Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Ghost-Story
Hey, Dusk maiden is a very good anime for a slightly older audience I'd suggest.. some of the episodes are pretty dark in spite of the general good humor of the series overall. It's a love-story set in a school, I won't bore you with another synopsis here, but also a supernatural thriller. I've been watching it online and would happily buy the series on DVD and would...
Published 9 months ago by Pixiegit7

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay
i was expecting this dvd collection to be better than it was. it was okay but nothing to write home about
Published 6 months ago by anthony mercer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Ghost-Story, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Hey, Dusk maiden is a very good anime for a slightly older audience I'd suggest.. some of the episodes are pretty dark in spite of the general good humor of the series overall. It's a love-story set in a school, I won't bore you with another synopsis here, but also a supernatural thriller. I've been watching it online and would happily buy the series on DVD and would recommend it to others who enjoy a darker flavored anime. I've been watching it in Japanese with subs which I enjoy even though it's a bit more work, but it would be interesting to watch it dubbed.. yes this package will definitely be on my wish-list for the future.. it's a really good story, one of the best animes I've watched recently.. a definite 5 stars from me! Px :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy meets Ghost, 24 Mar 2014
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD] (DVD)
While lost in the partially abandoned part of his school, Teiichi Niiya encounters the beautiful and lively Yuuko Kanoe, the ghost of a girl who died when the school first opened and who has since lost all memory of her past. Along with the supernatural obsessed Momoe Okonogi and Kirie Kanoe a living relative of Yuuko, Teiichi forms the Paranormal Investigation Club to study the school's many ghost stories and discover the truth about Yuuko's past.

This collection includes all twelve episodes on the 'Dusk Maiden of Amnesia' ('Tasogare Otome x Amnesia') anime along with an OVA and a slightly extended version of the final episode (although it is only a few minutes longer than the original). Based on a manga by the author Maybe, the anime drops quite a few of the story arcs and characters from the original due to being only twelve episodes long but the plot that is left remains good, being very funny in places and quite emotional in others. The ending of the anime is changed quite a bit (in some places being the opposite of the manga) but remains entertaining and is very emotional (I will admit I may have shed a tear at a couple of scenes.

The animation of the series is good with some extremely beautiful moments throughout such as for the entirety of the opening credits sequence and during the night swimming scene in episode four. The first-person perspective and cinema style used for the flashback in episode ten was also done very well.

The collection includes both the Japanese and English versions and while I do personally prefer the Japanese, the dub is still quite decent and keeps the Japanese honorifics. There were no voices in the English dub that I disliked with all the major cast members suiting their roles relatively well. Clint Bickham was good as Teiichi while Brittney Karbowski and Emily Neves were great as Okonogi and Yuuko respectively. I did have to get used to Jessica Boone as Kirie but she did grow on me eventually.

The OVA, Ghost Girl, is probably one of the funniest in the series (alongside the festival in episode five) and gives Kirie (probably my favourite character from the series) some more screen time. The collection also includes some Japanese cast commentaries, the usual clean opening and closing animations and a number of trailers.

While I do prefer the original manga, this anime of 'Dusk Maiden of Amnesia' is still extremely beautiful and is very entertaining. The series remains a good supernatural love story and is well worth a full five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of 5 stars, 8 Feb 2014
By 
D. P. Flanagan "ithuriel" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A quality anime that is very artistic, a ghostly romance mystery thriller that would be well worth adding to any decent anime collection and one that yet again shows that a limited number of episodes can pack a real punch story wise.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent supernatural romance, 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Teiichi Niiya has just enrolled at Seikyou private academy, a school which has so many very old and new buildings that it has become a disorienting creepy maze in places, gets lost inside whilst looking into a ghost story he has heard about.
Looking into a mirror he is startled when he sees a girl behind him, and she introduces herself as Yuko Kanoe a ghost who has no memories. Teiichi appears to be the only one who can see and touch Yuko, and together they form the Paranormal Investigations club("looking for new members" is posted on the door), with Yuko as the president, to investigate the mysteries surrounding the school, help those who are troubled and learn about Yuko's past, all the while Teiichi and Yuko grow closer.

But how close can a ghost and a living person get?

I am sucker for romance anime's and the plot line was intriguing to me and I had just finished Another, so I gave it a go. I am glad I did.
The plot is excellently written, with each episode having both laugh out loud moments (the club for the cultural festival has a haunted house theme and advertises "a genuine one might appear!?"), as well as some truly tender and touching moments. Some episodes are very sad and moving and liable to bring tears to some peoples eyes. The show will reach for all of your emotions at different times, sometimes flipping from one to another in quick succession.

The opening and closing music are excellent and really fit the show with the animation done as though Yuko is singing to you, and each one is slightly different to fit what has happened in the show (some differences are more obvious than others).

To summarise without giving away spoilers, if you liked the style of Another, the feels of Clannad and Angel Beats, mixed together with romantic comedy then you will enjoy this anime too (think Just Like Heaven).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Split Personality, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It took me a couple of episodes to grasp where this story was going but it turned out to be powerfully moving and I am really glad that I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Anime, 2 Mar 2014
By 
D. R. Phillips "rhino 42" (nuneaton/united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD] (DVD)
one of the finest animes I have watched in recent years the writing is amazing and it made me feel so many emotions some good some sad but the whole experience and story is well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD] (DVD)
i was expecting this dvd collection to be better than it was. it was okay but nothing to write home about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD]
Dusk Maiden Of Amnesia Collection [DVD] by Shin Onuma (DVD - 2014)
£19.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews