocence" and appeared to die at the end of that book.

However, at the start of this novel a mangled body is found washed ashore on a Somerset beach by a group of novices at a priory. By a chance sufficiently remarkable that most of the characters concerned attribute it to divine intervention, the Priory's infirmarer is with them, and realises just in time to save him that the man is not quite dead.

He spends the next five years with the monks of the priory, recovering from his injuries and for that time becoming part of their community. The author does not reveal much about his past life at this stage, but it is clear that he is ashamed of the man he had once been. In 1838 he decides that God must have spared him for some purpose, perhaps to make amends for his past misdeeds, and decides to leave the priory to look for that purpose. He travels to a manor house in Cornwall, which he had owned under the name Thomas Glendower.

Arriving at that house, Breage Manor, "Thomas Glendower" finds that the couple he had employed to look after the property have retired, and a new housekeeper, a widow called Mrs Rose Sheridan with two young children called Homer and Pippin, is now looking after the place for him.

His mind having recovered far more thoroughly from his injuries than his body, he soon realises that his housekeeper's real name is no more "Rose Sheridan" that his is "Thomas Glendower." Furthermore, the children who accompany her are not accomplished enough at acting to conceal that, although whatever the relationship connects them is clearly a close and loving one, she is not their mother.

For some time he is happy to respect their secrets as they respect his. Until the threat which had caused Rose, Homer and Pippin to go into hiding in Cornwall reappears. To protect them, "Thomas Glendower" must seek the aid of the man who had once been his nemesis - Barnaby Adair. And so the adventure begins ...

I enjoyed most of the aspects of this book: I liked the characters and the redemption of the central character was particularly well handled. The book also did an excellent job in keeping the reader in doubt about who the real villain is.

Apologies for some Delphic language here but I am trying to avoid a spoiler. The reader may become annoyed with some of the characters at one point when they appear to spend an inordinate amount of time trying to prove one particular motive for their main suspect to have carried out the crimes for which they think him responsible, when there appears to be a far more obvious motive staring them in the face. It does turn out that this is a necessary part of the plot.

There are, however, some glaring differences between the way characters in the novel behave and speak and the historical period in which the story is set.

Well-brought up young ladies of the ton, as high society was called in the early nineteenth century, did not generally behave the way that many of those in Stephanie Laurens' recent books do. In particular they rarely abandoned their virginity before marriage as readily as these characters do, not least because an unmarried young lady of the early nineteenth century who enthusiastically jumped into the hero's bed would have no reliable means of avoiding pregnancy.

But overall I enjoyed this book, and most of those who gained pleasure from the author's other books will like this one.

If you put together the prequel novel The Promise in a Kiss (Bar Cynster) which is set a generation before, with the main "Bar Cynster" series and offshoots including the "Casebooks of Barnaby Adair" stories of which this is the third, this is the would be the twenty-fifth full length Cynster novel out of twenty seven published or due by April 2015.

For reference, the Cynster series to date consists of

1) Devil's Bride (Bar Cynster) (Devil and Honoria)
2) A Rake's Vow: Cynster Family Series, Book 2 (Cynster Novels) (Vane and Patience, sister of the hero of this book)
3) "Scandal's Bride" (Richard/Scandal and Catriona)
4) "A Rogue's proposal" (Harry/Demon and Felicity)
5) "A Secret Love" (Rupert/Gabriel and Alathea)
6) "All about Love" (Alistair/Lucifer and Phyllida)
7) "All About Passion" (Lord Chillingworth gets Rachel for Leah)
8) "On a wild night" (Amanda Cynster and Martin)
9) "On a wicked dawn" (Amelia Cynster and Luc)
10) "The Perfect Lover" (Simon Cynster and Porchia)
11) "The Ideal Bride" (Martin and Caro)
12) This book, "The Truth about love" (Gerrard and Jacqueline)
13) "What price love?" (Dillon and Priscilla)
14) "The Taste of Innocence" (Charlie and Sarah)
15) "Temptation and Surrender" (Jonas Tallent and Emily)
16) "Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue" (of Heather Cynster)
17) "In pursuit of Eliza Cynster"
18) "The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae" (Angelica)
19) "And then she fell" (Henrietta)
20) "The taming of Ryder Cavanaugh" (by Mary Cynster)
21) "By Winter's Light" (which came out after "Loving Rose")
22) "The Temptation of Thomas Carrick" (due for publication April 2015).

Barnaby Adair's investigations are:

* Cornwall, June 1831 ("The Truth about Love")
* Newmarket, August 1831 ("What Price Love?")
* Somerset, February 1833 ("The Taste of Innocence") to which this is in some ways a sequel

and in his own series,

* London November 1835, ("Where The Heart Leads: Number 1 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair)")
* London, October 1837, ("The Masterful Mr Montague: Number 2 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair)")
* Somerset, March 1838 (This book, "Loving Rose: The Redemption of Malcolm Sinclair").

There are also two short novels

* The Peculiar Case of Lord Finsbury's Diamonds: A Casebook of Barnaby Adair Short Novel

* The Curious Case of Lady Latimer's Shoes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars continuing growth of characters, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loving Rose: The Redemption of Malcolm Sinclair: Number 3 in series (Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Kindle Edition)
a Stephanie Laurens book always means a few hours of escapism. I enjoyed the earlier novels twists and turns of plots that made a basic romance become more than boy meets girl and a problem gets resolution. The amazing number of books written obviously ends up with some repetition, but in some ways it is becoming formulaic. That said the interrelating world of characters is one of the most appealing features - as if you are watching a modern day soap opera. I am sure I will continue to enjoy her writing as it is amazing that she can find so many different takes on what is essentially still boy meets girl and a problem gets sorted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes the sexual details are a bit unnecessary - we do have imagination, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loving Rose: The Redemption of Malcolm Sinclair: Number 3 in series (Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Kindle Edition)
If I see her name I go and buy the book. Sometimes the sexual details are a bit unnecessary - we do have imagination, but her books always have an added tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An okay book but not a keeper, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
M. E. Newell (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Malcolm Sinclair is dead and Thomas Glendower is alive. Arriving at home he finds a woman and her two children but Rose is not what she seem and like Thomas she hiding something. But with the help of some new friends they will make a stand for the future.
I have to say that like the beginning of "Loving Rose" by Stephanie Laurens but once the action moved to London I began to struggle and have to say that in my opinion this book is not a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read. I felt sorry for Malcolm in earlier ..., 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loving Rose: The Redemption of Malcolm Sinclair: Number 3 in series (Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Kindle Edition)
A good read. I felt sorry for Malcolm in earlier books so it was nice to give him a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt put it down., 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was enthralled from beginning to end. Having read the first book with Malcolm Sinclair in it (I have read all Stephanie Laurens
books and loved them) I knew some of his history. In this book he is redeemed and becomes a lovely man, but its a long road!
Get the book and read, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hero or Villain?, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
tina walsh (Birkenhead, Wirral United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loving Rose: The Redemption of Malcolm Sinclair: Number 3 in series (Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Kindle Edition)
Last seen falling to his death by Charlie and Sarah Morwellan in The Taste of Innocence, continues the story of Malcolm Sinclair. The puzzle of how and where.he survived.

Then following his return to the Cornish manor house he had bought several years earlier and the start of a mystery. Who are the young woman acting as his housekeeper and her children and why are they hiding?

With a trip to London, the appearance of some familiar faces, Stokes and Adair to name two, explanations are given and after a twist, the villain is revealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rose and family, 6 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. H. P. Wilson "Happy snapper" (Cambridgeshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loving Rose: The Redemption of Malcolm Sinclair: Number 3 in series (Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy all Stephanie Laurens books and this one proved just as good. I had forgotten Malcolm Sinclair and wonder if I should go back and read it again. I need to find out just how old he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Lauren's books and count down the months for the ..., 29 Nov. 2014
I love Lauren's books and count down the months for the next one to arrive and keep me spell bound in an ago that amazes me and I just wish she could write quicker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews