Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining thriller
This novel is one of a series which concentrates on a PI firm led by Jack Morgan - I hadn't read any others in the series and this didn't spoil my enjoyment.

There are three interwoven plot lines here - Jack's problems with his brother (the only bit where I could have done with some information from previous books), a threat from a terrorist group, and the...
Published 6 months ago by Anne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars soso
ard book to get into not as riviting as other PRIVATEbooks i have read not so hard to put down
Published 1 month ago by barbs


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining thriller, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Private L.A.: (Private 7) (Kindle Edition)
This novel is one of a series which concentrates on a PI firm led by Jack Morgan - I hadn't read any others in the series and this didn't spoil my enjoyment.

There are three interwoven plot lines here - Jack's problems with his brother (the only bit where I could have done with some information from previous books), a threat from a terrorist group, and the disappearance of two major film stars in unusual circumstances. The author moves around from one story line to another but it is very easy to follow the different sub-plots. The characterisation is not very deep but the characters are not entirely cardboard and there is some interesting stuff about PTSD and how it affects people.

This is highly entertaining writing and an enjoyable thriller of the sort for which this author is known. It doesn't do to get too picky about the details of the plot or how realistic it would be for the firm to be called in to handle these investigations - you need to suspend a bit of disbelief and just enjoy the journey. This is an easy to read thriller, presented in short chapters, full of action and with some witty banter - if that is the sort of novel that you like (and I do from time to time) or you are a fan of this author or David Baldacci, then you will very much enjoy this. I received a free copy of this novel via NetGalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fast paced, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private L.A.: (Private 7) (Kindle Edition)
A good read with a few unexpected twists but let down by some very predictable plot lines which were telegraphed many chapters beforehand. Private needs to move on from the Carmine/Tommy subplot which is getting a bit old now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private L.A.: (Private 7) (Kindle Edition)
Being a huge fan of James Patterson I have enjoyed all the Private novels so far. They are exciting and keep you glued to the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars soso, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private L.A.: (Private 7) (Kindle Edition)
ard book to get into not as riviting as other PRIVATEbooks i have read not so hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say I enjoyed it but not one of his best. I will still keep reading James Patterson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private L.A.: (Private 7) (Kindle Edition)
i'm a massive fan of james and read every alex cross,every womens murder club,every michael bennett and every private book going so i think i know a bit about the way he writes!! but this book never really gets going,theres no suspense and nothing to really hold the reader. i was very disappointed and just hope its a one off blip.its just not up to james' normal work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous books, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private L.A.: (Private 7) (Kindle Edition)
I think James Patterson is now running out of ideas with this series. Some of the story was a little far fetched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Patterson at his best all the private books have been great and I always look forward to the next one the same as his womens murder club series and Michael Bennett series and alex cross series. his stand alone thrillers are really good as well. look forward to more of his books being turned into movies .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!!!!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private L.A.: (Private 7) (Kindle Edition)
Love the Private series....can't wait for the next one!!! Where in the world will he go next... Thanks James the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical patterson, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private L.A.: (Private 7) (Kindle Edition)
I am a avid reader of Patterson and buy his books on day of release, this book didn't disappoint. Fast paced and action packed, true Patterson style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Private L.A.: (Private 7)
Private L.A.: (Private 7) by James Patterson
1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews