Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars18
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2014
This review contains a spoiler.

I started 'Museum Hours' pretty unengaged and finished it in tears without really understanding how I can moved from point A to B. For a conventional narrative film, it has some pretty strange, associative editing. The film captures authentically awkward/ human performances by Mary Margaret O'Hara and Bobby Sommer, which slowly win you over just through decency alone, rather than any particular magnetism or charm. You get to see the Kunsthistorisches Art Museum intimately, from different viewpoints and are privileged to experience a very engaging lecture on Brueghel. I found it life-infused and infusing. If you like museums and quiet contemplation, then I'd sincerely recommend this film.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
I saw this little masterpiece immediately upon its UK release in early September - at an exceptionally well attended matinee screening at the Cornerhouse, Manchester. As the previous reviewers have stated, the film dwells a great deal on some of the paintings housed at the Museum of Art History in Vienna...especially those of Peter Breugel the Elder. Immediately we are bewitched by their sense of mystery - and all the possible meanings that the passage of the intervening centuries has hidden from us. But we are also taken on a voyage of exploration - through the magnificent gallery, through the bleak but beautiful winter cityscape and through the layers of Vienna's own fascinating history. The chance meeting that leads to a touching friendship between the room guide and the visitor provides us with further insights into the very things that must have preoccupied those early painters - the joy of living, mortality and the transience of things.

I saw this movie on the Saturday. On the Monday I was on the plane to Vienna - and by the Tuesday morning I was experiencing the Museum of Art History for myself. Can any film have a higher recommendation than that?

Since seeing this film at the movies I have purchased the American Blu Ray edition (released by Cinema Guild) from Amazon.com - the good news is that it is region free - and of course you get to see those paintings in high definition.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
It's a strange film. No doubt about that. It is the intertwining of the relationship (platonic) between a Canadian who has to come to Vienna because she was called by the staff at a hospital. Her cousin is in a coma and she is the only living relative. She has to borrow the money to get there and has no choice but to live within her limited means while in the city - which is one of the most expensive in Europe. To get by, and fill in the time between hospital visits she looks for cheap or free places to see - and the art museum is high on the list. She becomes a regular visitor. While there she asks one of the 'invisible' supervisors we see from the corner of our eyes when we visit art galleries for some directions and advice. Standing rather than sitting they blend in with the background to check nothing untoward happens to the paintings.

They get on well and he shows her around the city and in doing so rediscovers it himself. If you are looking for the touristy parts then forget it. Underpinning all the sights shown in the film is the connection with the paintings of Bruegel. You many never have heard of him but you will be familiar with his work. He was the link between medieval and renaissance painting.He showed 16th century living in very clear detail - warts and all. The topics painted by him are given parallels in the modern world and we are surprised at how ordinary they really are despite the fact that we would marvel at them in the paintings.

The last 15 minutes or so really brings home these parallels and gives a voice-over of a contemporary scene as though a painting being described some time in the future. It might make you see paintings in a whole new light. It is a slow burner and you do have to stick with it but it is worth it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2014
Museum Hours is a film documentary with a fictive narrative set in Vienna,the city and the Kunsthistorisches Art Museum.Johann(Bobby Sommer) a guard,encounters Anne(Mary Margeret O'Hara),a foreign visitor called to Austria because of the poor health of a cousin,who is in hospital with a coma.These two characters,are loosely based on their real lives,one a singer getting some work in Canada through the support of friends,the other having been a manager in the punk music business.The film just hangs together on the fragile narrative,as Anne asks for help finding the hospital from the museum guard,she doesn't speak German,and he also shows her around Vienna to parts he hasn't seen in a long time,the less touristy parts.They strike up a friendship useful to them both.He is gay but his lover has deceased,she is lonely,poor and a long way from home.They cheer each other up and keep each other amused. He gives her a free pass to the Museum,so she can come whenever she wants and look at the art works,from the Egyptians,Greeks and Romans,via Cranach and Breughel up to the Dutch and Renaisance painters.They both go to the hospital.

The film is shot on 16 mm and digital(interiors) and has a palette of dark hues and autumnal and winter tones.I found the film hard to get into at 1st,having to watch it at least 3 times to let it grow on me.What I found difficult is that the film has no real action,drama or plot elements to hook you or draw you in.There are many darkened scenes hard to make out and the sound is poor,the articulation fuzzy.When characters speak their faces are often in the dark or they're shot from the side so you can't even see their lips or faces.There is little animation(they being strangers to each other),yet they are just plausible enough to believe in.They are also both non-actors.There are no subtitles (apart from when he speaks German,optional).

Having said that I liked the idea of the Art Museum as being a special space where the public can view works of art free of considerations of price (apart from the price of entry),where the viewer's gaze transports them to this other world,set free from considerations of time and cost,reaping the harvest of value,history and beauty.The central art works under consideration are Breugel's.The lecturer offers her own overview:the focus of his paintings was not the ostensible subject.He painted all of humanity,the `hallucination of the real',elements from allegory and folklore.He even disguised himself as a peasant to be able to paint their lives.She refers to Auden's description of the Fall of Icarus,how Breugel depicts the event,the world going on as if nothing has happened. But the realistic observation of Bruegel was more at liberty when, in his last period, he frankly took the life about him as his subject, for it had been that which interested him chiefly even when depicting sacred themes.He also had a vast conception of nature,new to his time.The film connects the classical art and the streets,what's inside and what's outside the museum.

Somewhere towards the end Johann remarks "One begins to wonder what the real subject is"while describing an old woman walking up a path.In another scene Anne looking at a painting of a late Rembrandt says,"there doesn't seem much there,as if it came from nothing and will go back to nothing.There's a lot of detail in thedarkness."Far be it for me to use these quotes to undermine the film's intent,but they are telling.What was especially good was the way the film shot images outside the museum which matches imagery of the paintings of Breugel,like birds in the trees,on the ground or in flight,or images of detritus,cans,egg-shells,gloves.The inspiration for the film is John Berger's famous Ways of Seeing, expressing gratitude to him in the end -credits.Johann watches the viewers studying the works of art,the babies, the schoolkids,bored or dallying to see the erotic work or scenes of cut off heads.In another scene he slyly has the adult onlookers become as naked as the painted nudes they look upon.

The 2 songs Margaret O'Hara sings are her 1st original compositions since 2000.Cohen `s film is rooted in photography and emphasises anonymity.We also get Breughel's `snapshots' of lived experience.The voiceover comes from Johann watching the film himself.We get a sense of the transcience of things,everything seen in relation to each other,with no sense of hierarchy and separation.Cohen's interest is in themarginal,found and outsider art.He locates in a café frequented by immigrants,with all their posters,photos framed on a wall,toilet signs, shows a democratic gaze.As we depart the museum,shots of cranes,a little old lady walking away,images of junk shop wares, the hangers left in Anne's ward-drobe as she leaves city and Johann behind,the procession of images glides past and disappears.Friendship has altered Anne's way of looking.The film has found a way to connect the past and present with transcient images.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
I read a review from a portuguese critic and decided to see the movie. It's a wonderful sensitive film that teaches us to appreciate the beauty in everyday life. Highly recommendable for those who are already motivated to think about art and life, but also for those who are a little more distracted!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Unfortunately this DVD does not have subtitles, apart from the odd German phrases obviously, and I found the sound quality very poor. I bought the DVD because I enjoyed the film when I saw it in the cinema and I wanted to enjoy it again. I did not find a problem with the sound there and visually the paintings shown in close detail were stunning on the big screen. A disappointment at home.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Much more exciting to see paint dry or grass grow...what is that all about? There could have been a lovely, interesting plot: all the actors have a story to tell, but a story is what is missing here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
This film did disappoint me after reading some of the good reviews on here for it. I must be missing what these other reviewers could see. I was prepared that nothing much, as far as a storyline was concerned, would happen. I knew it wasn’t going to be that type of film. But if that’s the case, it has to make up for that in other ways. Perhaps make you think, or see the world in a different way. But it didn’t do this either. It just plodded on. It wasn’t a complete waste of an hour or two of my life, because seeing some of the beautiful art and artifacts at Vienna’s Kunsthistoriches Museum brought back memories of our visit a few years ago and the Brueghel lecture and attention was interesting, but I was hoping for so much more from this film.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Gentle, riveting. Have bought it for my daughter to show her that all drama isn't violent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
I loved this! beautiful film and great for art lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.