Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight in the mind of a japanese soldier
Mr. Hideo Onoda came down from the mountain on the island of Lubang in 1974. For 30 years he had been fighting his own war against nature and the enemy. In the 30 years he had been conducting guerilla warfare against local peasants and Phillipine troops, not knowing the war was over.
The book covers his whole life from a kendo fighting boy, to a dancing teenager in...
Published on 3 Sep 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Review: No Surrender: My Thirty Year War (Bluejacket Books)
It's a definite learning experience, considering his blind obedience to the cause (Japanese war effort) having lead to the deaths of numerous innocent people I thought I'd have hated this man, and yet I can't help but agree with a lot of his observations about the society he's since reintegrated in to. A great case study in to human nature and the power an idea/ideology...
Published 5 months ago by cubley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight in the mind of a japanese soldier, 3 Sep 2001
Mr. Hideo Onoda came down from the mountain on the island of Lubang in 1974. For 30 years he had been fighting his own war against nature and the enemy. In the 30 years he had been conducting guerilla warfare against local peasants and Phillipine troops, not knowing the war was over.
The book covers his whole life from a kendo fighting boy, to a dancing teenager in the chinese dancehall and to his secret guerilla warface on Lubang Island in the Phillipines.
The book gives an interesting insight in the mind of a dedicated japanese officer. A man that refuses to believe that the war is over and that the japanese search parties that were sent out in the late 50's, were actually the work of the american intelligence forces. Onoda expirences every imaginary ordeal, from colloctive japanese harakiri, to Bubblegum chewing american soldier, to the death of his 2 soldier friends, Shimada and Kozuka. The later who died in 1973. Only a year before Onoda was found.
All in all an amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Surrender, 20 July 2002
By 
S. Bickers (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In brief, the subject nature of the book itself will compel you to want to read it. Details the amazing story of a Junior Japanese officer, Lt Hiroo Onoda, and his micro guerilla war on a small island against the local population, US troops and the elements. His mental toughness and his military doctrine seem almost unhuman at times. My only criticism is that the book needs a map of the island, can seem a bit hazy in describing movements to different locations. On the whole definitely worth a read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 30 July 2009
By 
J. R. Hutchence (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book had me turning pages like no other - what a fantastic, and totally believable story. Hiroo is still alive today - so 30 years in the jungle did him no harm. Highly highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Birthday present for my husband which he likes and is on his "to read next list"Good choice of book great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a super book!, 20 Aug 2007
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
No Surrender. My Thirty Year War by Hiroo Onoda is a really interesting book, while Hiroo was still at war in 1974. His Loyalty to this orders and work is clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review: No Surrender: My Thirty Year War (Bluejacket Books), 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a definite learning experience, considering his blind obedience to the cause (Japanese war effort) having lead to the deaths of numerous innocent people I thought I'd have hated this man, and yet I can't help but agree with a lot of his observations about the society he's since reintegrated in to. A great case study in to human nature and the power an idea/ideology can have over someone's actions. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story, 24 April 2014
By 
Zeroidking (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Surrender: My Thirty-Year War (Bluejacket Books) (Kindle Edition)
A well written but frustrating story. I was astounded at the man's obstinate determination to blindly carry out his orders. The passage of time living a clandestine existence making him and his companions paranoid and deluded. Unfortunately for these guys, brought up in a society and a time that appears to have eliminated any common sense as they blindly accept and carry out their orders. A gripping tale indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Non glamorous grit!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An easy to read factual account of a quite extraordinary individual. No storey or aspect is glorified and Hiroo Onoda shows he has no ego to taint or spoil his account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unjque, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Surrender: My Thirty-Year War (Bluejacket Books) (Kindle Edition)
A once in a lifetime opportunity to read an almost unbelievable account of struggle and dedication of loyal Japanese soldiers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like history, and WWII related documents you shoud read this. First person description that is difficult to stop reading before you reach the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews