Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If its by Jonathan Moeller, you just know its going to be good!
I'd just read two books I didn't enjoy! Joe Abercrombie’s next aren’t yet due and I’ve read everything Brandon Sanderson has written to date, Scott Lynch has slowed and George RR Martin is a year behind with the next in the series. One name guarantees a damn good story, well written and breathtakingly pacey. Jonathan Moeller, he writes novels at...
Published 3 months ago by Clive Butterfield

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked it
Good book but was way too short. Would have liked alot more detail about the journey. It could have been expanded and made so much more than it was
Published 8 months ago by Finonijane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If its by Jonathan Moeller, you just know its going to be good!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
I'd just read two books I didn't enjoy! Joe Abercrombie’s next aren’t yet due and I’ve read everything Brandon Sanderson has written to date, Scott Lynch has slowed and George RR Martin is a year behind with the next in the series. One name guarantees a damn good story, well written and breathtakingly pacey. Jonathan Moeller, he writes novels at industrial capacity, if someone told me he was actually a group of writers all using one name, if it weren’t for his singular style, I may be tempted to believe that. His Ghost series is the epitome of female assassin books and I think he’s up to about 9 Ghost novels now.
He’s got so many great series going on I honestly can’t imagine where he finds the time. So when I saw yet another new series I couldn't resist the first one free. Totally hooked, what a great story. Old earth knights escape earth via a portal, they don’t know that’s what they are doing, but that’s how they end up on another world. Unfettered by the Saxons, Normans et al, Chivalry continues and with a little magic loaned to them by the locals you have the backdrop for some interesting twists. Enter our hero Ridmark Arban, a Knight with a Magical sword, virtue and the belief in the Knights code. Off he sets on an adventure which is great fun, it’s a linear story but well-presented and interesting, this book in the series is the scene setter and events take place over a few weeks only. But its boys own stuff and I happily let Jonathan drag me in so I would buy the next. (Already read that and will review separately). This author is producing books at a hell of a rate, he’s the Henry Ford of literature, except he’s making Mercedez not Fords. Enjoyable, interesting and full of adventure. Gave it a 4 only because I’d read the next one before I wrote this review and the next one is a step up again. Read this and you will read the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
Good book but was way too short. Would have liked alot more detail about the journey. It could have been expanded and made so much more than it was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars frostborn series, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
after reading the demonsouled series which I really enjoyed thought I would try the frost born series as the first book was free I was not disappointed have since bought all the other books in the series so far really enjoy reading jonathan moeller books. try them if you like fantasy books really an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
J. Gould "cinema lover" (Downham Market, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
A good read as an introduction to the series. Will read more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great escape..., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
A great story with nicely written characters and well worth a go for the price if you fancy some good escapism. I look forward to the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the first quest, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
Very good read characters get more and more complex as you get deeper into the book.I can't wait to read the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars could have built the characters and story line more effectively, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
Write in more detail appreciate the characters and the storyline mor effectively. Spent a bit of time reading so ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Frostborn, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
Short but it serves it's purpose, it explains how Ridmark ends up as an outcast & the ensuing intrigue lures the reader into wanting more.

Because of this, the writing style is a little clipped, other things are hinted at but never expounded. A whole journey of six weeks is reduced to just two sentences. This doesn't do Moeller any favours as it suggests that he is an inept writer, which is certainly not the case.

I'm all for free books on Kindle, but in this instance it spoils the reputation of a good writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good series starter, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
Found this book as a freebie and thought I would give it a try. Have read the ghost series and found myself totally hooked and am finding this book the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A smaller mouthful to whet the appetite., 23 July 2014
By 
Yvette Heyward-Chaplin (Middlesbrough, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostborn: The First Quest (Kindle Edition)
Loved it. It encouraged be to read the novels (this is shorter).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frostborn: The First Quest
Frostborn: The First Quest by Jonathan Moeller
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews