Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT BECOMES A 'BLOOD-BATH'
Maybe the owners search for intruders should have been completed,
not doing so becomes a fatal mistake.
The Davidson family and partners have a get-together, during a lively
debate at the dinner table, arrows start flying through the window.
A gang wearing animal masks are about to join the gathering leading to
a frenzy of blood-letting.
One...
Published 11 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this a comedy?
Having watched this movie, I actually think it is done as a comedy. Okay it is a gruesome one, and some of the gory scenes are just that, but it is so tongue in cheek, you can tickle your own tonsils. It is actually quite watchable, but don't have high expectations and you may enjoy it. I won't be recommending it to anyone, but in a strange way, I did like it.
Published 6 months ago by Ricoh


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Dec 2013
This review is from: You're Next [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This Movie Is The Best But What I don't get is why is it not Coming Out till Jan 14th? When it came out in 2011?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but dumb, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Next (Amazon Instant Video)
Good fun, strong female lead but ultimately pretty silly.

Still worth watching on a dark night in on your own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome low budget slasher movie, 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. F. P. Moon (Hull, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You're Next (DVD)
You reckon when you've seen one home invasion movie you've seen them all but in this we've got a couple of slightly different twists to the usual jump out of your seat moments. However by the close of the film although I was enjoying the movie I kinda knew were it was heading but still worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite your normal slasher pic, 6 April 2014
'You're Next' is directed by one of the rapidly rising new(ish) stars of horror, Adam Wingard, whose most high-profile other releases include nerve-shredding segments in VHS and VHS 2. As such, you may know that he likes to lead you to expect 'same-old' and then wrong-foot you.
Therefore, we get the expected film-opening dramatic scene, and then the establishing segment as the main stars the members of the Davison family, head home for a weekend with the parents. Although shot cinematically, the direction has an almost found-footage feel due to the freedom of movement the camera is given. Much of the film is quite naturalistically lit, adding to the feeling, which I found increased the tension. The actors also perform in quite a naturalistic manner, enhancing the mood further. The cast are a diverse bunch and instead of the usual tired selection of pretty teens we get three very different brothers who range from late twenties to early forties, a sister in her twenties and their various partners, and a mother and father figure who actually feel parental. The dialogue is enjoyable as the family members bicker, snipe and chat in a way that will feel instantly relatable to anyone who's been to an awkward family gathering where they haven't seen each other for ages. However it isn't long before sudden violence bursts out unannounced as masked trespassers begin trying to kill everybody for an unknown reason, and the situation dissolves into a need for pure survival.
Sharni Vinson is excellent as the central character, with great acting support which surprisingly includes several horror directors (Ti West and Joe Swanberg excellent as a standout sarcastic older brother among them).
Many emotions are portrayed much more realistically than normal for a slasher movie, with the actors managing to show grief, fear, and reasoning under duress in a way that's convincing rather than just 'stagey' or typically Hollywood. The plot isn't completely original, and the death-by-numbers plot has been done a lot of times. But sometimes it's not the ingredients that matter, it's how you cook them. It's the difference between a rubbery omelette or one that melts in the mouth. This one had a great chef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should get it, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Next (Amazon Instant Video)
It was ok but not the best film I've seen and not the best actors. But it was worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a b movie IMO, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: You're Next (Amazon Instant Video)
Acting from the no-namers was really cheesy so it could have been a b movie . Soundtrack was good though.

Kind of guessed the twist but it was still enjoyable viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical horror, 13 Mar 2014
I was looking forward to this film after seeing the trailer and reading the plot synopsis but after watching it I just feel like it was another typical slasher film with a little bit of humour. More of the same but worth a watch don't expect to be frightened though. Fans of films like Scream will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plus point strong female lead, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: You're Next (DVD)
Oh dear.Just how many times does this genre of film need to be remade,and remade,and remade?!.Thinly veiled plot - mainly just a slasher type film that i personally found very predictable.Film managed to steer clear of the normal multi layered moralistic killing hit list.Although I did wonder what the opening scene of the film hoped to achieve?or maybe it was just the obligatory measure of sex that is a staple of these types of films.Some good SFX however and nice to see the emergence of more strong female leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RENTER, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: You're Next [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Not bad about a family dinner that turns into a massacre but worth renting only
Two commentaries on the dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pedestrian, 22 Aug 2014
By 
After seeing rave reviews for this filmn in several film magazines, I was keen to see this, expecting something shocking. But no-very disappointing film with a pedestrian plot and a surprise twist you'll see coming a mile due to the way one of the actors play her part. Not worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You're Next [DVD] [2011]
You're Next [DVD] [2011] by Adam Wingard (DVD - 2014)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews