Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars268
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2014
this is a great album if you like this stuff as i do and i am 58 years young laugh if you want but hay ho :)
33 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Firstly, lets get something straight. Whilst 99 was known as the year of trance, this does not mean that this was the year that the best trance was produced. This CD flicks back more than a decade and showcases some of the finer tracks and some of the not so finer tracks that have all made it to the dance floor and club scene. Mixing is average and someone thought it would be a good idea to include the non vocal version of Thrillseekers feat Sheryl Deane and stick it in before Mauro Picotto's Lizard. Yorks On the Beach is also the non vocal version. Arrangement is poor and I feel that a lot of fresh listeners would listen to this and feel that they didn't miss much. Well... you did and if you think this mix is good there are far better mixes out there. Sorry MOS, but this seems like a pointless release and a bit of a missed opportunity really. If you are a seasoned trance listener this release doesn't offer anything extra in terms of sound production and I'd bang on some of the older CD's sitting in your collection instead... which is what I'm going to do!
1010 comments|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I bought this for my husband who is in his sixties. He loves the oldies like sandstorm and insomnia but it did get a bit samey after a while with the same beat throughout
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Absolutely LOVE this complilation! Not only does it include all my favourite Trance tracks from back in the day, but also has a decent selection of modern trance classics too. I especially like the fact that there is not too much "mix in/mix out" music between tracks. You can skip to the next track & the main tune is with you in no time at all compared to other dance cd's that have you waiting 3 mins for the tune you want. So great to find a compilation with Gouryella, For An Angel, Adagio For Strings, Insomnia, Fire Wire, Children, Diving Faces on it - made me so happy. Trance-tastic
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
A tenner for two CDs of music (and mixes if you get the MP3 download - but beware, it's a 1.3GB download!) is worth it; when this music was current you'd be charged £15 a CD in HMV.

The nice Ministry folks even give you a free coffee mat with the CD version, although someone accidentally labelled as "CD 3". Don't bother with that one, it's rubbish. Really, if you like this kind of music and you're not 14 years old, it's obvious when the new-style trance starts and that's your hint to stop listening, however by then you'll have listened to over 2 hours of music.

Since some of the tracks are nearly 20 years old this set is clearly aimed at a certain age group of people - with a rubbish 3rd CD to keep the kids happy if they accidentally buy it ;-)
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I've come to Trance late in life. Took a punt on this for Christmas, and haven't been able to stop listening to it. Other reviewers have criticised the content of the third CD in the set as not being "proper" trance - I guess they must be Trance purists. I disagree with their opinion. The whole album is very good, but for me CD3 is the best of the set - definitely ear worm material! I can't stop playing it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
There are some top tunes on CD 1 and 2 e.g. For an Angel, Silence and Insomnia. However, if you're a trance fan you're going to have a lot of these tracks already and if you don't like the more mainstream/anthemic trance you won't like this CD that much.
Finally, forget about CD 3, the tracks on there are not trance and are just generic, EDM rubbish.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I love trance music and was looking forward to this album but I was disappointed with the mixing and the quality of the sound. The bass was just as though you were back in the 90's! I had hoped the quality of the bass lines would have been bought up to todays level.
nice to hear some classics but think there are better albums out there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Bought as a gift, brother in law loves it. it appears to be excellent quality. I am very happy with this purchase :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
loved the CD
ideal for easy listening with a bit more to it.
p & p reasonable
delivery date spot on.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)