Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great follow up book
Published 3 months ago by Frank Reilly

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to original 2033 version
"Metro 2034" is sequel to "Metro 2033" apocalyptic novel written by Russian writer Dmitry Glukhovsky. The title of the book is referring to the Moscow Metro system, year is 2034 (one year after the original book took place) and mankind had nearly wiped itself out in a nuclear war more than 20 years ago.

As I wrote in prequel review, lot of...
Published 3 months ago by Denis Vukosav


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've ever read, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2034 (Kindle Edition)
So finally, the entire thing is here in English! About time!

The book focuses on Hunter (if you read Metro 2033 you'll remember whilst the story was about Artyom and from his perspective, it was centred around Hunter's motives), and his eventual companions, a man who calls himself "Homer" (after the Greek poet) and a girl called Sasha.

It's set roughly 1 year after the events of Metro 2033 (it's good to read the Metro 2033 epilogue - The Gospel According to Artyom first) and is entirely separate from the previous book, however, the events are intrinsically linked and those who're up-to-date with the Metro universe will gain a much greater understanding of this book from knowing the previous events.

Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Isn't as good as 2033 but worth your time, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Shel (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2034 (Kindle Edition)
Let me start by saying that Metro 2033 is flat out one of my favorite novels, I loved the dark, oppressive mood throughout, the constant twists & turns and it really felt like you were along with Artyom for the long ride through hell (and back) even after a third read through. Metro 2034 shares a lot with its older brother in terms of well written characters and a detailed, textured world, yet it is very unfocused.

Essentially the book is about the return of Hunter, who we follow as he tries to stop the spread of a deadly virus through the Metro. There a few supporting characters throughout, each with their own side stories none of which make it a enthralling read like 2034 was. We have more deadly tunnels, corrupt people and strange goings on, even a recurring character from 2033 [nudge nudge wink wink] but Glukhovsky's excellent writing can't make up for the lack of an engaging plot to follow.

It's worth a read for anyone who enjoys dark, apocalyptic science fiction or anyone that enjoyed the original but fails to live up the grand quest-like feel that the predecessor had. Also worth noting that the translation is much better this time around, there are a few fluffed sentences in the original, no such errors jumped out in 2034; maybe in the second read through (of which there will be many!).

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 April 2014
By 
Mr. S. F. Robinson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2034 (Kindle Edition)
I prefered metro 2033 as I missed artyom who only made a brief appearance here. It's still enjoyable if you like this sort if thing I don't normally read horror but this is more survival and hope for a brighter future than anything I played the game and have a vivid imagination so I took every step with the characters involved it's the first time ive read anything from Dmitry Glukhovsky apart from these two novels and I really enjoyed his attention to detail and would read any other books he does a great read if your looking for something different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 11 Mar 2014
By 
A. Senington (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metro 2034 (Kindle Edition)
Only finished it because I felt I owed it to the author, due to liking '33 so much.

None of the characters are well written, least of all being Sasha and Leonid. Sasha is a typical teenage girl who basically falls in love with Hunter for no reason within 5 minutes of meeting him. She is hugely naive, irritatingly so, to the point that I wanted to scream at the book. She thinks that Hunter "needs" her for some reason. She believes every word that Leonid (who obviously just wants to get her alone) says to her.

I don't know if the author was trying to push the idea of fate and destiny with the characters beleiving that they are connected and all, but it really didn't work.

Artyom, the protagonist from the first book makes an appearance. Although the character could have been names Bill for all the difference it would have made to the plot. Artyom's character was not linke to his character from the previous book in any way.

Overall, the ide of a plague as a plot sounde like a good idea. A good idea that could, and should have been much better. Definitely read '33, but don't waste your cash on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son says he's in love!, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2034 (Kindle Edition)
He is only 19 so I don't believe everything he says. Having said that he is a complete bookworm and this is a read he had on his list of wants for a while. It took him all of 2 days to read and he rated it a 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metro 2034
Metro 2034 by Dmitry Glukhovsky
£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews