Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete handbook
This book is brilliant, well written and incredibly comprehensive. The authors manage to provide an incredible amount of information in the one package - it takes some reading! Each section is covered in detail with references and examples and is supported by the slides on the companion website (available without buying the book). These are tricky and complex concepts and...
Published on 21 Aug. 2011 by J. Nickels

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you have 6th Edition don't bother
If you really Have to do research, it's very useful. However the new additional chapter on virtual worlds is so inaccurate as to show the authors have never used a virtual world, ever. It's not worth buying newer this newer edition for the new chapter.
Published 1 month ago by T. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete handbook, 21 Aug. 2011
By 
J. Nickels "Galago" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is brilliant, well written and incredibly comprehensive. The authors manage to provide an incredible amount of information in the one package - it takes some reading! Each section is covered in detail with references and examples and is supported by the slides on the companion website (available without buying the book). These are tricky and complex concepts and the language can be challenging. However the authors manage to retain the sense that they're talking to and about real people and I'm actually enjoying reading the prose style. The fact that it's in the 7th edition testifies to how useful this book has been to countless researchers and students. You probably should get it if you're considering it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect method to do a research in education., 12 Mar. 2012
This book written in a very organized style, has all the topics and interesting points for researchers in education.
Qualitative and quantitative research for social sciences are well explained and have helped me with my Phd. You can follow the summary of each chapter reading the useful power point presentations of the web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 18 Nov. 2011
Wonderful book which explores the fine details, nuances and ongoing debates of research. Most importantly perhaps it can be used in all disciplines not simply education. Exploration of qualitative research is especially strong. Easy to read and understand, not cheap but still highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for newcomers!, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very impressed with this it's very well written and very understandable for those new to research (or like me, where it's been a long time since I last studied!). Lacks the 'dryness' of some of the larger texts I've seen and does bring the subjet to lifewith some excellent examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Guide- Ideal for Masters Students, 25 Oct. 2014
I've finally got my own copy on the way, having used a uni library copy for a year! This is incredibly comprehensive, and by far and away the most useful guide in my experience.

Other books in this field are often written as 'how to' type guides and will take the reader through the different stages of planning, researching and writing. The approach here is different - this is more of a reference work and unlikely to be read chronologically. Chapters are focused on specific methods in educational research and include very useful summaries of the main issues raised. The authors cover a huge range of theorists in each area, and the reader is encouraged to think critically. Thoroughly referenced, those interested are given numerous suggestions for further reading.

Superb if you are doing research at Masters level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful purchase, 1 Mar. 2012
A very comprehensive book to support a novice researcher, backed up by a wealth of internet resources.If I had to choose just one purchase this would be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Research Methods in Education, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb book for students studying educational research as it covers basic and advanced research techniques. The book is clearly written, has good clear examples of different research models, is thorough and comprehensive. A recommended must for anyone undertaking educational research for the first time and those at more advanced levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its good but a bit long.............., 9 Feb. 2014
By 
liz "Like listening in my car" (Bury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Education (Kindle Edition)
This is the recommended text for my module. It is really good but takes me a long time to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Research Methods in Education, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very detailed though a bit difficult to read but reading it twice gave me a better understanding of the topics in question.
It also covers most topics in research methods in education and I know it will be of immense value to me for my upcoming dissertation for my Masters Program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you have 6th Edition don't bother, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
T. Bailey (Isle of Wight,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Education (Kindle Edition)
If you really Have to do research, it's very useful. However the new additional chapter on virtual worlds is so inaccurate as to show the authors have never used a virtual world, ever. It's not worth buying newer this newer edition for the new chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Research Methods in Education
£26.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews