Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice League origin take 52
I loved this movie. Obviously it is based on the first 6 issues of Justice League new 52 comic. Warning this might contain minor spoilers. This is Justice League as an action movie. The name says it all. WAR!!!! The animation is great in the same style of The Flashpoint Paradox. Pretty much if you like that DVD you will like this one, if like me you loved that DVD you...
Published 4 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Justice League: War": The End is Near - For DCUOMs?
For the casual moviegoer, the DC Universe Original Movie "Justice League: War" is simply an uneven and ultimately wasted 79 minute running time. For longtime fans of the previously titled DC Universe Animated Original Movies, it's a heartbreaker.

Skilled action and dramatic director Jay Olivia does his best with a screenplay by Heath Corson that is solid,...
Published 5 months ago by Movie Gal With a Brain


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice League origin take 52, 21 Mar 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this movie. Obviously it is based on the first 6 issues of Justice League new 52 comic. Warning this might contain minor spoilers. This is Justice League as an action movie. The name says it all. WAR!!!! The animation is great in the same style of The Flashpoint Paradox. Pretty much if you like that DVD you will like this one, if like me you loved that DVD you will love this one, and if you did not like that DVD (which means you are probably not a comic book fan) you will not like this one.

The edge this has over the comic version is that in the comic is even though the art work was great in the comics for me it felt like too much of the story has moved on in between panels. An example is in the comic I did not understand why Batman suddenly decided to take his cowl off in the middle of a fight to give Green Lantern a pep talk, whereas in the movie you understand bits like this a lot better.

The characters. In this 52 post flashpoint era's origin of the Justice League. These heroes are meeting each other for the first time. Batman is well Batman, the coolest smartest guy in the room always 10 steps ahead of everyone else and prepared for anything. Green Lantern is young with a huge chip on his shoulder he seems take the Flash's place as the team’s youngster. The Flash acts more like a veteran hero then the young jester that part is taken. Wonder Women is and emissary from Themyscira to the US. Her costume is in the new colour scheme, but the pants have been replaced by the more popular shorts. During battle scenes she is excellent (in which she prefers the sword to the lasso), the main problem with her is her dialogue she speaks like a 10 year old. Shazam is done well I think he does sound like a kid in an adult body like he is supposed to be. Cyborg is the first hero to have his origin in this film. Superman is more the Justice Lord Ultraman that the pleasant Justice League farm boy. His amour/costume is a darker shade than normal, he is sporting Batman’s perpetual scowl more often than not. Personally I think he comes across harder and arrogant then he is in the comics and other cartoon. Darkseid could not have been done better. He is huge triple the size of Superman, and huge mountain of destruction.

The story is pretty simple really. In this era the "Superheroes" are more feared than loved by normal people and work individually and if possible in secrete. However to save the world they have to work together and in full public view. There is the usual superhero meet up fight then team up. This is action packed; the whole last half an hour is the fight between the League and Darkseid. The fights are brutal and bloody. I am glad every hero had a chance to shine and they had to rely on team work rather than just one individual member. There are even sparks of romance between a couple of members. Also you see why Shazam replaced Aquaman if you watch after the end credits. Great superhero action movie. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Justice League: War": The End is Near - For DCUOMs?, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Movie Gal With a Brain (A galaxy far, far away) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dcu Justice League: War [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
For the casual moviegoer, the DC Universe Original Movie "Justice League: War" is simply an uneven and ultimately wasted 79 minute running time. For longtime fans of the previously titled DC Universe Animated Original Movies, it's a heartbreaker.

Skilled action and dramatic director Jay Olivia does his best with a screenplay by Heath Corson that is solid, although dialogue and characterizations could have used a second pass. Both are undermined by this being the most miss-cast film in the DCUOM history. Even legendary Voice Director Andrea Romano can't squeeze the right emotional performances out of this cast at virtually any moment, crucially the critical ones.

Returning composer Kevin Klieisch ("Superman Unbound") delivers another 'low-budget, overtly synth sounding' score that has fans longing for the DCUOM days of the master Christopher Drake, along with past composers Kevin Manthei, Robert J. Kral, and James L. Venable. Why Frederick Wiedmann, who nailed DCUOM's previous release "Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox" with a sound that was both organic and fresh was NOT brought back to score this new film is a travesty.

The plot is a relatively straightforward, and at times improved, adaptation of Geoff Johns, Jim Lee and Scott William's first 6 issues of DC Comic's The New 52 title 'Justice League,' giving audiences a Joss Whedon 'Avengers' origin take on the classic 'Justice League' story. It's the first team-up for Superman, Batman, Wonder-Woman, the Green Lantern, Flash, Aquaman and Cyborg.

For the film, writer Corson swaps out Aquaman for Shazam. Believe it or not, it's a wise move. Shazam is played by Oscar nominee, SAG winner, and LORD OF THE RINGS Trilogy star Sean Astin.

He seems to be the only one having fun and perfectly cast in his role. Christopher Gorham (TV's 'Covert Affairs') is a passable Barry Allen/The Flash, while Michele Monaghan's part as Wonder Woman is so poorly developed, you can't really fault her for playing the role as written and directed. Justin Kirk of TV's 'Modern Family' appears to be playing Hal Jordan/Green Lantern as an over-the-top arrogant 'Plastic Man Green Lantern,' but he fails to find humanity nor any humility in his performance. Ditto Alan Tudyk of TV's 'Suburgatory' and 'Arrested Development' as Superman. Rarely has the Man of Steel been annoyingly, and disturbingly, arrogant, aggressive, violent and unintelligent.

Shemar Moore does shine as Cyborg, and the subplot involving his relationship with his father is one of the best aspects of the film. Finally, there's DCUOM's new Dark Knight - Jason O'More, of TV's 'Terra Nova' and last season's 'The Good Wife.' He has his moments, but he mostly reaffirms Kevin Conroy and Bruce Greenwood's performance dominance of the role in animation from 1992 - 2014.

And this very reasonably budgeted voice cast is the key to what makes this film fail. If we don't buy the vocal part of an animated performance, not even a master like Jay Olivia delivering his trademark phenomenal visuals can sell the emotional core of the story. And the cutting of pennies in dropping seasoned composers like Christopher Drake means scores in which synth effects were intentional, but absent when orchestral strings, brass and woodwinds were meant to be heard, are now at times replaced with Kliesch's obvious Saturday morning/ 90s afterschool synth strings and obviously electronic orchestral arrangements.

Up until Bruce Timm's departure, the DCUOMs were - more often then not - sophisticated, adult fare, with HIGH caliber acting talent to match the incredible animation, music and sound effects. Since his departure, I think it's safe to say the days of hearing an Emmy and SAG winner like Bryan Cranston play a Jim Gordon; a Kevin Conroy, Bruce Greenwood or Peter Weller play Batman, or an Oscar nominee such as James Woods play a key villain like Owl Man are over.

If this is what passes for 'epic' now in the world of DC Universe Original Movies, the end of the entire line may be near.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love these kind of movies, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dcu Justice League: War [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I have seen a lot of animated movies with DC and Marvel, I really like the animated versions because the they capture the true caracter of the heroes, and this movie is awsome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
very well packed and exactly as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's War - But not as we know it!, 30 April 2014
It's not bad, but suffers from the usual JLA weakpoint, in that it's
mainly a "punch 'em up" movie with endless shots of the goodies and
baddies being punched through walls and skyscrapers to the point of
tedium.....

An interesting point is that the characters are based on the "New 52"
from the latest comics, and as such in this movie, are meeting each
other for the very first time - some amusing dialogue ensues.....
EVERYONE says to Batman "Are you REAL??? I though you were just some
urban legend" type o' thing.

Odd thing is - one of the extras is an episode of the "Justice
League Unlimited" series, and you can easily see that the movie is
simply an updated telling of the SAME story! Even some of the scenes
and shots are recreated verbatim! D'oh!!!

Another extra is an episode of the recent "Batman: The Brave and The
Bold" TV series. Totally appalling - a series that even talks down
to the 5 year olds it's aimed at!!!

Clips and previews of next month's "Son of Batman" or "Batman and Son"
look interesting, and explain in some way why there were 3 Robins in
the "Court of Owls" books I've just read.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected so much more!, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I love Superman and The DC Universe in general I have to say I was somewhat disappointed in this film. I hated the fact they took out Aquaman who was in the original comic and no offence to blondes Wonder Woman was like a bimbo so dumb at times with reference to the Ice cream scene.

Considering this film was made after the Flashpoint Paradox for me it took a backward step. I had such high expectations when I brought this film. So not impressed with the animations, Warner Bros please bring back the team that did Apocalypse.

I would give it no more than 6 out of 10. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 11 Feb 2014
This review is from: Dcu Justice League: War [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I believe some of the reviews are rather harsh towards this film. Its based on the new 52 comics Justice League and the animation is well above par, Superman Doomsday is what you call woeful animation. The story follows close enough to the comics and i found it really enjoyable people comment on Wonder Woman and the cheese but shes literally left paradise island to come to America in this story line she comes into her further on in the series. If you are a justice league fan and enjoyed, Flashpoint and Apocalypse you will enjoy this. its easy watching and claims to be nothing more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of action and juvenile humour, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Dcu Justice League: War [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
The cover art is missing The Flash and Green Lantern who are also in this movie.
The Flash messed up the history of all characters when he time traveled in the last DC movie (Flashpoint Paradox) which created a new DC parallel universe called '52'. Justice League War is the first 52 DC universe movie where in it we see a rewrite of Cyborg's origin story and a rewrite of how the Justice League was formed.

When it comes to superhero movies you have two types:
1) rich story with complex themes (e.g. Batman: The Dark Knight Returns), and 2) shallow story with lots of fight scenes and one-liners.
Both kinds of movies can be great, but Justice League war fell into the latter category and is far from top of its class.
The action scenes where high quality with inspiration taken from Manga animation, putting this aside this DC movie is poor when compared to Marvel's The Avengers (2012).

My problem with Justice League war is apart from Cyborg and Shazam all the rest had minimal character development which would have been fine if you had funny jokes with comedic timing to fall back on to. The Avengers movie's humour was situational and epigrammatic which made the characters endearing where as Justice League War's humour is farcical and juvenile which gets old fast.

For casual superhero fans like myself I would recommend just renting this movie or waiting till it ends up in a bargain bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what the?!, 1 Feb 2014
This review is from: Dcu Justice League: War [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Just watched this and I must confess that this animation is just....dreadful!! The story is based on the best selling Justice league new 52 first few issues which sees Superman, wonderwoma, shazam (who replaces Aquaman in the graphic novel) cyborg, flash, green lantern and batman take on Darkseid who is hellbent on taking over the world. What can I say?..after watching the trailer I was convinced that this would be worth checking out but after watching it,....anyway I will quickly get into the review.

Story is pretty straight forward: The invasion of earth by Darkseid.Artwork is pretty decent but the dialogue delivered in various scenes were just.....horrendous!! like the wonder-woman ''ice-cream'' lines, I was like 'you gotta be kidding me!'. They actually made wonderwoman appear really idiotic.
The airforce-one scene which saw the creatures rip a hole into the president's jet while the jet still had maintained flight and soldiers still shooting was just...no!
All characters(except for cyborg, darkseid and perhaps the flash)lacked charm of any sort. Batman's voice was terrible!! I am really disappointed in this!! This is DC animations at it's low.
Here's hoping 'son of batman' delivers something better.

I'm outta here!

*Be-warned: There are also some scenes deemed to graphic for kids as it involved eye-gouging with a sword and crowbar! seriously!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dcu Justice League: War [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Dcu Justice League: War [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Shemar Moore (Blu-ray - 2014)
17.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews