Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of the original? No. This one's better.
I've listened through this album once only so I'll admit it's quite early to make a final judgement. But my first impression is that not only is this a hip hop masterpiece - musically, lyrically, conceptually - but it is the strongest contender, in my opinion, for Em's best album to date. So let's break it down a little.

For one, this is a love letter to fans...
Published 8 months ago by Bubo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok but.....
I found this patchy a couple of strong tracks. But not the masterpeace it needed to be. Such a shame.
Published 8 months ago by R. J. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of the original? No. This one's better., 5 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP2 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I've listened through this album once only so I'll admit it's quite early to make a final judgement. But my first impression is that not only is this a hip hop masterpiece - musically, lyrically, conceptually - but it is the strongest contender, in my opinion, for Em's best album to date. So let's break it down a little.

For one, this is a love letter to fans of the original Marshall Mathers LP. The opener Bad Guy makes plenty of references to classic lines from the MMLP, the song "So Far" actually uses small samples from the songs "I'm Back" and "The Real Slim Shady" - to name but two - and the skit "Parking Lot" (one of only two skits on the entire album) is a fun sequel to the song "Criminal" on the original LP. So the name of the new album is not just some cheap marketing ploy; there's substance to it, not least in the sense that volume 2 reaches and even outdoes volume 1, which many regard as his best, most influential album.

Musically, the production here reaches heights never heard before be it in terms of the pop-savvy beats, the rock-fueled guitar and the dead-on piano riffs (capturing the best of the MMLP), not to mention the voice work. The album sounds expensive and is a cross between Em's early work and the underrated Encore and Relapse; Recovery sounds flat compared to what we have here but nothing Eminem has put out to date quite equals the production values on here. In addition, there is the right balance between loud tracks like Bezerk and softer tracks like Legacy - that helps give the album a harmonious feel.

Lyrically, Em is as over the top as ever and at the top of his game, breaking standards he himself has set for hip hop artists. I obviously didn't catch all the subtleties, self-references and jokes on my first listen through but it's clear that MMLP2 will repay multiple listens - plenty of stuff to dig into, if one isn't too distracted by the excellent musical production, that is. I'm also glad to note that Eminem hasn't given up on his skilled use of "accents" and nasal delivery, which makes this album closer in feel to Encore and Relapse than his last, Recovery, which for me is a good thing. However, as on Recovery, there are plenty of artists who sing the chorus on this album and Em continues his singing career which is now stronger than ever as shown, ironically, on a song called "Stronger than Before" where he sings more than he raps.

Highlights. So many to choose from. Because I'm a nerd I give stars to tracks I listen to on Media Player. No less than ten of the tracks got five stars from me and none less than four stars. I will no doubt upgrade some of my ratings in due course since I know from experience that Eminem's albums tend to be growers. The absolute highlights for me though are the awesome songs Rhyme or Reason and Legacy - the latter is a slow, soft, song which I personally think better than Stan and Rhyme or Reason needs to be listened to to be believed. There are of course the singles Bezerk, Rap God, Survival and Monster, which are excellent. Also noteworthy is that, to my knowledge, this is Em's first album to contain two songs, namely the excellent "Bad Guy" and the closer "Evil Twin", which break the seven minute barrier; and contrary to expectation they never let up.

So to round up Eminem is back for good this time and has done the best fan service possible by releasing what is arguably his best album to date and one of the best Hip Hop albums of all time, no less (and I say this owning a huge hip hop collection). This is a five star album which will have a long shelf life and confirm Eminem's superstar status. Well done Slim!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eminem Is Back, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP2 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
This is easily one of my favourite albums he has ever released. He raps in a different style, but he has matured so much, more lyrical acrobatics, more thoughtful, more attacks at Kim.

Seriously this album is great, especially if you've listened to the original Marshall Mathers LP a lot.

BUY THIS NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace begins at 40, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Martin Huxter "Carlitopacino" (Crawley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP2 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
A very thoughtful and considered album. Marshall gets off to a fierce beginning with "Bad guy" referencing Stan. It also begins an acknowledgement of karma which continues into the skit and some of the other songs. "Rhyme or Reason" is definitely one of the stronger unreleased songs on the album along with "Legacy". "So Far" takes the rapper into a different direction, sampling a famous country style beat. "Love Game" featuring Kendrick Lamar is a very interesting collaboration, not dissimilar to the song "Lady" Em made with Obie Trice many years ago. "Headlights" is probably the most amazing and shocking song on the album, here Marshall finally apologises to his mother in an intensely emotional and heartfelt couple of verses. The remainder is picked up by Fun's Nate Ruess whose haunting voice will pierce through your soul as he anchors the emotional message in this song, which seems to have resonated with so many people already. The album is finished off nicely by "Evil Twin" a song depicting the duality of Eminem's personality. There are some songs that appear slightly weaker on first listen, but after several plays, the whole album comes together nicely as an amazing story of what I, and many others, consider to be the greatest rapper alive. True fans will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by low ratings, 10 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP2 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I am getting tired of hip hop snobs critically destroying good albums.

Let's get one thing straight, no one thinks that Eminem is an underground artist. Who would you write a 1 star review solely on the basis that a main stream hip hop artist has produced a commercial album??? I will tell you......snobs who think that the only hip hop worth listening to is HipHop that no one else has heard.

If you are seeking an underground album try RA The Rugged Man or Madchilds 2013 releases.

This is a typical Eminem album. Very homophobic, very personal and at times quite childish. But.....let's not forget how skillful this man can be. Monster will no doubt be number 1 and Rap God is my hip hop song of the year so far. The tune with label mate Kendrick Lemar is also quite impressive.

I take my hat of to him. I own all 8 of his albums
And this is top 3. If you already like Eminem you will no doubt appreciate this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Emnem, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP2 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Not heard any of Emnem's music(RAP) for many years and was alerted to this album by a critic.
As usual there is plenty of invention, invited guest and energy. Good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your an Eminem fan and your reading this. why the hell haven't you bought this album its monumental a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great comeback album, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP2 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
It's nearly back to his original best, just proves what a great artist he is.

I would recommend this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible !, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP2 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I almost gave this album a miss as I did not really think Mr Mathers could equal or better his last/previous offering ! . Then I was driving and heard the track MONSTER................................absolutely brilliant track.

This album is not just good it is GREAT.
every track is great , his team-up with Rhianna has once again proved more than just a strategic music business arrangement.

Thisalbum clearly shows why he is the biggest selling Rap artist and has made the cross over into several other genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing near as bad as some make it out to be, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP2 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
A like Eminem, not blindly but I do feel he is the master of the rapid lyric delivery, His phrasing is still his and only his, there are dead moments on this album but it is a grower, the more I listen the more I seem to get from it. Worth the purchase price for another seat at the Shady Show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Come Back CD, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Emma Benson (Westmeath, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Massssive Eminem fan, this i am pleased with, great come back album, great selection of tracks on this, happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews