Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking..
an exellent read..from a fast dwindling world, there;s not many travelling adventures left,,but this is surely one..thank you mike for an enthralling account..
Published 9 months ago by byron

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JOURNE7Y TO MONGOLIA
INFORMATIVE,WELL ILLUSTRATED ON A JOURNEY IN SEARCH OF GENGHIS KHANS JOUIRNEY THROUGH MONGOLIA AND BEYOND-A MUST FOR THOSE HAVING INTEREST IN HISTORY OF MONGOLIA AND SILK ROAD-RECOMMENDED. NO PROBLEMS ABOUT PACKING DESPATCHAND MEETING DELIVERY DATES.-WELL DONE AMAZON
Published 9 months ago by GEOFFREY COTTERELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking.., 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an exellent read..from a fast dwindling world, there;s not many travelling adventures left,,but this is surely one..thank you mike for an enthralling account..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only read a quarter of the book so far. It is a good read if you enjoy travel books. The author has done a great deal of research on the Mongolians and their past conquests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An 'Epic' journey in every sense of that word, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating mixture of adventure and historical narrative. Surely one of the best travel books of late; it has kept me gripped and diverted me from so many other things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent well worth reading, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
flash

take the journey! a brilliant enjoyable and informative book. well worth the five star rating. this is great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A eulogy for a lost way of life, 27 April 2014
By 
Miss J. M. Austin (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard about this book during an interview with Cope that I saw on the morning news, and immediately my ears pricked up. This was not only an opportunity to read a fascinating piece of travel literature, but also to cover several hard to find countries from the Around the World Reading Challenge in one book. Although it was a lengthy read, that took me, a relatively fast reader more than week to digest, it was well worth the effort and easily one of the best pieces of travel writing I have come across.

When Cope first started on this adventure, which due partly to red tape and partly to personal crises took three years to complete, he had little knowledge or experience of horsemanship. This was then an extremely ambitious journey and he depended heavily on the locals in the form of various nomadic peoples for support, along with his former girlfriend (who accompanied him for the first two months of his trek) and other members of his extended circle of family and friends.

The book can also be seen as a historic text book for it details in some depth the history and geography of the places he travelled through, in particular in the context of Soviet influence. His animals of course also played a pivotal role, and the relationships with these are also covered in depth. In some ways this book could be seen as a mourning for a lost way of life. It is a monumental piece of work, epic in is scope and no review could really even begin to give it justice. This for me has to be five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars genghis khan, 4 Mar 2014
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent account of a young Australians 10,000km. jouyrney from Karakorum (Mongolia) to Opusztazer (Hungary) batween July 2004 and September 2007 accompanyed for a short way by a girlfriend and a dog-Tigon-adopted in Kazakhstan tracing the route of Gengthis Khan 800 years previously.
The book is divided into 6 sections -Mongolia,Kazakhstan,Russia,Crimea, Ukraine and Hungary.
What is so good about the book is how the author blends his journey with the details of Khans invasion -a monumental piece of work.
The maps are qui9te good but the pictures are too small to be of value.A film and tv Programme have been made of the book.
A ten star book-highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On the Trail of Genghis Khan, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.Very interesting work with detailed information of the conditions of the people he met on the way. Would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Cope Does it Again!!!!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tim Cope does it again, his written experiences allow the reader to believe you are travelling with him. Great Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 14 Jan 2014
By 
I asked for this book for Christmas, having seen trailers for the DVD. I was prepared to be disappointed but in fact I was enthralled almost all the way through. Tim Cope writes very well. His often self-deprecating humour and stories of the events along the trail are interspersed with informative historical and cultural asides which makes this much more interesting than a standard "I went there, I did that...." travel book.

The enormity of the undertaking becomes increasingly apparent as you get deeper into the book, as do the links between the various groups of nomadic herders and those descended from them. The bonds he develops with his horses and his dog also strengthen during the journey. I was glad to see that details of what happened to the animals were included at the end.

A most impressive book, and a most impressive journey. A recommended read for anyone interested in travel "off the beaten track".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my son inlaw and he loves the book, he is not easy to buy for an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews