Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Masterpiece!!!
Ask any musician over a certain age to name the greatest albums of all time and he/she won't rattle off too many titles before he/she gets to "Dusty In Memphis". That's the kind of awe and respect this album inspires in us who make our living in Music; and, we're a pretty musically jaded lot. It is utter perfection - singer; musicians; producers; material - all four...
Published on 25 Oct 2005 by Music Maven

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Vinyl indeed !
Please note that this is a review of the Four Men with Beards vinyl LP of Dusty in Memphis. Despite this, other reviews listed here are of the CD version (which may, or may not, be superior in sound quality). If you want the vinyl format, however, this is currently the only available disc on Amazon.
This edition has been incorrectly eq'ed with far too much treble,...
Published 21 months ago by Decade


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Masterpiece!!!, 25 Oct 2005
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Ask any musician over a certain age to name the greatest albums of all time and he/she won't rattle off too many titles before he/she gets to "Dusty In Memphis". That's the kind of awe and respect this album inspires in us who make our living in Music; and, we're a pretty musically jaded lot. It is utter perfection - singer; musicians; producers; material - all four come together for an musical experience which is right up there with "Sgt. Pepper" and "Pet Sounds". I do not exaggerate when I say "Dusty In Memphis" is one of the 3 greatest albums of all time!
Sure, many will say "Son Of A Preacher Man" is the centerpiece of this gem. I beg to differ with popular sentiment. The Goffin/King composition "No Easy Way Down" is the one track which takes this album from the great to the sublime. Dusty never sang a song better before or after recording this soul/gospel-tinged treasure. For a woman who aspired to be a soul singer, Dusty realises that goal in this song more than any other song she ever recorded. The close second would be "I Believe In You" from her "Brand New Me" album. The great white girl singer was truly blessed with a black soul.
The production values put into this album by Jerry Wexler and Tom Dowd are the stuff of legends. Not unlike a great director with an actor, Wexler used every trick in the book to extract the very finest singing performance Dusty was ever to record. This is no hype - this album is THAT good. Why it took the world and the record industry another 18 years(thanks to the Pet Shop Boy) to "rediscover" Dusty Springfield just boggles the mind.
If you purchase no other album from the late 1960's, do yourself a favour and add "Dusty In Memphis" to your collection. You will not be disappointed. It's Dusty immortal gift to all music lovers everywhere! Thank you, Ms. O'Brien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before you buy anything.. buy this!, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Dusty in Memphis is already a legend. This import contains many additional tracks from a second set of Atlantic sessions, most sadly not released during Miss Springfield's lifetime. Listening to her now you can only wonder at the soul in her voice and be glad that at least now, 30 years later, you have the chance to hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Vinyl indeed !, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty in Memphis [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Please note that this is a review of the Four Men with Beards vinyl LP of Dusty in Memphis. Despite this, other reviews listed here are of the CD version (which may, or may not, be superior in sound quality). If you want the vinyl format, however, this is currently the only available disc on Amazon.
This edition has been incorrectly eq'ed with far too much treble, and is nearly unlistenable as a result, unless you are able to strongly reduce the high frequencies through your system.
The retailers are very certainly aware of this, as they are that you have Hobson's Choice as far as vinyl reissues are concerned.
The music deserves better, and a new "audiophile" quality LP is being issued on another label, but will be expensive.
If you simply must have this on LP, please be aware of the problem, and do not pay too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest example of her work; a fine LP, period., 26 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusty in Memphis (Audio CD)
Like the singer herself, this album is legendary. (It's also supposed to be Neil Tennant's favourite LP of all time.)
I first heard it in the early '80's, when I began listening to the LP output of Dusty Springfield, rather than just the hit singles. Of all her recordings, this is simply the best and most consistent of her LP's. The songs are all classics: Son Of A Preacher Man, Breakfast In Bed, Windmills of Your Mind, Don't Forget About Me....
The arrangements are scintillating: a deep soul groove, stong instrumentation, with restrained orchestral and string arrangements. You can almost imagine her singing these songs backed by a four-piece group in a small club environment.
Such is the attention to detail and the fluid inter-play of voice, instruments and rhythm that it has a really intimate and warm feel to it.
If you wanted to compare a diva of the 60's with the so-called divas of today, then this is an excellent starting point. Not a warble or forced note in ear-shot.
My only complaint about this UK version is that it rather short-changes the listener. There have been about 4 different versions of this album in recent years, each with "bonus" tracks etc. This one is not the definitive version - for that, the keen listener should look out for the US edition, which adds a whole album's worth of related recordings to the Memphis sessions...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty's Memphis Pyramid, 14 Aug 2006
By 
Leonard Fleisig "Len" (Virginia Beach, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
In and near the ancient city of Memphis, capital of the ancient kingdom of Egypt, the great pyramids of Egypt may be found. These pyramids were built as monuments to the various pharaohs who ruled over Egypt. If I had to pick one album that would serve as a fitting monument to Dusty Springfield's musical career it would have to be her classic "Dusty in Memphis". It was a tremendous, if sadly overlooked, album when it was first released in 1969 (it managed to hit only #99 on the pop charts). It is even better now that a deluxe edition has been issued that contains 14 `bonus tracks' that had not previously been released.

Produced by Atlantic Records' Jerry Wexler and Arif Mardin (who produced a number of Aretha Franklin's early albums), Dusty in Memphis cemented Dusty's reputation as having one of the most powerful, soulful voices of the 60s. Just about every song on this deluxe edition helps cement that reputation.

"Son of a Preacher Man" is probably the best known song on the original album. It is a tremendous performance that highlights Dusty's wonderfully smoky, bluesy voice and her ability to interpret a song. The song starts low and wistful and build to a very powerful conclusion. Dusty covers a number of songs written by the team of Gerry Coffin and Carole King. Carole King has said (according to the liner notes) that Dusty was the definitive performer of her songs. After listening to Dusty's covers of King's songs, included spectacular version of "You've Got a Friend" it is hard to find fault with that assessment. The bonus tracks are as compelling as the original album tracks. "Willie & Laura Mae Jones" makes for a perfect follow up to "Son of a Preacher Man" both as to style and substance. Dusty even turns in an excellent performance of "Make it With You", originally performed by Bread. Springfield extracts all the extra sugar from the original and replaces it with a version in which you can hear the yearning in Dusty's voice.

Dusty in Memphis is a wonderful monument to a wonderful performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dusty, 15 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusty in Memphis (Audio CD)
Dusty In Memphis is one of the coolest CDs I have ever listened to. All the materially is beautifully written by some great song writers such as Carole King, Randy Newman, and Bacharach/David. The musical arrangement is stunning, with a soulful groove. The crowning glory is Dusty's vocals which are beautiful. Restrained, yet powerful and resonant, every note is perfect. When I play this CD, I close my eyes, and it's like Dusty and her musicians are playing for me in the same room. Listening to this CD, it easy to see why Dusty is regarded as the greatest ever British female singer. Pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty In Memphis, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Frank Gerschwiler (West London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
If you only want to buy one album of Dusty, this highly respected album may be the one to go for. I can't believe I have waited so long to get it - having bought my first single featuring "Springfields-Island Of Dreams" in about 1961-62 . I was recently in a music shop scouring the shelves for anything interesting and I mentioned to the chap next to me that I am on the look out for an album that Dusty Springfield recorded in Nashville or Memphis not too sure of title or when recorded. He said you mean "Dusty In Memphis" - her best album - you ought to get it. That was it - I got home and ordered it. End Of Story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Top 5 albums of all time?, 23 Aug 2010
By 
MJ King "MJK" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Firstly, I'm not a fan of Dusty's nor have I heard much of her music. Obviously I'm aware of her, think she has a good voice & have enjoyed some of her records over the years but I'm not a fan.

I'm a soul man & have toyed with the idea of getting Dusty In Memphis for some time, thinking - given the producers and musicians involved - it would be a soul or R&B album, a bit like Aretha Franklyn was making at about that time.

I finally bought this copy of the album and am SO happy I did!

Not that it's really a straight soul album! The most obvious tracks are Son of a Preacher Man and Breakfast in Bed, where Dusty sings as a real R&B star. But most of the songs are straight ahead mainstream albeit sung with great emotion & feeling. Interesting, Dusty too expected to record a more standard soul album but the musicians saw playing with her as an opportunity to go outside their comfort zone.

For me, what makes the album is the sheer class of all involved - the producers, song writers, the rhythm section, the horns and of course the singer herself, with excellent backing from the Sweet Inspirations.

Everyone is given time and space to really stretch out - try I Don't Want to Hear it Anymore - the way the music builds behind Dusty's plaintive vocal as she tells the story. Just perfect and, according to the sleeve notes, Dusty's favourite track on the album.

Just a Little Loving and So Much Love kick off the original set in much the same way.

Truthfully, there isn't a bad song or performance on the album. Personal favourites include Windmills of your Mind and Make it With You.

As a Philly soul fan I was interested to hear the 2 Gamble Huff songs - Cherished and Goodbye. They continue - as do all the bonus tracks here - in the same style as the original album. No obvious Philly sound then, but still great music, with an especially strong vocal performance on Cherished.

So, 25 tracks, beautifully packaged, in a fold out cardboard cover, containing an interesting booklet and several photos.

An essential purchase, not just for soul fans but for anyone who appreciates timeless quality. I'm now off to track down more of Dusty's stuff, & I bet others will too after hearing this set!

100% recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty In Memphis: Dusty Springfield - So Much Love!, 28 Oct 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dusty in Memphis [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Even in the midst of all the great music Dusty Springfield recorded, there is one album that stands head and shoulders above the rest - the sublime Dusty In Memphis. Recorded in Memphis after a bit of a lull in her career, Dusty worked with the finest producer (Jerry Wexler) and musicians of the time to produce an album of classic soul. Clearly it was music that she loved, and she poured her heart into it. Tracks such as `Son Of A Preacher Man', Windmills Of Your Mind' and `Breakfast In Bed' are out and out classics. With the best material, best co-workers and the finest soul voice England ever produced, it was guaranteed to be good, and it was. I cannot find the correct superlatives to describe this album, it is just classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty In Memphis: Dusty Springfield - So Much Love!, 28 Oct 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Even in the midst of all the great music Dusty Springfield recorded, there is one album that stands head and shoulders above the rest - the sublime Dusty In Memphis. Recorded in Memphis after a bit of a lull in her career, Dusty worked with the finest producer (Jerry Wexler) and musicians of the time to produce an album of classic soul. Clearly it was music that she loved, and she poured her heart into it. Tracks such as `Son Of A Preacher Man', Windmills Of Your Mind' and `Breakfast In Bed' are out and out classics. With the best material, best co-workers and the finest soul voice England ever produced, it was guaranteed to be good, and it was. I cannot find the correct superlatives to describe this album, it is just classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa855bc)

This product

Dusty in Memphis
Dusty in Memphis by Dusty Springfield (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews