Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars457
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2013
I always buy the 'Now' albums because they contain about 40% of the Chart songs I've liked that season and it works out cheaper to just buy this album rather than buy each of those songs individually. Usually I'll check out the albums associated with the artist but most of them aren't as good as their reigning single. There's a fair few decent hits on this and it's better than some previous 'Now' albums released but there's still (as always) a disproportionate amount of urban hits compared to light, fun, pop songs which everyone knows. There seems to be an ongoing trend with old hits being re-released too (I can only assume this is because they know this year's X Factor single before everyone else or that there is an artist about to bring out some cover of it). A good collection for a 'Now' album with lots of hits but still contains a few too many 'misses'.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 February 2016
HISTORY:

Now That's What I Call Music! (1983–present) (often shortened to Now!) is a series of various artists compilation albums released in the United Kingdom and Ireland by EMI. Spinoff series were later introduced in South Africa (1984) and many other countries worldwide, including the United States in 1998, and Israel in 1999. Since its launch in the UK in 1983, the series has amassed over 100 million album sales worldwide, and each volume always debut at Number 1 on the UK album chart.

CONTENT:

Now That’s What I Call Music 85 was released in UK on July 22, 2013, and debut at Number 1 on the UK album chart. Although a song listing is included on Amazon.ca, I have compiled a more detailed listing (with chart position in US, UK and Canada, with personal comments), which is as follows:

Disc 1:
01 Get Lucky – Daft Punk (US 2/2013; UK 1/2013; CAN 2/2013)*in US & Canada, the Number 1 spot was denied by Blurred Lines
02 Blurred Lines (No Rap version) – Robin Thicke, featuring Pharrell (US 1(12)/2013; UK 1/2013; CAN 1/2013)*the regular version contains rap by T.I.; No. 1 for 12 weeks on Billboard Hot 100 and counting; could be unseated by Roar from Katy Perry next week; the Number 1 song of 2013; sold 5 million copies in US, 1 million in UK.
03 Let Her Go – Passenger (US 62/2013; UK 2/2013; CAN 24/2013)*British song writer, featuring Australian musicians
04 Mirrors – Justin Timberlake (US 2/2013; US POP 1/2013; UK 1/2013; CAN 4/2013)*original version on CD over 7 minutes; this is the radio edit version, used also for line dance; great performance on recent MTV Award show by Justin Timberlake; sold 2.2 million in US
05 La La La – Naughty Boy, featuring Sam Smith (UK 1/2013)*fastest selling single of 2013 in UK; Naughty Boy, British producer, featuring British singer Sam Smith
06 I Love It (clean version) – Icona Pop, featuring Charli XCX (US 7/2013; UK 1/2013; CAN 9/2013)*Swedish duo; the explicit version is found in their CD This Is…; sold 2.05 million in US
07 Love Me Again – John Newman (UK 1/2013)*debut single by British soul singer
08 The Other Side – Jason Derulo (US 18/2013; US POP 5/2013; UK 2/2013; CAN 5/2013)*from his upcoming third studio album Tattoos
09 True Love – Pink, featuring Lily Allen (US 59/2013; UK 16/2013; CAN 22/2013)*4th single from her album The Truth About Love; not as big as Blow Me (One More Kiss), Try and Just Give Me A Reason; written by Pink
10 22 – Taylor Swift (US 20/2013; UK 9/2013; CAN 20/2013)*described the joy of being 22 years old; from her multi-platinum Red album
11 Walks Like Rihanna – The Wanted (UK 4/2013)*from this British-Irish boy band’s upcoming third studio album Word Of Mouth
12 Treasure – Bruno Mars (US 5/2013; UK 12/2013; CAN 4/2013)*3rd single release from his Unorthodox Jukebox album; performed recently in MTV Award show
13 Dear Darlin’ – Olly Murs (UK 5/2013)*British singer, from his 3rd album Right Place Right Time
14 Heart Attack – Demi Lovato (US 10/2013; US DANCE 1/2013; UK 3/2013; CAN 7/2013)*lead single from her 4th studio album Demi
15 Come & Get It – Selena Gomez (US 6/2013; US DANCE 1/2013; UK 8/2013; CAN 6/2013)*lead single from her solo debut album Star Dance, which debut at No. 1 on Billboard 200; currently on tour; visited Toronto recently; she will concentrate more time in making movies from now on
16 Let’s Get Ready To Rhumble – PJ & Duncan (UK 9/1994; UK 1/2013)*1994 song by Ant & Dec, then known as PJ & Duncan; re-released in 2013 & reached #1; royalty donated to the charity ChildLine
17 Bounce – Iggy Azalea (UK 13/2013)*from Australian hip hop singer; as the second single from her upcoming debut studio album The New Classic
18 Antenna – Fuse ODG (UK 7/2013)*Nana Richard Abiona (born London, 1988), known by his stage name Fuse ODG, is a British musician of Ghanaian descent
19 Hey Porsche – Nelly (US 42/2013; UK 6/2013; CAN 26/2013)* as the lead single from his upcoming seventh studio album M.O.; Nelly’s recent involvement in Florida Georgia Lines’ song Cruise, which becomes the longest running #1 song on Billboard Country Chart for 24 weeks!
20 Still Into You – Paramore (US 45/2013; UK 15/2013; CAN 78/2013)* as the second single from their self-titled fourth album, Paramore; Hayley Williams’ vocals strong and effective
21 Radioactive – Imagine Dragons (US 3/2013; US ALT 1/2013; US ROCK 1/2013; UK 12/2013; CAN 2/2013)*opening track to their debut album Night Visions
22 Lighters (The One) – Gabz (UK 6/2013)* British singer-songwriter from Stevenage, England, who reached the final of the seventh series of Britain's Got Talent in 2013

Disc 2:
01 Waiting All Night – Rudimental, featuring Ella Eyre (UK 1/2013)*English quartet Rudimental featuring vocals from Ella Eyre; as the third single from their debut studio album Home
02 Wild – Jessie J, featuring Big Sean & Dizzee Rascal (UK 5/2013)*the lead single from her upcoming second studio album, Alive
03 Need U (100%) – Duke Dumont, featuring A*M*E (UK 1/2013)* British dance musician and DJ Duke Dumont featuring vocals from singer-songwriter A*M*E
04 #thatPower – Will.i.am, featuring Justin Bieber (US 17/2013; UK 2/2013; CAN 6/2013)*3rd single from the album #willpower; written by Justin Bieber and DJ Ammo with Will.i.am; Justin Bieber lost a $70,000 gold necklace during an incident in a Toronto nightclub
05 Play Hard – David Guetta, featuring Ne-Yo & Akon (US 64/2013; US DANCE 2/2013; UK 6/2013; CAN 34/2013)* by French DJ and record producer David Guetta, featuring vocals from Ne-Yo and Akon; total of 9 single releases from Nothing But the Beat and Nothing But The Beat 2.0…simply amazing!
06 I Need Your Love – Calvin Harris, featuring Ellie Goulding (US 16/2013; US DANCE 1/2013; UK 4/2013; CAN 13/2013)*7th single from Scottish producer & DJ Calvin Harris’ album 18 months; featuring vocal from Ellie Goulding; sold 500,000 copies in US
07 Feel This Moment – Pitbull, featuring Christina Aguilera (US 8/2013; US DANCE 1/2013; UK 5/2013; CAN 4/2013)*clever use of melody from Take On Me by A-ha; from Pitbull’s 7th studio album Global Warming; Christina Aguilera and Pit Bull performed this song live at MGM Grand during the 2013 Billboard Music awards with a surprise appearance from Morten Harket from the group A-ha who originally wrote and composed Take On Me.
08 Reload – Sebastian Ingrosso, featuring Tommy Trash & John Martin (US DANCE 4/2013; UK 3/2013)* by Swedish house producer Sebastian Ingrosso and Australian producer Tommy Trash.
09 This Is What It Feels Like – Armin van Buuren, featuring Trevor Guthrie (US 115/2013; US DANCE 12/2013; UK 6/2013; CAN 6/2013)* by Dutch DJ Armin van Buuren, featuring vocals from Canadian singer Trevor Guthrie; great song!
10 Lost & Not Found – Chase & Status, featuring Louis M^ttrs (UK 9/2013)* by British record production duo Chase & Status, featuring vocals from British singer Louis M^ttrs
11 So Good To Me – Chris Malinchak (UK 2/2013)* by American DJ and record producer Chris Malinchak
12 You & Me – Disclosure, featuring Eliza Doolittle (UK 10/2013)* British electronic garage-house duo Disclosure, featuring vocals from Eliza Doolittle; 3rd single from the duo's debut studio album, Settle
13 Jack – Breach (UK 9/2013)* by British producer Breach
14 Lights On – Wiley, featuring Angel & Tinchy Stryder (UK 9/2013)* from British grime artist Wiley, featuring vocals from British singer/songwriter, rapper and record producer Angel and Ghanaian-British musician Tinchy Stryder; as the fourth single from his eighth studio album The Ascent
15 Goin’ Crazy – Dizzee Rascal, featuring Robbie Williams (UK 5/2013)* by Dizzee Rascal, featuring vocals from English singer-songwriter Robbie Williams
16 Gentleman – Psy (US 5/2013; UK 10/2013; CAN 9/2013)* follow-up to his international hit single Gangnam Style
17 Chocolate – The 1975 (UK 19/2013)* by British alternative rock band The 1975
18 Carry You – Union J (UK 6/2013)* by British boy band Union J (4 young handsome lads)
19 Gentleman – The Saturdays (UK 14/2013)*as the 3rd single by English-Irish girl group The Saturdays from their upcoming fourth studio album; completely different song from Psy’s version of the same name
20 On My Way – Charlie Brown (UK 7/2013)* by British singer-songwriter Charlie Brown
21 Another Love – Tom Odell (UK 10/2013)* by British singer-songwriter Tom Odell, the 3rd single from Odell's debut studio album Long Way Down
22 It’s A Beautiful Day – Michael Buble (US 94/2013; US AC 7/2013; UK 10/2013; CAN 20/2013)*1st single from his 8th studio album To Be Loved, which debut at No. 1 on Billboard 200

The remastered audio from this set is simply PERFECT! I wish other producers will take note and take the same care in presenting their music.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I personally keep an eye on the weekly US charts (Billboard Hot 100, AC and C&W) and UK charts. I am quite familiar with most of the songs in this set. Many songs are popular only in UK and are difficult or expensive to find over here in Canada. Now series presents a good way to collect these UK gems. The sound of the entire set is perfect, vibrant and clean. Only minor note is that certain versions are chosen, not necessary the charted versions, like Blurred Lines without T.I. rapping and Justin Timberlake’s Mirrors shortened, I Love It by Iconic Pop, being the clean version. Still if you like modern pop music, the UK Now series is the best of all: 2 CDs with 44 songs, while Now 47 (US) has only 20 song. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Great for driving on holiday. A good mix of popular songs. Easy to please everyones taste with the one cd. Now cds are always good!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
although awaiting my cd what I do know is the songs on here are awesome ..which Is why I bought it ! gutted that they didn't put any karmin on this cd and I do think there are a few other great songs that perhaps could have been included no matter still sounds great and yes I am amongst the fans of collecting most the now cds used to always get a now cd when every Christmas many years back I mean it was a family tradition when we were younger mum and dad always got us the yearly pop star annual and a now tape ..or cd lol and now I buy the now cd if the songs are good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Once again the team from Now have managed to assemble a collection of music that summarises the current state of popular music.
Although when released these albums are fairly comprehensive, they are by no means conclusive. Many songs and tracks that may have been popular with different genre groups are not found on the album, but with well over 300 new releases every year I think that the Now crew do a fair job of including the most popular and high charting tracks from all genres that make the UK Top 40 singles chart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Very fast delivery. Been looking for now 85 as I have all the other nows but for some reason did not have this one. Very glad amazon exists.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
9 chart toppers just for starters. A good few others that also reached high chart positions. Good value ? You bet !!!

As with any large music collection, there will be tracks that you like more than others and vice versa. However, the makers have done a really good job with this one. Give it a whirl, you will not have to keep reaching for the button that skips tracks.

If the music is your scene, just buy it !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
After downloading cloud player, I thought the set up of this cd would be easy but I needed to download extra programs and for some reason the songs suddenly disappeared. Luckily, the amazon staff were helpful and helped me download them successfully but before that the instructions were a little confusing. When I finally downloaded them onto my mp3, the songs were brilliant and I can honestly say I loved every one of them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Yes, do agree with less wasting of paper and easier packaging, but disagree with the fact that CD's arrive not wrapped in cellophane because they get scratched. This is for a Christmas pressie and the inside booklet had slid out to the edge of the CD, who-ever closed the CD caught the paper in its cover which is damaged. For someone receiving this it looks like a used CD. AMAZON please take note.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
I thought this was a good compilation - it is the usual mixture and as I quite often find, I thought CD1 was better than CD2. The thing about the 'Now...' series, is that they can only work with the music available at the time, good or bad, but in this case they have produced a good mixture of current songs. I still think this series is great value considering the number of tracks included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)