Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best i have ever seen it
i have seen several releases of this film . dvd.8mm .and 16mm. this blu ray release beats them all. lovely to look at from my digital projector. a great film and an excellent release.
Published 5 months ago by english buyer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last, a great film restored!
The original camera negative of DEAD OF NIGHT perished in a fire 60 years ago and so available prints have been very poor over the years. The restoration here is therefore all the more remarkable and the picture quality is outstanding compared to previous releases. The only negative is the very poor sound quality which frankly renders some dialogue inaudible. My old...
Published 3 months ago by B. G. Carroll


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last, a great film restored!, 29 April 2014
By 
B. G. Carroll (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The original camera negative of DEAD OF NIGHT perished in a fire 60 years ago and so available prints have been very poor over the years. The restoration here is therefore all the more remarkable and the picture quality is outstanding compared to previous releases. The only negative is the very poor sound quality which frankly renders some dialogue inaudible. My old videotape recorded from TV 20 years ago is much better so I can't understand why this has happened. Possibly the soundtrack has deteriorated even more than the image? The film is a classic and a must-see for anyone interested in the genre. It is the finest 'ghost story' omibus on celluloid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best i have ever seen it, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i have seen several releases of this film . dvd.8mm .and 16mm. this blu ray release beats them all. lovely to look at from my digital projector. a great film and an excellent release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All good, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Had a quick glance at this hd remastering and I have to report its all good considering the age of the movie. The blacks look good and the overall clean up, if you compare with the unrestored comparision feature you can see a world of difference.The real bonus IS the bonus feature which I have watched, a nice 75 min Doc on the film.A must buy for one of the best British anthology movies.I urge you to buy this blu ray
see my snapshot in customer images for before/after restoration comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic anthology finally gets its due!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Dead of Night is a pioneering effort in the Brit anthology ghost story format that later led to the Amicus productions like Asylum or The House That Dripped Blood. What's pleasantly surprising is how well it holds up even today. In the framing story, a man visits a farmhouse where he meets a motley of strangers, and he has the sensation that he has seen them all in a dream. This leads to each of the others talking about a supernatural anecdote of their experience. This finally leads back to a brilliant climax for the framing story.
I first saw DoN several years ago on a very beat-up looking DVD source. While the new blu-ray from Studio Canal is no HD demo showcase, it is an immense improvement over previous home video releases of this neglected classic. Contrast and detail are healthy and the film has a generally unmanipulated look, which is pleasing. The mono (LPCM 2.0) sound is clear and quite adequate considering the source. The main extra is a long featurette with a bunch of film historians and critics discussing DoN and its long shadow on the anthology horror format. This is informative and fun.
On the whole highly recommended for classic horror fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old classic, nicely restored., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great picture restoration and improved audio (mostly) compared to earlier DVD releases. Opening credit music is not good, but most dialogue scenes are fine thereafter. The picture quality is the clear winner - better contrast, solid blacks, and more detail revealed throughout. This does make the viewing of this old classic a more rewarding experience. Talking heads "extra feature" of various critics and fans discussing the film is pretty much preaching to the converted, but does add some useful background information and insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent classic, 18 Mar 2014
By 
D. C. Day (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I first saw this in 1946 when still at school and have never forgotten it. Although it cannot really compete with today's in-your-face horror movies it is still subtly creepy. Having particularly in mind its hour-long critique by clearly knowledgeable film buffs I would say it is well worth watching, if not keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last!, 24 Jun 2014
By 
VALENWORTH "AL" (HAYWARD, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of the 5 short films, the ventriloquist segment is the one that usually gets the most attention--and it is brilliantly done--but the one that really, really gets to me is THE HAUNTED MIRROR. I'm not sure why, but as many times as I've seen it, it never fails to really, really scare the u-know-what out of me. Another one is IN THE PICTURE from 3 CASES OF MURDER. The one that completes this short list is THE CHANGELING..YankAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Blu-ray transfer of a unique British classic!, 18 April 2014
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film needs no introduction- a compendium of short stories which has been imitated many times since with films like Dr. Terror's House of Horror's & Tales From The Crypt. The PQ & sound are excellent, most exemplary for a blu-ray. A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Picture Quality, Sound is Disappointing, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've seen this film in various formats over the years and sometime ago I owned a really nice 16mm film print of the film. It's always been a favorite. This Blu-ray is the best the film has ever looked on home video and that wasn't an easy accomplishment. Apparently the original negative for the film is long gone, so alternate film elements were used and they were not the greatest photographically. But that mediocre film element has yielded a very nice looking Blu-ray. The restorers have coaxed quite a bit out of that film and while not perfect, it's way ahead of what's come before it and most people should be pleased with the picture quality.

The sound quality is another matter. An excessive amount of noise reduction software has been used in an attempt to remove background hiss and noise. It's now difficult to understand some of the dialog, some low level sound effects and music are lost and there's quite a bit of distortion. Background hiss would have been preferable to what's wrong with the soundtrack now. To be fair, when the Anchor Bay label released this film in the U.S. years ago, they too used a soundtrack that was far from perfect, though after checking that earlier DVD a few days ago, I can report that it does sound better than the new Blu-ray. It's not night and day, however, it's only a modest improvement. My old 16mm print didn't have this sound problem and they would have done well to borrow the sound off of one of those old prints instead of doing what they did here. Still, it's all we have for now and it will have to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLU RAY, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Robert C. Graham (OGMORE BY SEA, VALE OF GLAMORGAN United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition [1945] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent restoration by BFI as always. This was projected using HD and Blu Ray on a large screen which always shows any defects in the picture - like screening a 35mm print of a classic British film which after almost 70 years has not lost any of its impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Of Night (Ealing) - Special Edition  [1945] [Blu-ray]
16.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews