Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic anthology finally gets its due!
Dead of Night is a pioneering effort in the Brit anthology ghost story format that later led to the Amicus productions like Asylum or The House That Dripped Blood. What's pleasantly surprising is how well it holds up even today. In the framing story, a man visits a farmhouse where he meets a motley of strangers, and he has the sensation that he has seen them all in a...
Published 8 months ago by Sursubbu

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last, a great film restored!
The original camera negative of DEAD OF NIGHT perished in a fire 60 years ago and so available prints have been very poor over the years. The restoration here is therefore all the more remarkable and the picture quality is outstanding compared to previous releases. The only negative is the very poor sound quality which frankly renders some dialogue inaudible. My old...
Published 7 months ago by B. G. Carroll


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last, a great film restored!, 29 April 2014
By 
B. G. Carroll (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The original camera negative of DEAD OF NIGHT perished in a fire 60 years ago and so available prints have been very poor over the years. The restoration here is therefore all the more remarkable and the picture quality is outstanding compared to previous releases. The only negative is the very poor sound quality which frankly renders some dialogue inaudible. My old videotape recorded from TV 20 years ago is much better so I can't understand why this has happened. Possibly the soundtrack has deteriorated even more than the image? The film is a classic and a must-see for anyone interested in the genre. It is the finest 'ghost story' omibus on celluloid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic anthology finally gets its due!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Dead of Night is a pioneering effort in the Brit anthology ghost story format that later led to the Amicus productions like Asylum or The House That Dripped Blood. What's pleasantly surprising is how well it holds up even today. In the framing story, a man visits a farmhouse where he meets a motley of strangers, and he has the sensation that he has seen them all in a dream. This leads to each of the others talking about a supernatural anecdote of their experience. This finally leads back to a brilliant climax for the framing story.
I first saw DoN several years ago on a very beat-up looking DVD source. While the new blu-ray from Studio Canal is no HD demo showcase, it is an immense improvement over previous home video releases of this neglected classic. Contrast and detail are healthy and the film has a generally unmanipulated look, which is pleasing. The mono (LPCM 2.0) sound is clear and quite adequate considering the source. The main extra is a long featurette with a bunch of film historians and critics discussing DoN and its long shadow on the anthology horror format. This is informative and fun.
On the whole highly recommended for classic horror fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best i have ever seen it, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i have seen several releases of this film . dvd.8mm .and 16mm. this blu ray release beats them all. lovely to look at from my digital projector. a great film and an excellent release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All good, 24 Feb 2014
By 
wolfers "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Had a quick glance at this hd remastering and I have to report its all good considering the age of the movie. The blacks look good and the overall clean up, if you compare with the unrestored comparision feature you can see a world of difference.The real bonus IS the bonus feature which I have watched, a nice 75 min Doc on the film.A must buy for one of the best British anthology movies.I urge you to buy this blu ray
see my snapshot in customer images for before/after restoration comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old classic, nicely restored., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great picture restoration and improved audio (mostly) compared to earlier DVD releases. Opening credit music is not good, but most dialogue scenes are fine thereafter. The picture quality is the clear winner - better contrast, solid blacks, and more detail revealed throughout. This does make the viewing of this old classic a more rewarding experience. Talking heads "extra feature" of various critics and fans discussing the film is pretty much preaching to the converted, but does add some useful background information and insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just room for one inside, sir..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film itself is a classic, fondly remembered from my childhood (where it seems a creepy classic like this could be seen on a midweek evening on BBC2). Atypical of what is now regarded as an "Ealing" film, it is a genuinely creepy and quite unsettling piece of work. The framing story of the portmanteau format is engaging, and while it may seem a little hackneyed to the "sophisticated" 21st century viewer, in its time it was a game changer.
The most famous story is of course featured on the cover, featuring Michael Redgrave as a ventriloquist who may be possessed by his dummy, or "simply" mad. The other stories are entertaining, the weakest of which is probably the comedic golfing ghost yarn.
The picture quality is a great improvement over my DVD copy, but still far from perfect, there are still scratches and flickering apparent, and looking at the restoration comparison, far more egregious defects were corrected, so why not all? (I'm sure there are technical and finacial reasons).
The soundtrack is my biggest concern. Of course I expected nothing more than a mono soundtrack, but the one presented is a little anaemic and muddy. I had to "mess about" with my amplifier to get the best out of it. Hence only four stars.
To be fair this is probably the best presentation of the film we'll ever get, and I'm happy to have it. (I hope "Halfway House" gets a similar treatment).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic worth the name in every way, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The first, and still the best, portmanteau horror movie. While the thrills are subtle - inevitable for a 1940s flick - this is a chiller almost by default. The top notch cast, the smart writing, the witty way the stories are tied together, all combine into an experience that once seen, is never forgotten. Every story is a winner - even the funny one with the two golfers - but the two that stayed with me are the framing story - ingenious to the point of postmodern boldness - and the ventriloquist tale (no, better make that THE ventriloquist tale: this is the one every horror story you know about a ventriloquist's dummy is stolen from, and there is something about this progenitor none of the derivatives ever caught). And the ending... well, don't let anyone tell you about it before you savour it for yourself. It is faaar out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent classic, 18 Mar 2014
By 
D. C. Day (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I first saw this in 1946 when still at school and have never forgotten it. Although it cannot really compete with today's in-your-face horror movies it is still subtly creepy. Having particularly in mind its hour-long critique by clearly knowledgeable film buffs I would say it is well worth watching, if not keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing restoration work but stays faithful to the original look, 21 Oct 2014
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film itself is a real classic, but I'll leave the critical reviews to imdB.

Let's get this out of the way: there's no horrible colourised version. I'm putting this early on because I needed to be sure of this when purchasing because we've had some old black and white movies which were colour on the bluray version, and it just looks (ironically) unnatural. It's very clever, but not what I want. It took me a long time to find this out so in the hopes of saving someone time - here it is!

What I DID want was this Bluray, because they do exactly what I want, they keep the film as it is, but just show it off with what they can do today. It's one of the best produced blurays I've ever seen. The restoration is masterful (see the key difference: it wasn't "remastered" - it was "restored" - and the latter takes much longer!) and they even include a short film which displays side-by-side film of the original copy and the re-mastered.

I bought this as a present for a huge fan of the movie and portmanteaus in general and she loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Blu-ray transfer of a unique British classic!, 18 April 2014
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film needs no introduction- a compendium of short stories which has been imitated many times since with films like Dr. Terror's House of Horror's & Tales From The Crypt. The PQ & sound are excellent, most exemplary for a blu-ray. A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition  [1945] [Blu-ray]
£11.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews