Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2013
Some footballers write, or more accurately have their autobiography written for them when they really have very little interesting or original to say but Uwe Rosler has lived a life jam packed with incident and emotion.

Growing up in East Germany and falling foul of the Stasi, making his way in the Bundeslega, becoming a folk hero at Manchester City, his brave and successful fight against cancer, learning the managerial ropes in Norway and his current exploits at Brentford culminating in the penalty heartbreak with almost the last kick of last season against Doncaster.

What shines through is his passion, intelligence, honesty and originality of thought. Uwe is certainly one of the new breed of manager and the book provides a fascinating and tightly written account of a life that encompasses so much more than football and still has so much to give.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
As a Brentford fan, the chapters charting his time as Bees manager were really what I purchased this for. There are some interesting insights on his time so far at Griffin Park but nothing too shocking. This is understandable given the fact he is still employed there. It should however give non-Bees fans a good idea of what the club is trying to achieve. The end of last season, especially 'that penalty', will also show why some fans resign themselves to disappointment and the phrase used whenever things go wrong of, "it's Brentford Innit?" The personal tragedy the Roslers went through just before the Play Off final does help put such football disappointments into perspective though.

'Knocking Down Walls' should appeal to football fans of all clubs, not just Manchester City, where Rosler is still much loved, or Brentford. Uwe has faced many challenges in his life and comes across as an intelligent man with good values and a clear devotion to his family. He deserves to do well as a manager over here and hopefully he will be able to finish off the project he is currently involved in and take Brentford to the Championship, ridding the fans of that horrible, self-deprecating phrase and allowing them to really 'Beelieve' that it is now a case of New Brentford.

The product summary gives a good overall indication of what to expect with this autobiography which is written in an easy to read, informal tone. By the end of the book, all readers should be left with a great deal of respect for Uwe Rosler, not just for what he has achieved in the game but also for the personal battles he has won.

Unlike the autobiography for a certain different manager based in West London, there shouldn't be anyone questioning the content of this book either. Respect to Uwe Rosler. Keep knocking those walls down and please take Brentford to the Championship.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
As a Wigan Athletic fan I thought I would read this to get an idea of who our new manager is and I wasn't disappointed. I suspect Uwe has had a far more interesting and difficult path than most of today's football managers and I think this has shaped him to become a great manager of the future. He is sure to be around for a long time and successful with it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
I don't usually go for autobiographies, especially those of young people, which I fear are ghost written marketing tools, with a shallow catalogue of achievements. However, this man has experienced & endured so much in his short life; he has captured the respect & admiration of so many across all walks of life, not just the footballing fraternity, & his utter determination to excel, & the personal benefit it has secured him through a very sudden & difficult illness, becomes very clear as the story unfolds. The utter cruelty of the lottery of life is never more clearly portrayed & I would recommend anybody looking for inspiration & needing to come to terms with coping with life's difficulties, to read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
What a legend. One of the most honest books written about a footballer. This man was loved by fans who can tell when a players heart is in the game. No frills just a cracking read. Hope he is a success whatever he does.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
As it turned out to be quite an emotional journey from beginning to end.
Being a Manchester City supporter for almost 50 years has given us some highs and lows but Uwe Rosler has had his fair share in his autobiography journey from East Germany to where he is now!
I would recommend this book not just to City supporters, but supporters generally to show that sometimes its not easy being a professional footballer.
An honest down to earth autobiography which is typical of the man himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I really enjoyed this book. I was a season ticket holder at Maine Road when Uwe joined Man City. Straight away, you could see the desire and passion this man had in abundance. It was a different era to be a fan of City. It was a great shame when Paul Walsh and Peter Beagrie were allowed to leave the club, as the understanding they had with Uwe was unbelievable. Now manager of Wigan, I expect Uwe to eventually manage in the Premier League. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Obviously as a City fan I am biased! I enjoyed the book particularly the bits about him growing up in East Germany. Typo errors were a bit annoying and at times it seemed like the proof reading hadn't been done properly as the words didn't scan properly. As a fellow survivor of cancer and one of the 46,000 singing his name I am delighted this great man has made a full recovery and I am sure that one day he will manage our club!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Bought it based on Amazon customer reviews. It's an ok read, but that is as much as I can say about it. It's more of a generic autobiography and Rösler, probably because he is still in the game, offers up nothing controversial or salacious. I'm sure it would appeal to a Man City or Brentford fan. Uwe is one of the good guys in the game and I wish him continued good health and success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Fabulous insight into the life of Uwe, such a likeable character that has had many on and off-field situations to deal with!

Would highly recommend to City fans as well as Brentford fans due to the positive light he has for both clubs! Furthermore it is a book for all football fans to enjoy as you follow a humble character in his journey through the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)