Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding adventure
Writing this after just clearing the third (of six) chapter in the game and having spent ~ 11 hours with it so far. So while I'm still a ways off seeing the back end of the game, I'm writing this now out of pure joy from what time I've spent with Dangan Ronpa so far.

The game is an adventure title set in a high school named Hope Peak's Academy. You play as...
Published 13 months ago by Alan J. Cartwright

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Most seem to love this game - I found it to be average.
Not a bad game by any means. For me it just feels very gimmicky. I found it very repetitive and I didn't particularly enjoy the class trials. Towards the end I found I had to force myself to finish the game as the story isn't very compelling. I think the game most people would compare this to on the Vita is Virtues Last Reward, which I found was leaps and bounds above...
Published 13 days ago by Samuel Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding adventure, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Alan J. Cartwright (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Writing this after just clearing the third (of six) chapter in the game and having spent ~ 11 hours with it so far. So while I'm still a ways off seeing the back end of the game, I'm writing this now out of pure joy from what time I've spent with Dangan Ronpa so far.

The game is an adventure title set in a high school named Hope Peak's Academy. You play as Makoto; a seemingly normal student among a group of the world's elite, named with titles such as "Ultimate baseball star" and "Ultimate bike gang leader".

Finding yourself trapped in the school, a mysterious bear named Monokuma tells you that your only means of escape is to kill another student and get away with it. Should you remain undiscovered after a class trial, you will "graduate" and be allowed back into the world. If you are accused by your other classmates, then you face a grizzly execution.

What makes Dangan Ronpa so remarkable so far, at least for me, is the interaction and bonding with the characters. Each one is thrown into this bizzare situation with you and seeing how they react to and handle their newfound 'prison' makes for some brilliant character development. You'll spend time in game interacting with the other characters and you can really grow to like some of them, which makes it all the more painful when they turn up dead or worse - turn out to be the one to kill another classmate.

Aside from forming social links (in a similar manner to Persona), you'll also spend time advancing the story, which inevitably involves a student turning up dead. Once this happens, you're given time to search for clues. This involves merely interacting with objects in the environment and heading to new areas to look for new stuff. Once you've collected all the clues you can, you head to a "class trial".

These trials involve all the surviving students presenting evidence to deduce who the real killer is. You'll contradict incorrect statements by presenting your own evidence (by shooting "word bullets" at them) and play various minigames to unravel what really happened. These class trials form one of the most interesting parts of the gameplay as you're always forced to engage your brain to pick apart what's occurring.

I'd just like to note one other thing about the gameplay - the title is first person and you can usually explore the school at your leisure, and it isn't grid based like a DRPG so there's a pretty decent flow to moving around the school. Also, there is a lot of text in the game and it's important to pay attention to most of it as it'll likely come up in a later class trial so if you're averse to reading a lot, this may not be the title for you.

All in all, though, Dangan Ronpa has been a thrilling ride for the 11 hours I've spent with it so far. The bond you form with your classmates makes it so much more emotional when they start turning up dead and the "killers" are often not portrayed as stereotypical bad guys, merely making bad choices in this messed up situation. The soundtrack is fitting; the gameplay is tight and everything just comes together in a remarkable package. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a School Announcement..., 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Detective fiction has always intrigued me, from Columbo to Raymond Chandler. The shock of the murder, the thrill of the hunt as the detective uncovers clues and the final curtain when the culprit is revealed. It's all highly exciting, but wouldn't it be great if you had a game like that? Wouldn't it be even more awesome if you took that game and threw it into a blender with Battle Royale? Well Dangan Ronpa Trigger Happy Havoc does just that. Dangan Ronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc is basically the first Dangan Ronpa (originally released for the PSP) remade for the Vita and localised by the wonderful NIS America. The premise behind the game is this: you play as one Makoto Naegi an average teenager who has just been invited to study at Hope's Peak Academy, a prestigious school where graduation guarantees success for the rest of your life. However, to gain admittance, you must be 'Ultimate' at what you do, thus presenting a unique cast of characters of extreme personalities (I'm looking at you Taka...). All seems well when suddenly...Monokuma appears! This twisted little bear announces that the students are to remain at the school for the rest of their lives, the only way out is to "graduate". How do you graduate? Simple: Murder someone and don't get caught :D
Without saying anything else about the story, rest assured that it is a great one that will keep you hooked from the very beginning. So let's move on to gameplay. Now Dangan Ronpa is a visual novel which is kind of like an interactive book, character portraits are shown and you read text to advance the story. If you enjoy reading (like myself) stop reading this review now and just buy the game. However, for those still on the fence, THH is different to most VN - where most visual novels are simply reading text and occasionally selecting responses, THH actually has GAMEPLAY, so you are free to roam the school at times but the bulk of the game is spent investigating in point and click style (similar to LA Noir) and also doing class trails (similar to Phoenix Wright). These class trails are surprisingly fun and, if you play on a higher difficulty level, they really do require you to actually think at times. Trials play out as a kind of collection of mini-games, all of which are fairly hard and lengthy to explain in this review (sorry about that!) but rest assured these trials are LONG, particularly towards the end of the game where I had trials lasting me an hour! Speaking of length its worth saying that this is a long game, somewhere around the 25 hour mark so you are getting your money's worth!
Music in the game consists of catchy tunes that suit different sections of the game. For example, during the "Free time" sections, the music is very upbeat and wouldn't sound out of place in your favourite slice-of-life anime. Then when you are in a trial the music is faster and really gets your blood pumping. Overall, the music is excellent so dig out your headphones!
Finally the graphics. Now me personally, I could give a s*** about graphics, as a matter of fact, I didn't see a single screenshot or gameplay video of this game before buying it, but I thought I might as well mention them to round off this review. So the game is played entirely from a first person perspective (reminiscent of a dungeon crawler) which is something I expected, but the cool thing is, the graphics look very cel-shaded! (nerdgasm) Ahem excuse me, I just want to say that I LOVE cel-shaded graphics, they look so crisp and cartoon-y. For those of you who don't know what cel-shading is, just look up Borderlands. The character models are all 2D even though the environments are 3D giving an interesting effect that is difficult to describe and something I have never seen before. The 2D models of characters are all hand drawn and look fantastic. They are all in the anime style (something I adore) but with a quirky art style that is very fitting to the game. Characters are transition to different poses depending on the nature of their responses and overall the artwork is very crisp and easy on the eyes.

Overall, Dangan Ronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc is a must play title on the Vita and has already become one of my favourite games of all time! I would definitely recommend this game for people who love a good mystery story and don't mind reading. If you are someone who finds scrolling through text a chore, this game probably isn't for you as skipping dialogue is not recommended. For everyone else: It's time to uncover the mystery of Hope's Peak! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great murder mystery visual novel/ interactive novel, 17 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I received my copy of the game a few days ago, and after playing a couple of hours per day I finally sat down and completed the game in a final 9 hour sitting today and my god, what a brilliant experience. I would say the game lasted about 20 hours, but this is just a run-through of the main story and game.

You play as Makoto who is called to a school which is for the best of the best, however after you arrive things quickly go wrong and you find yourself in a locked down school where a psycho bear makes you play a deadly game. I do not want to speak of the story any further as it is best to engage with it with no prior knowledge and be taken on the twists and turns it presents to you!

The gameplay has different parts to it, you have daily life where you talk to other students, walking around the school as you please, this is in a first person view. if you enter a room you have a marker on screen which you move around and examine objects around the screen. The second part is after a murder has occurred, you collect clues, speak to students to gather accounts and after gathering evidence you proceed to the court room where you take part in a number of puzzle like sections as the students discuss the murder case and try to solve it!

Overall the gameplay is basic, as this is primarily a visual novel, the story flows on as you gather all clues so the events are fixed and you cannot miss anything, however it is a thrilling enough story that I was hooked and finished it in a short number of days.

All in all I highly recommend Danganronpa, it is a fairly simple to pick up game with a fantastic story, great characters and writing and some awesome twists and turns.

Cihan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic visual novel, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
P. Livesey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I bought this after reading that it was similar to games such as 999, VLR, and Ace Attorney.

Well, if you love any of those games, you're pretty much guaranteed to love this! I couldn't put it down - I got it and finished the entire game within the weekend. The game length was around 20 hours.

Definitely recommended, and easily my favourite PS Vita title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Really good game.

It's like a mix of Ace Attorney, Zero Escape and Persona 4.

I was a little worried about the localisation but NIS America did a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese visual novel at its finest, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Let me get this out of the way, the majority of your hours spent on this game will be reading text. So if you are focussed just on gameplay then you may be disappointed slightly. However if you enjoy visual novels or are just a big fan of storyline in games then this is one of the best examples you could buy. The story is extremely engaging and I genuinely could not wait to get back to playing every time I had to put it down.

The gameplay is unique and I did enjoy it, however even these parts of the game are still heavily reliant on text and story. The gameplay segments play out as court cases (fairly remiscent of Ace attorney games) Where you have to listen to your classmates decide who has commited each murder and shoot there contradictions with the evidence you have collected from the point and click clue gathering segments.

This is personally my favourite game on the Vita, would highly recommend this to anyone familiar with the visual novel genre of gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
Robert Halpin "efcrob8710" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Great game. 3 hours in and loving every minute. People who love persona will love this but its also quite similar to phoenix wright. Really interesting story and loads of different characters with different backgrounds. Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game., 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
A really good game with plenty of storyline and characters to keep you interested. The gameplay is really fun with investigations and rooms to examine. Amazing, catchy music. Instantly grabs you. Love the style of the graphics.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I don't normally like these games, however this one has sucked me in! I have been playing this game for majority of the weekend. Believe the hype buy this game now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
The artstyle is breathtaking and soundtrack superb. If you are a fan of mystery novels this will not disappoint you. I just finished chapter 2 and it had me guessing all the way to and through the courtroom trial. It's without a doubt one of the best games on the Vita right now, and is definitely worth your time and money. The chapters are lengthy and well paced, you don't feel like the game is just dragging along. The characters are engaging and well worth your time and simply. So if you wanna dust off your Vita and try something new and different, this is where to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita)
Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (Playstation Vita) by NIS America (PlayStation Vita)
£28.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews