Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars48
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.39
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2014
Great anti-hero in this fast-paced read...your instinct is to root for the wrong guy half the time. As in Mr McDonald's other novels, expect your expectations to be thoroughly messed with in this enjoyable page-turner. One word of warning: this is not a finely nuanced piece of commentary on tensions between Islam extremists and the West. It's pure escapist fiction that will keep you reading, and, as such, does its job brilliantly. Can't say any more for fear of giving something away...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
As A business man running a small but ever growing business, I rarely get time to read anymore however this book was recommended to me by her indoors as a way of escaping the everyday dramas and stresses of running my company.
Well that's what it did with its twists and turns the book gives nothing away till the end then bang, its like, really? no way! wow
a real cant put down, kind of a book. thanks Murray keep em coming.Just started a new one America trust" really looking forward to it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
I loved this story. I buy fiction to be entertained; to be thrilled and intrigued, to be mystified, shocked and kept guessing. It did all of these things and also had the annoying ability to prevent me from putting the book down, causing me to still be reading it halfway through the night.
Murray Mcdonald has just gained a new reader and I already have another of his titles in my reading queuing list!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Excellent book from start to finish. This was the first Murray McDonald book I have read, I cant wait to read the rest. Keep up the good work.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
This is a thriller that just had to be written. All of the elements are known to us; a Middle Eastern theatre boiling over with hatred for the West in general, and the US in particular. Al Qaeda primed ready to attack using whatever weaponry is available. The US embroiled in political in-fighting in DC and their allies across the seas battling an economic downturn. Africa had its own problem with the Ebola virus which was well covered in the media. No-one who reads this book will wonder what these elements mean; we've lived with them for several years. Murray McDonald has imagined a scenario that is horrifying, yet totally plausible. To reveal much more will spoil future readers enjoyment. Safe to say, they will be absorbed and gathered up in the urgent pace of the action as it unfolds around the globe. A cleverly crafted story-line which keeps you guessing until the final pages.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Just started reading this author and have found that every book is different and yet each one manages to grip you and take you into the story all of which are believable and very difficult to put down. This is an excellent read and keeps you going till the last page very highly recommended
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Wow a great thriller that wastes no time in useless dialogue. Almost possible and almost believable making it quite scary. No wasted words, this story moves at a great pace with an unexpected ending. If you like a good thriller then I would recommend this book for pure escapism enjoyment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
Absolutely brilliant read. Not read Murray McDonalds books before but will be looking for more in the future. Very fast paced and action packed story, the plot is great and keeps you on your toes from start to finish. It was one of those books that kept me awake into the early hours not wanting to put it down. The story revolves around a fantastic well thought plot to destroy the USA, both its people and its government but in this case the plotter is an American agent trusted at the highest levels and also one of the countries highest trained agents. The world wide hunt to find him before he brings together all the forces needed to destroy the USA involves every agency and military force around the world and also his girlfriend who he betrayed. Plenty of twists and turns bringing you to a fantastic climax.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
despite a somewhat unlikely plotline i thoroughly enjoyed this. the planning of the novel [never mind the plot] was admirable and made for a cracking good read. it could never happen in real life, but so what!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Wasn't sure about this novel when I first started but my God what a thriller and page turner. Was waiting for all the twists and turns but I guess I will leave that for you to find out. Enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.