Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant album (in my opinion)
This album has had very mixed reviews, so I was bracing myself for a big disappointment. However, and this is only my opinion, I absolutely love it. I can't find any fault. Musical taste is very personal, so I can't advise anyone to go out and buy it, but I'm so glad I did.
Published 18 months ago by christensen54

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
I don't think this is as good as his first or should i say i like more of the songs on his first album , like broken , lightening bolt , two fingers , but i do like his type of music , but if you're a big big fan of his you might like everything he sings anyway no problem with that
Published 16 months ago by peter c


‹ Previous | 111 12 1322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 19 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
Sounds brilliant from the start with a proper band including RHCP drummer Chad Smith.
Overall more upbeat and exciting than the first and keeps his soulful twist to things on most songs.
Anyone who loves Neil Young, Oasis, and feel good Rock will love this album.
The cover is very old school 80's solo artist but the music is as modern as anything this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's most talented teenager, 20 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
After Adele's world domination based on timeless transatlantic tunes it's time for a working class Brit boy to take the mantle of Britain's most talented teenager with a cracking follow-up to his equally elegant debut.

There's a wonderful mixture of styles in his guitar playing, lonesome singing and heartfelt writing that remind you of anyone and everyone from the Gallaghers and The Verve all the way back to Donovan, Dylan and Hank Williams.. but best of all, Jake Bugg never rips anyone off and manages to remain his own man throughout.

Highly melodic, highly accomplished and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (MP3 Download)
Great album, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 5 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
I'm told it's great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (MP3 Download)
Another great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
Brilliant , buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Second Album Syndrome, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. N. R. Banks "Campo 54" (Leeds, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
The history of rock music is littered with examples of SAS .Having enjoyed Jake's debut I was really hoping this would be an exception. I am disappointed to say it isn't.

On the plus side, Rick Rubin has done a fine job on production. The sound is polished (perhaps too polished) and the playing is surefooted. Sadly, the songs just don't stack up - 'Me And You' being a rare exception; nothing comes remotely close to the first album.

Don't lose faith! This guy is way too talented not to come back stronger. Roll on album number three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
Great as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
Christmas Present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
Fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shangri La
Shangri La by Jake Bugg
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews