Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great murder mystery visual novel/ interactive novel
I received my copy of the game a few days ago, and after playing a couple of hours per day I finally sat down and completed the game in a final 9 hour sitting today and my god, what a brilliant experience. I would say the game lasted about 20 hours, but this is just a run-through of the main story and game.

You play as Makoto who is called to a school which is...
Published 6 months ago by Cihan (minipunch)

versus
2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as cool as press reviews say.
You'll find yourself reading reviews out there saying this is Persona4 vs Ace Attorney vs Layton. 5 stars of five, ten bears of 10, and so on.

Well, dont let them fool you.

You'll read a lot of repetitive and obvious redundancy stuff, about how a bunch of kids have to kill theirselves in order to escape from a trap-school, and they investigate on...
Published 5 months ago by Vic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great murder mystery visual novel/ interactive novel, 17 Feb 2014
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I received my copy of the game a few days ago, and after playing a couple of hours per day I finally sat down and completed the game in a final 9 hour sitting today and my god, what a brilliant experience. I would say the game lasted about 20 hours, but this is just a run-through of the main story and game.

You play as Makoto who is called to a school which is for the best of the best, however after you arrive things quickly go wrong and you find yourself in a locked down school where a psycho bear makes you play a deadly game. I do not want to speak of the story any further as it is best to engage with it with no prior knowledge and be taken on the twists and turns it presents to you!

The gameplay has different parts to it, you have daily life where you talk to other students, walking around the school as you please, this is in a first person view. if you enter a room you have a marker on screen which you move around and examine objects around the screen. The second part is after a murder has occurred, you collect clues, speak to students to gather accounts and after gathering evidence you proceed to the court room where you take part in a number of puzzle like sections as the students discuss the murder case and try to solve it!

Overall the gameplay is basic, as this is primarily a visual novel, the story flows on as you gather all clues so the events are fixed and you cannot miss anything, however it is a thrilling enough story that I was hooked and finished it in a short number of days.

All in all I highly recommend Danganronpa, it is a fairly simple to pick up game with a fantastic story, great characters and writing and some awesome twists and turns.

Cihan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding adventure, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Alan J. Cartwright (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Writing this after just clearing the third (of six) chapter in the game and having spent ~ 11 hours with it so far. So while I'm still a ways off seeing the back end of the game, I'm writing this now out of pure joy from what time I've spent with Dangan Ronpa so far.

The game is an adventure title set in a high school named Hope Peak's Academy. You play as Makoto; a seemingly normal student among a group of the world's elite, named with titles such as "Ultimate baseball star" and "Ultimate bike gang leader".

Finding yourself trapped in the school, a mysterious bear named Monokuma tells you that your only means of escape is to kill another student and get away with it. Should you remain undiscovered after a class trial, you will "graduate" and be allowed back into the world. If you are accused by your other classmates, then you face a grizzly execution.

What makes Dangan Ronpa so remarkable so far, at least for me, is the interaction and bonding with the characters. Each one is thrown into this bizzare situation with you and seeing how they react to and handle their newfound 'prison' makes for some brilliant character development. You'll spend time in game interacting with the other characters and you can really grow to like some of them, which makes it all the more painful when they turn up dead or worse - turn out to be the one to kill another classmate.

Aside from forming social links (in a similar manner to Persona), you'll also spend time advancing the story, which inevitably involves a student turning up dead. Once this happens, you're given time to search for clues. This involves merely interacting with objects in the environment and heading to new areas to look for new stuff. Once you've collected all the clues you can, you head to a "class trial".

These trials involve all the surviving students presenting evidence to deduce who the real killer is. You'll contradict incorrect statements by presenting your own evidence (by shooting "word bullets" at them) and play various minigames to unravel what really happened. These class trials form one of the most interesting parts of the gameplay as you're always forced to engage your brain to pick apart what's occurring.

I'd just like to note one other thing about the gameplay - the title is first person and you can usually explore the school at your leisure, and it isn't grid based like a DRPG so there's a pretty decent flow to moving around the school. Also, there is a lot of text in the game and it's important to pay attention to most of it as it'll likely come up in a later class trial so if you're averse to reading a lot, this may not be the title for you.

All in all, though, Dangan Ronpa has been a thrilling ride for the 11 hours I've spent with it so far. The bond you form with your classmates makes it so much more emotional when they start turning up dead and the "killers" are often not portrayed as stereotypical bad guys, merely making bad choices in this messed up situation. The soundtrack is fitting; the gameplay is tight and everything just comes together in a remarkable package. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic visual novel, 17 Feb 2014
By 
P. Livesey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I bought this after reading that it was similar to games such as 999, VLR, and Ace Attorney.

Well, if you love any of those games, you're pretty much guaranteed to love this! I couldn't put it down - I got it and finished the entire game within the weekend. The game length was around 20 hours.

Definitely recommended, and easily my favourite PS Vita title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Really good game.

It's like a mix of Ace Attorney, Zero Escape and Persona 4.

I was a little worried about the localisation but NIS America did a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Robert Halpin "efcrob8710" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Great game. 3 hours in and loving every minute. People who love persona will love this but its also quite similar to phoenix wright. Really interesting story and loads of different characters with different backgrounds. Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
A really good game with plenty of storyline and characters to keep you interested. The gameplay is really fun with investigations and rooms to examine. Amazing, catchy music. Instantly grabs you. Love the style of the graphics.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I don't normally like these games, however this one has sucked me in! I have been playing this game for majority of the weekend. Believe the hype buy this game now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
The artstyle is breathtaking and soundtrack superb. If you are a fan of mystery novels this will not disappoint you. I just finished chapter 2 and it had me guessing all the way to and through the courtroom trial. It's without a doubt one of the best games on the Vita right now, and is definitely worth your time and money. The chapters are lengthy and well paced, you don't feel like the game is just dragging along. The characters are engaging and well worth your time and simply. So if you wanna dust off your Vita and try something new and different, this is where to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic! I got into this genre of games through the excellent zero escape series (999 for DS and virtue's last reward for vita/3ds) and am so glad to be able to play another game with a similar atmosphere/style. The writing is excellent and, as the game progresses, it becomes more and more interesting. It provides brilliant value for money as well as it is quite a long game and it is very well paced to keep up suspense. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is a fan of visual novel style games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
great and enjoyable and looking forward to the sequel due Sept 4th 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita)
Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) by NIS America (PlayStation Vita)
31.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews