Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT BECOMES A 'BLOOD-BATH'
Maybe the owners search for intruders should have been completed,
not doing so becomes a fatal mistake.
The Davidson family and partners have a get-together, during a lively
debate at the dinner table, arrows start flying through the window.
A gang wearing animal masks are about to join the gathering leading to
a frenzy of blood-letting.
One...
Published 16 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average
Competant house invasion/slasher movie that starts slowly but picks up the pace for the final 20 minutes, and with a twist at the end. Not particularly scary but with violent scenes hence it's age rating, it offers little in way of originality but is still worth watching at the right price.
Published 8 months ago by PF Cope


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT BECOMES A 'BLOOD-BATH', 18 Jan. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe the owners search for intruders should have been completed,
not doing so becomes a fatal mistake.
The Davidson family and partners have a get-together, during a lively
debate at the dinner table, arrows start flying through the window.
A gang wearing animal masks are about to join the gathering leading to
a frenzy of blood-letting.
One by one the occupants meet a bloody end, Who's Next ?
Will anyone survive this night ?
Only one of the occupants have the courage to fight back.
Not everything is as straight forward as it seems however.
For me, very little in the way of tension, no real jump out of your skin
moments, somewhat predictable......however there certainly is plenty of
gore.....on the plus side, maybe a little sinister, and pretty graphic,
may make you cringe once in a while, but, nothing unexpected however.
In truth, it fell short of expectations......not, terrifying, though it does have
a bit of a twist in it's tail.
(Maybe there are too many movies like this around these days....no real
surprises to be had)
Predictable perhaps.
Special features include:- 'No Ordinary Invasion' 'Audio Commentary with
'Adam Wingard' 'Simon Barrett' 'Sharni Vinson' and 'Barbra Crampton'......
also Audio Commentary with 'Adam Wingard' and 'Sam Barrett'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You're Next, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
You’re next is a brilliantly gory, action packed thrill ride of a horror film. It sets up much the same as any other slasher film and lulls you into a sense of familiarity. Then the action kicks in and all bets are off.

The cast get picked off quickly and efficiently, it doesn’t give you time to breath. Whilst not overly scary (what is these days) it will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Gory without being gratuitous (in most cases) and inventive with its kills, You’re Next serves up a feast for any horror fan. Adam Wingard directs with verve and power and is certainly someone to watch.

General stereotypes are avoided and this dysfunctional family are fun to watch. They are not given time to grow but that doesn’t harm the film. A couple of thrown in twists towards the end also help to keep you interested.

Modern Horror that actually succeeds in what it sets out to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GETTING BEAT UP BY A GIRL,, 14 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You're Next [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The Davidson family gets together for mom and dad's 35th reunion. The kids and their bf/gfs are there for what starts out a bit snarky at dinner, then sudden arrows start coming through the windows killing people. The slasher aspect gets up close and personal, as we try to figure out the motive of the slashers (not too hard from the few clues) as there are no other characters introduced. The killers hadn't planned on plucky Erin (Sharni Vinson) fighting back.

This is perhaps one of the better home break-in slasher movies I have seen in a while, which isn't saying much. A little horror, a little, drama, a little humor, a little mystery. Definitely worth a rental for fans of the genre.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, nudity (Kate Lyn Sheil, Margaret Laney)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 9 July 2014
This review is from: You're Next [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I love this movie a lot as it is something different to a lot of horror films and a really good slasher film
it has a lot of blood and loads of gore in this movie if you love slasher movies then you wont be disappointed
by this movie I would recommended this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 20 May 2014
By 
L. J. Burnett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Next [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I liked this movie but would not class it as pure horror, it's more of a thriller and a good one too, with a strong female lead, finally a girl that doesn't squeal and quiver her way through barely heard dialog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gloriously gruesome graphic gory and one hell of an entertaining show. A must see., 28 Oct. 2014
I didn't buy You're Next from amazon (I got it cheap at a supermarket) but I just finished watching it and I wanted to ramble about the film. I liked this film. A lot. It was very, very violent which I like. It was also gleefully gory too which I love. That having been typed it is no torture porn a la hostel or saw. The acting is actually not that bad. The film starts off a bit slow but once the action starts it doesn't let up. There some truly and genuinely inventive executions here and there's even some humour too (tho it's pitch black). As a fan of slasher movies this one is a must. It's tense and terrific. This film earns it's 18 certificate through is use of strong, bloody violence. There's also some naked titties for the straights (guys). There is a twist that I didn't see coming. And there's a final excellent kill. There's also extras including not one but two commentaries (one with two actresses). Plus there's optional SDH / HOH subtitles. On viewing this it makes me all the more excited for the directors next film. (The Guest with the dreamy Dan Stevens) Do yourself a favour and see this film. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bloody fun, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Next [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A great little horror,with blood,guts and Gore,the film has some great twists a good slasher .families who needs them.recommended bloody fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You're Next [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Competant house invasion/slasher movie that starts slowly but picks up the pace for the final 20 minutes, and with a twist at the end. Not particularly scary but with violent scenes hence it's age rating, it offers little in way of originality but is still worth watching at the right price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, just terrible. Sack the camera man!, 3 May 2015
By 
L. Tonge "tcvs" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You're Next [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Well, that's 90 minutes of my life I won't get back!

I get it. Everyone has different tastes in film. However, I cannot for the life of me find one positive for this movie.

The story is pretty obvious from about 30 minutes in...the characters are all irritating (particularly the Mother!)...there's the token "adult / nudity" scenes that apparently is now essential for a horror film...but worst of all is the camera movement!!!!! I thought Blair Witch Project was bad back in the day - but at least that was filmed as though it were a personal home video. This wasn't! At one point, the camera man could have been jumping up and down on the spot and it would have still been more steady than what we were having to watch. It was so bad, I felt travel sick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars house of scares, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this one was very good defending the house against these masked raiders
the girl was excellent and so to wre some of the raiders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You're Next [DVD] [2011]
You're Next [DVD] [2011] by Adam Wingard (DVD - 2014)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews