Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fresh, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
heard this on the huey Morgan(?) show on 6 music. loved it. bought the album instantly. reminds me of the kind of
music that was played on the evening session on radio 1. years back. This is that kind of album. Really rate this girls voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas (Audio CD)
I heard avant gardener on the radio and thought it was a great song, so decided to buy the album. It didn't disappoint. Played it a number of times and each time I do a different track stands out, well worth buying if its your kind of music, some great lyrics as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas (Audio CD)
A couple of brilliant tracks of which "Avant Garden" is probably my favourite. Courtney is certainly one to watch out for. Her lyrics are great and songs are quite quirky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE thumbs up, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album. Don't usually buy albums but I had to get this one. Great witty lyrics and sombre music. I approve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sound of the summer, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas (Audio CD)
Great EP from an emerging talent. Cracking tunes . Definitely one to play with windows firmly down during the summertime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 10 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas (Audio CD)
Courtney Barnett has created a brilliant debut here. There's obvious influences here and there, Kurt Cobain for example, but she uses these influences to her absolute advantage and nails it. Her lyrics are clever (sometimes eye opening, other times hilarious), and her vocals are intriguing. It's only her first outing but already she's left this listener wanting more. Her fanbase is only small at the moment but hopefully before long she starts getting the recognition she deserves.

For starters, go straight to History Eraser for your instant fix and then go to Lance Jr. for those "eye-opening lyrics"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out of the woodwork, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen H. Lyall (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas (Audio CD)
A cd made up of 2 previously released ep's, the first 6 tracks which are from the newer one are to my mind much stronger all round. Although there is no lyric sheet enclosed the words are interesting and in most cases can be clearly heard. They tell stories with a twist (see particularly avant gardener). Courtney Barnett has a kind of particular laid back way of singing and the delivery fits the style of the songs perfectly none more so than on the fine opener Out of the woodwork. The track David utilises a guitar riff similar to that in Bowie's Jean Genie and Anonymous club showcases her more gentle vocal prowess bringing to a close a thoroughly enjoyable first half of the cd. After tracks 1-6 I feel the standard drops a bit with a couple of the songs dragging on too long (probably like my review!)- Are you looking after yourself and Porcelain- but that is not to say they are not worth a listen. However I think the progression of this artist is plain to see with the comparison of the older and newer material. The next release should be well worth keeping an eye out for but in the meantime this is well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needs more consistency but the best lyric debut I've heard in a heck of a ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dylan comparisons not unjustified. Needs more consistency but the best lyric debut I've heard in a heck of a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas (Audio CD)
love her lyrics and her enthusiasm and she mentions the Triffids [band not plants/ aliens]- can't be bad! as I always do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning debut., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas (Audio CD)
Having heard some of these tracks more than a year ago, I was so pleased to see the release of this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas
The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas by Courtney Barnett (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 9 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews