Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTING AND UNIQUE! WHERE WAS THIS FILM ON BAFTA DAY (2014)?
This surprising film is an archetype of where quality British cinema is ‘at’ these days. Reminiscent of Lynne Ramsay‘s short films, Paul Wright‘s For Those In Peril is a haunting allegory to those lost at sea. Set on the west coast of Scotland, Aaron (GEORGE MACKAY – THE BOYS ARE BACK) is the sole survivor of a fishing boat crew that...
Published 11 months ago by mr a e roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Creative but longwinded
It was a a good directoral debut, but I found it a bit boring at times and not credible that the whole community would turn their back on him.
Published 10 months ago by Samantha Zarzosa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTING AND UNIQUE! WHERE WAS THIS FILM ON BAFTA DAY (2014)?, 15 Mar. 2014
This review is from: For Those in Peril (DVD)
This surprising film is an archetype of where quality British cinema is ‘at’ these days. Reminiscent of Lynne Ramsay‘s short films, Paul Wright‘s For Those In Peril is a haunting allegory to those lost at sea. Set on the west coast of Scotland, Aaron (GEORGE MACKAY – THE BOYS ARE BACK) is the sole survivor of a fishing boat crew that included his brother Michael (JORDAN YOUNG). The boat sank in mysterious circumstances and he is suffering psyche-changing ‘survivor’s guilt.’ However the townsfolk, led by the families of the lost also compound his sorrow by ostracising him at every turn. Some call him a jonah, others blame his lack of experience for the ‘accident.’ Only Aaron’s mother, played by Kate Dickie (PROMETHEUS) and his brother’s fiancee (NICHOLA BURLEY - KICKS) spend any serious time with him. His claims that his brother may still be alive only serve to unnerve and upset everybody even more. He becomes obsessed with his quest to find his lost brother because of a childhood story his mother told them. Endangering all those he comes into contact with could he actually be right? Could his brother be somewhere just beyond the horizon?

Flashbacks play a large part of For Those In Peril. Silent movies shot on Super 8, or highly filtered memories of Aaron and Michael’s childhood invade the present day scenes like ghosts. Aaron’s quest is prompted by strong memories of childhood games of hide and seek. Phone cameras and video cameras also seem to house Michael’s ghost. The missing brother is everywhere in the film. It’s very easy to get swept up in Aaron’s quest although it’s physically impossible that Michael could be in his house undiscovered. The town’s superstitions isolate him to the extent that his quest literally sends him completely mental. His insistence that his friends had come into contact with the devil in the sea becomes a central focus leading to an unexpected yet utterly beautiful and sad ending that makes us reassess all that we have been watching.

The performances from the largely Scots cast are fantastic from the leads down to the featured extras. George Mackay seems to be making a name for himself in large Britpics like Sunshine On Leith and How I Live Now but For Those In Peril contains his best performance to date. He looks pallid and ill, convincing as the utterly disturbed Aaron. The locations, editing, cinematography and ultimately the very impressive soundtrack elevate this unique film even further. It’s a bit slow to be sure, but it’s worth staying with until the utterly shattering and brilliant denouement.

8.5 out of 10 - Emotionally satisfying film that is quietly unique. Highly recommended. Please stay to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classy Independent Movie, 19 Mar. 2014
By 
R. J. Muirhead (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Those In Peril [DVD] (DVD)
This is a first rate moody, deep, and often disturbing movie exploring the aftermath of a fishing boat tragedy and the challenges facing the only survivor. The photography, direction and acting are first class, George Mackay , a young actor with a growing reputation portrays the main character impeccably, definitely a rising star in the making. BAFTA winning movie and well deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful emotional experience...just what a film should be, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Those In Peril [DVD] (DVD)
A truly harrowing and powerful film. All the more so having spent many years living in the environments where it is filmed, ie Gourdon, St Cyrus, Stonehaven. I've watched this film now several times and it still leaves me in a state of heightened emotion....but then I want that kind of experience from a film be it joy, excitement, sadness whatever. Powerful performances form everyone involved but an outstanding performances from George Mackay and Kate Dickie. A none too obvious or predictable story line (other than building towards a powerful climax). An incredible portrayal of loss, grief and slow disintegration and alienation. The sense of alienation, of loneliness of the sole survivor is very strong and at times in danger of being overwhelming...but always kept just in check. The odd moments of joy in Aaron's life are keenly felt....as are the lonely moments. But this is what film should be about...powerful imagery and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, cathartic and there is no avoiding it:..haunting....one of the best films I have ever seen, 29 Jan. 2015
This review is from: For Those in Peril (DVD)
I just looked back at my rental list history. We are not prolific LoveFilm renters but I note that we have watched some 108 films over the last 3 years or so. I watched this film about 5 months ago but decided not to review it at the time because I thought my feelings of approaching a kind of awe were probably akin to that feeling when you leave a cinema and are still sort of not quite back in reality. So now I am prepared to say that For Those In Peril is the best film of the 108 that we have hired to date. The word 'haunting' has been used in other reviews and averse to repetition as I am, I am afraid that there is no appropriate synonym that can replace it. You see the thing is: it is still haunting me 5 months later. I keep experiencing flashbacks. The dénouement itself is breathtaking, bold, surreal and cathartic. That the accompanying finale music 'Devil In The Ocean' by a little-known Swedish composer, Erik Enocksson, is simply stunning, escalates the simultaneous numbness and exaltation that I experienced at the end. Earlier in the film, during what in any other director's hands might have been an inconsequential scene, is similarly elevated to the sublimely poignant a Karaoke rendition by the mother of "The First Time, Ever I Saw Your Face', which continues to....yes....haunt. How the director manages to keep the viewer just the wrong side of comfortable throughout, whilst imbuing the whole with seemingly just the right amount of pathos, is unfathomable. This film is one of the greatest films I have ever seen and should be lauded as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Promising British Film Debut, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: For Those In Peril [DVD] (DVD)
Fife-born writer/director Paul Wright’s 2013 full feature debut For Those In Peril treads a relatively well-worn path – essentially that of the isolating and obsessive effects of grief – but does so with such a degree of cinematic flair and intense realism (from an uniformly excellent cast) that (for me, at least) raises Wright’s film above many of its 'genre’. For Those In Peril also showcases a bravura, all-consuming central performance from George MacKay as Aaron, who has recently 'lost’ his brother (Jordan Young’s Michael) and fellow North Sea fishermen (assumed dead) in an unexplained accident – earmarking MacKay as a potential top acting talent of the future. Stylistically, Wright (and cinematographer Benjamin Kracun) deliver an impressively claustrophobic spectacle, intercutting grainy/vérité-like footage (at times calling to my mind Shane Meadows’ Dead Man’s Shoes or early Lynne Ramsay) with more conventional shots, featuring some stunning, surrealistic imagery – creating an increasingly tense atmosphere, which is accentuated by Swede Erik Enocksson’s haunting score.

MacKay does a particularly good job as the depressed and vulnerable, but increasingly guilt-ridden and manic loner, as the local community begin to point the finger of guilt ('Jonah!’) over the circumstances of the accident – Lewis Howden’s father of one of the missing crew, Davie, and (the ever-reliable) Michael Smiley as the increasingly resentful Frank, father of Michael’s sympathetic ex-girlfriend, Jane (an impressive Nichola Burley) turning in frighteningly realistic performances. And, as Aaron’s deluded and dream-like optimism begins to boil over, pleading with church-goers in a powerful scene and cobbling together a makeshift 'boat’ in which to go searching (homemade harpoon in hand, 'Ahab-like’) for his ‘missing’ brother, even his mother, Cathy (an excellent Kate Dickie) begins to doubt his state of mind, ('You said if we stay together everything will be alright’).

In general, Wright’s film is uncompromising and steers clear of sentimentality (other than perhaps Cathy’s karaoke rendition of The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face) and provides a powerful and shocking denouement, marking out the first-time director as one to watch for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Resonating and profoundly elegiac...", 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Those In Peril [DVD] (DVD)
Scottish screenwriter and director Paul Wright`s feature film debut which he wrote, premiered in the International Critics` Week section at the 66th Cannes International Film Festival in 2013, was screened in the Michael Powell Award Competition section at the 67th Edinburgh International Film Festival in 2013, was shot on locations in Scotland and is a UK production which was produced by producers Mary Burke and Polly Stokes. It tells the story about a son and brother named Aaron who lives with his mother named Cathy in Gourdon, Aberdeenshire in Scotland. After returning from a fishing boat accident where his brother named Michael and four other men were taken by the sea, the citizens of the community wonders why he doesn`t have any memory of what happened and places the blame for the accident on him. Although Aaron becomes alienated, he is convinced that his brother his still alive.

Distinctly and acutely directed by Scottish filmmaker Paul Wright, this quietly paced fictional tale which is narrated by the main character and mostly from his viewpoint, draws a heartrendingly reflective portrayal of a sole survivor whom whilst missing his brother hangs on to a childhood story his mother used to tell him and his brother when they got scared, and turns to his brother`s girlfriend named Jane whom he thinks is the only one that will believe him. While notable for its naturalistic, distinct and atmospheric milieu depictions, versatile cinematography by cinematographer Benjamin Kracun, production design by production designer Simon Rogers and use of sound, colors and light, this character-driven, monologue-driven and narrative-driven story where a fairy-tale becomes a reality to a person who believes that everything will be fine again if he can bring his brother back, depicts a densely internal study of character and contains a great and timely score by composer Erik Enocksson.

This eloquently mysterious, distinguishable and somewhat sociological indie which is set in a coastal village in Scotland in the 21st century and where the one who were not taken by the sea takes on a responsibility for something he isn`t responsible for so that things can return to the way they were and a mother stands by her ostracized son, is impelled and reinforced by its fragmented narrative structure, substantial character development, rhythmic continuity, powerful use of music, remarkable use of flashback scenes, humane examination of its central themes, the singular acting performance by English actor George Mackay and the reverent acting performances by Scottish actress Kate Dickie, English actress Nichola Burley and Scottish actor Jordan Young. A resonating and profoundly elegiac audio-visual poem for those in peril at sea which gained the Douglas Hickox Award Paul Wright at the 16th Möet British Independent Film Awards in 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Those In Peril [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting story for those of us interested in seafaring in small boats. May be of interest only to those of like mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Creative but longwinded, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a a good directoral debut, but I found it a bit boring at times and not credible that the whole community would turn their back on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its a cold as the Scottish setting but its a little creepy and i enjoyed it. The main character survives a fishing accident ..., 11 Oct. 2014
This review is from: For Those in Peril (DVD)
A wonderfull directed and acted small gem. Mackay shows that he will be a huge name soon and the director deserves to be. Its a cold as the Scottish setting but its a little creepy and i enjoyed it. The main character survives a fishing accident and thinks all his fellow sailors are alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ....and the mariner tells his tale!!!!, 5 Aug. 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For Those in Peril (DVD)
A good effort for a small budget story. Seeing how grief affects people in different ways was quite powerful, and a little quirky ending made this a good film if a little slow. Good music though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Those In Peril [DVD]
For Those In Peril [DVD] by Paul Wright (DVD - 2014)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews