Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great prequel
I came to this short book whilst looking for more work by Robin Sloan
after reading Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore. I thoroughly enjoyed
this work, my only complaint was that it was not a full length prequel as
it was addictive and enjoyable as the main book.

I am now looking forward for more work by Robin Sloan.
Published 11 months ago by fantompoet

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I enjoyed reading about the beginning of Mr Penumbra’s 24 hour bookstore, it was a interesting read and at great addition to the first book.
Published 6 months ago by Paula Mc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great prequel, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
I came to this short book whilst looking for more work by Robin Sloan
after reading Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore. I thoroughly enjoyed
this work, my only complaint was that it was not a full length prequel as
it was addictive and enjoyable as the main book.

I am now looking forward for more work by Robin Sloan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice short story for fans of the 24 Hour Bookstore, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
I loved the 24 Hour Bookstore so was pleased to find this short story to give me some backstory on Penumbra. It's a quick read but covers adventure, the history of modern computing and some philosophy in its short pages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent prequel, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
I have been meaning to read Mr Penumbra's 24 Hour Bookstore, but was a bit wary of buying it. When I saw this quite cheap I decided to try it. I will be buying the sequel as soon as I finish this review. This book tells how a young Ajax Penumbra, employed as a Junior Aquisitions Assistant at his college library is sent to find a book that has not been seen for over a hundred years. He traces its history to San Francisco. How he comes to the 24 hour bookshop and discovers the possible (or impossible) whereabouts of the book, makes an interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello Mr Penumbra, 20 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
I read this prequel after reading Mr Penumbra's 24 hr Bookstore. Quite short but enjoyable introduction to the character of Ajax Penumbra, the impossibly tall Bookstore and the world of mysterious books and that become so important in the novel proper. Corvina plays a minor part in this story. I like Robin Sloan's writing style and I think he evokes the feeling of the 60's. I think you'll love Mr Penumbra a little more for reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Paula Mc (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading about the beginning of Mr Penumbra’s 24 hour bookstore, it was a interesting read and at great addition to the first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freebie, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
I got sent this as a freebie for replying to the ad in the back of 'Mr Penumbras 24 Hour bookstore' - along with another free gift & the request let people know about the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Novella, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
This novella gives a great insight into the mind of the young Mr Penumbra and how he comes to be in charge of the 24 hour bookshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this, and if you like it too - ..., 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
Loved this, and if you like it too - please read Mr Penumbra's 24 House book Store, which is S-o-o-o cool. I just loved both stories. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a nice intro to mr Penumbra, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
If you liked the 24 hour book shop read this it's anice intro to the story and gives background on the two main" older" characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ajax Penumbra: 1969 Robin Sloan, 30 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ajax Penumbra: 1969 (Kindle Edition)
I read this book after reading Mr Penumbra's 24 Hour Book Shop which i really enjoyed, and thankfully i really enjoyed this short story as well! It was a quick read which was unfortunate as i wanted it to go on as long as a full length book, but at least we get to learn a little more about Ajax Penumbra and how he first came to find his 24 hour book shop. I'd love to read other stories about the other people we met in the full length book like Ms Lapin etc, finding out a little bit about these fascinating people would really make my day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ajax Penumbra: 1969
Ajax Penumbra: 1969 by Robin Sloan
£1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews