Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't brick it - buy it!
After watching the admittedly excellent Lego Movie at my local fleapit in 3D, about halfway through, I wondered if I'd enjoy the Lego Batman 2 Movie more than its broadly similar feature length big budget brethren. A few days later, I took the plunge and am very glad I did!

Amongst other things, the musical score made lots of 'nods' to the classic 1989 Danny...
Published 16 months ago by McRonson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun
I thought this was a bit of a giggle. If you're familiar with the Star Wars lego short films this is more of the same. It's played mainly for laughs, some of the gags work well, some not so well but it rolls along at such a pace there's no time to dwell on it.

The film is good clean fun for youngsters and there's enough in jokes for the slightly more mature...
Published 14 months ago by Richard Morton


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 28 April 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I thought this was a bit of a giggle. If you're familiar with the Star Wars lego short films this is more of the same. It's played mainly for laughs, some of the gags work well, some not so well but it rolls along at such a pace there's no time to dwell on it.

The film is good clean fun for youngsters and there's enough in jokes for the slightly more mature viewer. These include nice nods to the 60's and 90's versions of Batman and Robin, in fact Danny Elfmans theme music from Tim Burtons Batman flick kicks it all off to brilliant effect. John Williams Superman score gets an airing as well later on and most of the fun comes from seeing Bats, Supes and the rest of the Justice League united onscreen. The Flash, Martian Manhunter etc etc, they're all here. If you prefer the dark side then you get the Joker, Riddler, Lex Luthor, Poison Ivy, Bane and more.

Overall worth a watch (especially as it's on Prime at the moment). Perhaps breaking out the blocks yourself might be even more fun though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't brick it - buy it!, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
McRonson (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
After watching the admittedly excellent Lego Movie at my local fleapit in 3D, about halfway through, I wondered if I'd enjoy the Lego Batman 2 Movie more than its broadly similar feature length big budget brethren. A few days later, I took the plunge and am very glad I did!

Amongst other things, the musical score made lots of 'nods' to the classic 1989 Danny Elfman Batman movie theme, the 1990s Batman: The Animated Series theme music as well as the John Williams Superman movie theme whenever a certain Kryptonian appeared. Also, a lot of directorial nods to the unusual camera angles found in the same 1989 Bat Movie as employed by director Tim Burton.

I appreciate the fact that we see the 'grim' Batman here; ever since the groundbreaking 1986 four issue The Dark
Knight Returns comics written and drawn by Frank (300, Sin City) Miller, Batman has routinely been portrayed as a grim avenging creature of the night. Even on The Lego Movie, Batman is a brooding presence (of sorts!) but I like this approach - here it gives an adult friendly feeling and fits in nicely.

The plot is simple - Lex Luthor loses the Gotham Man of the year competition and swears revenge on its winner, one Bruce (Batman) Wayne, with some assistance from a certain clown prince of crime. Cue some amusing and entertaining super hero shenanigans, an eventual and brilliant appearance by the rest of the Justice League - Wonder Woman, the Flash and Green Lantern marshalled from the space bound Justice League Watch Tower 23,000 Miles above the Earth by the Martian Manhunter, Batman, Robin and Superman can finally get to work and shut down the malevolent duo of Lex Luthor and the Joker!

This is a new DVD I'll be watching a lot in the years to come. The chances of the Man Of Steel sequel featuring Batman and Wonder Woman being anywhere near as joyous and as uplifting as this Lego Batman 2 Movie are pretty slim!

And if the magnificence of the main feature wasn't enough for you, there are a number of fun extras such as fan made Lego Batman shorts to three full length episodes from the recent child-friendly animated series Batman: The Brave And The Bold. "Scorn Of The Star Sapphire" is a great choice as it reveals that a certain Green Lantern villain is a guilty secret he struggles to keep a lid on.

Mere animation being better written than live action? Hmmmn... Anyway, order this Lego Batman 2 The Movie - you will NOT be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vote for Lex, 18 Oct. 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a sixty eight minute long film featuring a Lego version of Batman.

It was actually released prior to the recent 'The Lego Movie.' So it has no connection with that, and the version of Batman in there, other than the fact that it's Batman done in Lego. This take on the character is a little different.

It's based on a recent Lego Batman video game, and uses scenes from that with some all new footage in order to turn it into a movie.

Set in Gotham city, the story sees Lex Luthor teaming up with the Joker, as he needs his help with a dastardly scheme. Batman is the only one who can save the day. Although there might just be help available from other heroes if he wants it...

This is a Batman movie suitable for all ages [although epileptics and those who are bothered by flashing images might have a problem with one bit]. Lots of characters, both heroes and villains, from DC comics get a look in. It plays the tone of them and the whole thing just right, allowing humour to come from the characters and the way they interact.

Particularly fun are the ultra confident and affable Superman, and the perhaps not quite as ready as he might think he is Robin.

It's good some good action sequences, and yet it doesn't just string things out in between those. There is a good and solid plot here, which doesn't reveal everything right away.

The score does use music from the 1989 Batman film, and Superman: the movie. All of which does feel a bit intrusive and distracting at times. But that's only a minor complaint.

It also has a decent moral message that is quite subtle and never hammered home. All in all, this is a lot of fun. For Bat fans. Of all ages.

The disc has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, German, Castilian Spanish, French, Italian.

Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Dutch, French, German, Italian.

The disc begins with a trailer for the video game, but you can skip it via the next button on the dvd remote.

There's a decent collection of extras:

Building Batman: A decent and quite inspiring fifteen minute documentary about stop motion animation with Lego.

A two minute long Lego Batman short. Which is a bit inconsequential, but nicely done.

Three cartoons from various DC comics cartoon series. 'Triumvirate of Terror' and 'Sins of the Star Sapphire.' Two episodes of the fun Batman teaming up with other heroes show 'Batman: The Brave and the Bold.' These two are not available on any other dvd.

Same with the third cartoon, 'Overdrive' an episode of 'Teen Titans Go'.

There's also five short lego DC comics superheroes movies made by those who entered a contest to make one. All run no more than two to three minutes. And are all very good.

Plus the box contains the usual flyer with website address and code to download a version of the movie to a digital device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman is back! Can he stop the notorious Arkham Asylum inmates, Lex Luthor and the Joker from rampaging Gotham City in time?, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
So, I think that the DVD of Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite from DVD is fantastic because I think that last year, I'm sure exactly when but I did play the Xbox 360 game in my bedroom and there was plenty of action around.

As I have said in my previous reviews of my other products that I have recieved in the normal post today, I like the front cover of the DVD because it features all of the main DC Comics characters such as Batman himself, Superman, Robin and the notorious villains from Arkham Asylum such as the Joker, Two-Face, Catwoman, Bane with his large mole machine, the Penguin aka Oswald Cobblepot and even Superman's evil nemesis of Lex Luthor who owns his large evil empire corporation.

So, yes, recently I saw this product in ASDA in Halesowen on Saturday 22nd March 2014 and it was retailed for £5.00.
However, when, I did return home, I did order the product and now the new price for this product is £4.74.
What a bargain, eh, folks?! Four stars all round!!!
Thank you Amazon.co.uk for your reliable service and your co-operation. Bye for now! From Richard Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loved it and has watched the film every day!!!, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
'It was really really good!!! Excellent in fact! The funniest bits are when Robin is driving and he pulls the steering wheel off and when Batman and Superman go to Lex Corp.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batmobile lost a wheel, the Joker got away, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Length:: 3:00 Mins

Having never seen nor played any of the Lego movies or video games this was my first venture into their blocky incarnation of various franchises. I was fully expecting nothing but a feature-length cut-scene but was surprised at how cinematic it actually is.

Opening with Danny Elfman's brilliant Batman theme (no offense to Zimmer but Warner knows that fans prefer this version), we learn that Lex Luthor and Joker have teamed up and have gained the upper hand over Bats and Supes. If only Bats had the humility to ask the rest of the Justice League for help. Skipping back a couple of days, the story of their dire situation unfolds. It's not an original framing device, but it was better than I was expecting.]

Director Jon Burton (no relation to Tim) uses many atmospheric locations that look wonderfully photo-realistic, while building as much of the world as possible with actual Lego bricks. Builders will get lots of ideas when watching this movie. Rob Westwood's score, while very entertaining, does get a little overbearing at times though. He should have let a couple of scenes speak for themselves, but it's still good enough to warrant a release on CD.

There is a fun sense of humor permeating each scene, meaning that if the vivid sets and cute action don't entertain you will still be smiling. It does suffer a little bit from the "smashing skyscrapers" cliché that is common in many comic book movies but it's not too much of a distraction.

Far better than I expected. I will certainly invest time in a sequel.

The Blu-ray looks wonderful in 1.78:1 1080p with decent DTS HD-MA 5.1 sound. There are a good bunch of extras including some standard definition episodes of Batman: The Brave and the Bold and Teen Titans, and a short featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic better than the Lego Movie, my son Scott loved it!, 13 Feb. 2014
My Son Scott is Lego mad and really loved this Lego Batman movie, it has great GCI and a good story, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watched over and over!, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I bought this for my son for Christmas, and he has watched it over and over, he thinks it is brilliant and is constantly finding something new to chuckle over in it!! Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent kids watched over and over, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a brilliant DVD. My kids have watched over and overand never get bored. At this prices well it's a bargain and a must have for any Lego or batman fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Choice, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Bought this for my grandson's 7th birthday and, judging by his comments, I definitely made a great choice. He has watched it over and over again and describes it as "super duper fantastic" and of course "cool"............ high praise indeed. He now gives a running commentary on the action for the benefit of his little brother - all of 10 months old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite [DVD] [2013]
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews